We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We decided that we wanted to pay the extra money to stay in the historic section of Charleston. We knew it would be pricey but the great breakfast and the cocktail hour we hoped would make up for it.

This is the original home of the citadel and reminds me of a Moorish castle We pulled up in our car and a bellman was there to help us unload our car and take it to our room as well as valet parking it. The extra $4 for valet parking was well worth it.

All rooms surrounded an interior courtyard with fountain, sofas, chairs, etc. The room (408) looked like many of the typical Embassy Suites though this one seemed to be a little smaller and dated. We had two windows in our room but one had no view because of the architecture of the building and the other was right next to the bed - literally you could not walk between the bed and the window. I think the rooms could have been larger and to cut down a little bit on the interior courtyard since that was very large.

There are two areas for breakfast in the morning. Around the fountain in the courtyard are the regular items you would see on a breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs. In the lounge area by the front door is where they had the cooked to order eggs. You needed to take a piece of paper and fill in your name and what you wanted. It probably took about 10-15 minutes to get it depending on how crowded it was.

Behind the hotel was the Visitor's Center and the trolley stop. That made it very convenient for us. We were able to walk downtown to the City Market and back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows with a view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for you choosing to stay with us and for your review. It is true that we are a historic building and the architecture is a very special part of our hotel. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,884)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is nicely located within walking distance of Downtown Historic Charleston. The common areas are beautiful. The rooms are a little blah. I think this is due to there being no windows facing outside. We had two windows but they face into the hallway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine311971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We do have rooms located on the Mezzanine level that have windows facing inside toward the Atrium. Some people prefer these because the living room area is larger and it's great for families. I hope that you will try again and come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel is in a great location to downtown, uptown, waterfront, and highway. Breakfast and evening reception is very nice, but as expected it is crowded. But ES easily compensates with extra seating outside and inside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Management, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you so much for your favorable feedback. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our evening reception and complimentary breakfast. Please keep us in your travel plans for the next time Charleston comes up on the agenda!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The entry way and Atrium area are really grand. Valet is the way to go @ only $4 more than public parking. Room had a nice seating area with a separte bedroom. 10-15 minute walk to Market Street and a block from Kings Street. Free breakfast and evening reception help offset the cost vs. other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our historic Embassy Suites! We are delighted to read you and your friends enjoyed our hotel and the amenities it has to offer. We appreciate your comments regarding the surrounding area and sights to see, which you are correct; we are in a great location for all that Charleston has to offer! We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you decide to return to Charleston. Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Located on Meeting Street, this Embassy Suites and the Hampton Inn next to it are expensive. What you are paying for is the convenience of being reasonably close to downtown Historic Charleston.

It is a moderate walk to get into the heart of the Historic District. There is a free trolley around the corner, more frequent in the summertime. On the eastern side of the hotel is Marion Square where there is a weekly farmers market and festivals that go on.

We arrived after Christmas and the decorations were well appointed. The birdcage and the birds seemed out of place in the hallway. I always said hello, but they never responded.

The breakfast at this Embassy Suites is exceptional. I ordered two eggs sunny-side up and no problem. The staff are very friendly with a smile, Southern style. Tables are quickly cleared. We arrived early and there was no wait. But, it does get busy later in the morning.

The nightly cocktail is generous and well attended. The parlor areas are large and inviting. This Embassy Suites is large enough to hold weddings as we observed.

Our room was rather dated. But our bed, as usual, extremely comfortable. The only mistake I made was to book a "smoking room." On-line, one needs to be careful.

The parking is valet. You will see why when you arrive. At peak times there is a wait. There is a parking garage just down a street which is shared by Hampton Inn, but that is expensive too.

We had to leave early. There was no problem in breaking our reservation if you give them enough notice and leave before 11:00 A.M.

What one has to weigh is the cost of staying here. A public parking area is around the corner, and a room over the bridge in Mount Pleasant could be had for $100 less. You will have to make that choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our historic Embassy Suites! We are delighted to read you both enjoyed our hotel and the amenities it has to offer. We appreciate your comments regarding the surrounding area and sights to see, which you are correct; we are in the perfect location for all that Charleston has to offer! We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you decide to return to Charleston. Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had to go to a meeting in Charleston and the room was already bought by my company. I arrived at night and went inside. It was very open and the staff very efficient and helpful. I had a horrible head ache that was making me sick. When I asked for some aspirin, they were out. I went on to the room and 15 minutes later, Mark had went to the drug store and bought aspirin for me. He wouldn't take any money, just said he knew how I felt because he'd had migraines. The next morning I found and thanked him for the help.
When I felt better I looked around the room and seen a wonderful setup. Living room, kitchen, bath and a separate BEDROOM, Wow!! That bed was Soooo comfortable. It was clean and well stocked. I am going back and will stay for 2 weeks for a historic tour vacation. Prices were very reasonable and the restaurant was excellent.
The surprise was when I left for the meeting, I looked back at the hotel and seen it was the Citadel I was staying at.!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for a 2nd or 3rd floor room near the center. very quite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

We are delighted to read you enjoyed our historical hotel and the original brick walls which are located in your suite. We are happy to hear that your encounter with our friendly staff member; Mark, who went above and beyond for you. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you decide to return to Charleston. Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Built as a restoration of the original Citadel, this hotel has an ideal location for exploring Charleston. The King’s Street shopping/restaurant district is within easy walking distance. The historical attractions are not that far.
As for the hotel, it was what you would expect from an Embassy and more. The room was clean and comfortable. They had the manager’s reception and the breakfast was better than the average Embassy. Special credit to the complete chef who had a great personality and fixed a killer omelet.
Parking is expensive. I recommend avoiding the hotel recommended parking and parking in the city owned/welcome center garage on Mary Street. You can park there in by 5 or 6 PM and out by 8AM for $4.00.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but a studio room is best, particularly for business travel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £150 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing