We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, good location”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Very spacious room. Not the most modern or updated but it served me just fine. I got here after spending a week at small skanky hotels in Latin America so maybe my expectations were low, but I liked this place. Dining was basic but also fit my needs. Nice atrium area felt very open. Location was perfect as you could walk to everything downtown.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    542
    311
    172
    117
See reviews for
663
572
39
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravois Mills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great Hotel! Great location! Helpful staff! There was no negatives whatsoever. The food and drink was excellent as well. We would definitely recommend this Embassy Suites to anyone looking for an excellent travel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the kind remarks and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I always try to stay at this hotel when I am in Charleston, as the location is excellent! It is close to all of the shopping and restaurants on King Street.

The breakfast is the typical Embassy Suites one. If the hotel is busy, you may get seated in the overflow dining room, which is not so appealing.

Parking options include spaces about a block away at $16/night and valet parking at $20/night.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAGypsyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. It is true that the breakfast area does get crowded sometimes during the last hour on busy weekends. The outdoor patio and Atrium area are the overflow seating options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Beautiful old building with charm. Favorite features included the birds in the lobby, the courtyard, and pool area with the pretty flowers and relaxing music. The rooms are definitely dated, a bit on the small side but very clean. Happy hour drinks and breakfast were perfect. All of the staff I encountered were kind and helpful. Parking is an inconvenience but the deck is right next to the building and $16 a night which you pay seperately. The location is perfect for walking around exploring the downtown area. Will definitely stay here again next time I visit Charleston!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinksands x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great location close to the shops on King Street and a short walk to the South of Broad area. Good location for the boat trips out to Fort Sumter too. Room was clean , if a little worn, but all the staff we came into contact with were excellent. Nice Breakfast with cooked to order eggs. Our room overlooked the park which was nice, I me not sure all rooms have a good view though. Valet parking worked well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Breakfast left something to be desired The food was cold and when omelets were served from the other location the wait was long. The car service was excellent and the desk was very helpful getting some matter printed for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am very sorry that your breakfast was not up to par. I hope that you will try us again because that is not usual for us. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a great time in Charleston. This hotel is located in a perfect location of a King Street. It is a walking distance to everything Charleston has to offer. This hotel has a complementary breakfast as well a complementary evening reception . It also has a beautiful patio to relax and enjoy . Service was very professional and helpful . The only disappointment was our room as it needs updating. Furniture looks old and dark and made the room smell old. Be ready to pay $20 for parking ( a day ). All in all we had a great visit but for the price I was hoping for a nicer room experience .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mira04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing