We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“Desk needs plugs”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overall this was a very good hotel, with friendly staff and reasonably good food for dinner. However not having a a lamp and plugs on the desk in today's world is a bit absurd. I had to pull out the TV stand to get to the only plug. Otherwise the location is great, right on Marion Square.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    541
    309
    172
    117
See reviews for
661
572
38
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northvale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I recently visited Charleston with a group of wonderful friends and just wanted to pass on this info. The hotel was wonderful. It was the old Citidel site which they remodeled. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we walked in. The staff was wonderful, the rooms were spacious and spotless. The bed and pillows were super comfy. They offer a free full breakfast which was a great start to our morning with everything you could think of. But the real surprise was every evening they offered a free happy hour with choice of finger foods, and true southern hospitality ,nice touch. The hotel was also within walking distance of everything. If you go to Charleston i would definitely recommend The Embassy Suites in the historic district.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have stayed here several times and I am always happy when I return. The staff is great from the valet, the breakfast staff and the front desk. I feel like I am returning home each time I visit.
The hotel is located within walking distance to everything, There are countless restaurants and shopping options steps away. The Farmers market locacted in front at Marion Square on Saturday morning is a must do.
The suites are clean and comfortable and have a mini fridge and microwave as well as living area and private bedroom. Really a great value.
The front desk staff is so friendly and helpful. Ready to offer any assistance you may require.
Breakfast is free and very good and it is really a nice plus to have the free happy hours every day.
This is a great place to call home in Charleston!

Room Tip: Ask for the park side if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suits for our anniversary. We liked how the walls were from the original brick building. The room also had a very tall ceiling. The breakfast was wonderful with a made to order option. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaS3789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently spent several nights at the Embassy Suites in Charleston. The hotel is conveniently located and is in a great old building. The staff was as good as it gets. Silver and others at the front desk could not have been more helpful. They went over and above the call of duty. Kia who helps in the food services area was delightful. She even found us a "Gullah Cuisine" restaurant that was authentic. It is in Mt. Pleasant which is just a few miles away. The food there was authentic and superb! Pipi, who is the morning chef, was delightful and started our morning off each day with a big smile and greeting. Food was excellent. The beds were the only downside. The beds at Hampton Inns are much nicer than what we experienced here. The staff makes this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Everyone was very friendly and kind. The room was clean and quiet. The lobby is pretty and welcoming. The managers reception is slow for drinks, and set up in a crowded area. The light snacks were MUCH less than at other Embassy Suites. Hope you enjoy goldfish and carrots! From this hotel you are in walking distance to shopping and eating downtown. There is a large park right next door. It is worth the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Perhaps it is a little petty given everything else was "okay" and the breakfast was actually pretty good but I had this giant brown stain...2 feet by 1 foot...right in the entrance to the living room. It seems to me that this is the kind of stain that requires some serious cleaning or replacement before renting it out to someone. It just made the whole room look crummy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing