We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed three days here, and it was spacious, clean, and comfortable. It is walking distance to shopping and dining. The breakfast was very good and filling. I do have one complaint. Under the bed skirt of one of the beds a jagged piece of sharp metal was sticking out. I sliced my leg on this and it was very painful! I told the front desk and she said she would send maintenance to fix it. She wasn't very concerned. I told her my main concern was that a child or anyone else would have the same thing happen. My family and I stayed clear of it once we knew it was there. Maintenance never fixed it, and I imagine someone else will experience the same trauma soon. Room 326. Please fix this so no one else is hurt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsrobinson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thought our hotel property was close to everything. However, we apologize you cut your leg on the metal bed frame. We ordered and replaced the bed frame directly after you checked out, but we genuinely apologize you hurt yourself during your stay with us. Please accept our deepest regrets that this unfortunate incident occurred. We hope you keep us in your future plans next time you're in the city of Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    497
    274
    151
    97
See reviews for
594
523
34
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed staying here. It was nice but it didn't blow me away. It was clearly an older building, which, in a historic city like Charleston isn't terrible. The breakfast and manager's reception were nice. I wish breakfast would've gone a little later than 9:30. Water pressure and temperature were inconsistent in the bathroom and the bedroom was a little cramped, but that's what you get in an older building. For what we paid I would have expected a larger room. My daughter loved saying hello to "Charlie" and "Patty" the bird greeters in the lobby.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ErinYMcNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our historic property. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening reception. However, we sincerely apologize that you felt the water pressure was inconsistent and the bedroom was slightly cramped. The management team is looking into ways of improving the hotel and future guests' stays. With this in mind, we hope you consider staying with us the next time Charleston is in your traveling plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I loved this hotel! From the complimentary, cooked to order breakfast and evening cocktails to the awesome staff, this hotel was fantastic! We've already booked for a weekend get away next year! If you are here on a Saturday in the summer, there is a local farmer's market in the park! An awesome thing to wake up to last saturday!!

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the park for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are so thrilled to hear that you loved our hotel and enjoyed your vacation with us that you have already booked your stay with us for next year! We look forward to having you back at our lovely hotel. Hope you and your family have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King George, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was an excellent hotel and staff! It has a historic charm and I got a beautiful room by the indoor fountain. The park right outside was amazing and a coffee shop within walking distance. I would love to come back to this place on personal travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Carey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your candid review on our hotel property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope you do come back to stay with us when you're not on business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The quality of the accommodations was exceeded only by the service provided by the hospitable and most professional staff. Simply a great experience in a fine hotel. I would return to this hotel, and highly recommend this Embassy Suites to any one visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our service and "professional staff." We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our property to anyone visiting Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have stayed here twice: once for our wedding night and once for a wedding! Both times we had a fantastic time and gorgeous rooms.
For our wedding night: the staff made us feel extra special and even left us a card and a bottle of champagne in our room!

This can be a very pricey hotel to stay at, but aren't they all in Charleston?, but it is worth it if you are wanting to splurge! This hotel is very close to everything downtown and you can enjoy a nice evening stroll down King St., to the Market, or even enjoy the Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our historic property. We are excited to read that you had a "fantastic experience." Look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight for an anniversary weekend. Although the staff was very helpful and friendly, our room reeked of urine and the outside noise was extremely annoying. It is within walking distance of the downtown area, which was helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side near the park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely apologize that you were not impressed with our historic hotel and that you experienced these unfortunate circumstances. We hope you keep us in your future plans next time you're in Charleston, for we are always looking for new ways to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing