We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary 3-day getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Ripon WI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary 3-day getaway”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Really felt welcome at this hotel, and we must've had one of the best rooms (316, on southwest corner: spacious, and with several nice windows with views of Marion Square. Cool history of that Citadel building. We actually prefer the neighborhood to the heart of the tourist area further south: the North King area has unique and interesting shops, whereas south on King it's all chain shops like you see in every other city in the USA. Plus, the restaurants are actually better in this north Kng neighborhood, and seem to be more oriented to locals and have higher quality, lower prices, and less pretenntious service (aka, Coast, Virginias, and Halls). Thanks, EmbassybSuites!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkSchaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    541
    310
    172
    117
See reviews for
662
572
38
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Embassy Suites has large rooms/suites. There were five of us in our party. Whereas the rate may seem a little steep, when you factor in we comfortably slept 5 people in a king suite with a fold out sofa, it was a better value than getting two rooms at another property. This is a very nice, well apportioned property with a huge lobby that basically takes up the entire ground floor.

What adds to the value is the fact that 5 of us enjoyed the complimentary cooked to order breakfasts and complimentary evening reception.

Bell and concierge services are readily available should you need to use them.

Parking is not free. You can use valet parking or city parking across the street but you have to pay for both.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family of 4 or 5 this very well may be you best value for staying in dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our family get away between Christmas and New Year's. The location--near the free trolley hub at the Visitors Center and the fabulous restaurant options on King Street--was perfect. The evening manager's reception and complimentary breakfast was great for the kids (and the adults). I'm especially thankful to the housekeeping staff who found an item my son had left behind (a Christmas gift!) and contacted us about it immediately to make arrangements to have it returned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Wonderful hotel! Great Staff! Super Location and historic building! We celebrated Christmas with family in Charleston. Went to St. John the Baptist Cathedral and it was wonderful. The breakfast at the hotel and the breakfast staff were great!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent experience. The room comfortably handled a family of two parents and three college age children. Complementary breakfast was excellent and the location perfect. All staff were hospital and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is the original Citadel and it does not look at all like a typical Embassy Suites building. The location gets plenty of comments as being "too far North", but that has some advantages, mostly its proximity to several exceptional restaurants within a few blocks for the hotel. It is also very close to the visitors center where we bought discounted tickets for a carriage tour. Trolley's depart from the visitors center to serve each of the routes though the city. The trolleys are free. The location gave us opportunities to walk to Broad Street using King or Meeting Streets thereby seeing a lot more that we would have if we had stayed farther south.

The rooms in the hotel contain the typical Embassy Suites furniture and fixtures. The ceilings in the rooms are very high which makes them seem extra large. Unfortunately, the floors are wooden, so you can hear the people above you. The walls are so thick that street noise can't be heard. Fan coil units are used for heating and cooling and were quiet and responsive. Great water pressure in the shower. The lobby is constructed of stone and concrete and really nothing special, probably due to the history of the building. This hotel does not offer the Hilton sleep system, so bed linens were nothing special and the pillows were uncomfortable.

Very typical Embassy Suites food and drink. Good made to order breakfast omelets tasted better because they cooks were so friendly. The hotel offers valet parking, but the only self-parking is in a City parking garage across the street. The City garage is cramped and would have been very troublesome if we had driven a large vehicle and tried to park there. The valet lot was open and easily accommodated some large SUV's and even a couple RV's driven by hotel guests.

To a person, the staff personnel provided the WOW factor for our stay. All very nice, big smiles, good attitudes. The bellmen were helpful and they got us connected to a taxi service that we used a couple times. Since there aren't any regular taxis around town, having a service to call is nice when it starts to rain.

Overall, we will probably stay here again as we are saving up Hilton points for a trip overseas.

Room Tip: Suggest staying on the top floor facing South. The floors are thin and your neighbors overhead will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We decided to stay here for the benefit of a suite as traveling with college-age daughter. Room is certainly adequate and a bargain (we chose to be extravangant in restaurants rather than lodging!), conveniently located at edge of historic district. We valet-parked on arrival and haven't touched the car since . As others have already noted, the rooms are small and only have a small high window so odd to have little connection with outside. There is no vent in the bathroom and the room got to feel a little muggy after a few showers. The rooms are clean. The bedroom has a nicer feel than the little living room - which ought to be updated soon. The internal courtyard is also looking worn out but the front lobby area still looks pleasant. The breakfast is good but we ended up taking trays into the lobby as the dining room very busy. Found this to be a good bargain as we had no expectations for more than that. Cheers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank diane_marie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing