We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge rooms, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, great location.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a great place to stay if you want to see Charleston on foot. Centrally located one block of bustling King St, and walking distance to N/S Market. Skip Saturday breakfast and check out the enormous farmer's market chock full of fresh produce, artisanal items and a LOT of food, just next door in the park.

The rooms are huge, but lacking windows. Staff were incredibly accommodating and cordial in true southern style. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast bud

We loved the complimentary happy hour each night, and made-to-order breakfast was also a nice perk, thankfully, because the buffet was mediocre at best. The dining area could have been keep cleaner.

Overall, a good experience, especially for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FINNasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed the historic feel of our hotel and you thought our evening reception and complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast was a great perk. Hope you keep us in your travel plans next time you visit Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    521
    285
    157
    106
See reviews for
623
545
36
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We reserved three rooms for a bachelor party weekend in Charleston. The location is easy to find and is well situated for exploring Charleston. At issue is the age of the hotel, it is in need of some serious upkeep.

It was clear from my allergy reaction that there is significant mold in the building. This was backed up by the green stuff we found growing behind the toilet on the inlet pipe and on the trim of the tub. The pool was also growing moss/mold on the tile above the water level. I understand this is the costal south but if you have issues with mold I do not suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely apologize that you were not impressed with our historic hotel and that you experienced these unfortunate circumstances. We hope you keep us in your future plans next time you're in Charleston, for we are always looking for new ways to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past two years and are never disappointed. We are natives of South Carolina but always love to visit Charleston. The Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is located perfectly within the downtown area and you can also take a taxi to the Mt. Pleasant/Shem Creek area for restaurants. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and will arrange all your travel and concierge needs. Buffet breakfast is delicious and the rooms are comfortable and designed for couples and/or families. Hard to beat this place!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with windows...the ones without are very depressing! And, get a room near the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your continuted loyalty to our property! We appreciate your wonderful review of our property! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for the thrid time and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you again for making us your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff are friendly. The complimentary drinks and snacks in the evenings are great. The complimentary full cook to order breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Great experience two times. On check out day put your door hanger out if you do not want the housekeeper to knock at 9am to confirm you are checking out and suggest you go by 10 or 11am, although check out is noon, she will come again at 11am to coax you on your way. That was the only aggravation during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarmonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for returning to our property for a second time! We are pleased you had a great experience with us and look forward to your next visit! Thank you for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

So easy to find driving onto Charleston. Centrally located, a former fort, has what you need to launch an easy tour of downtown Charleston. Two room suites we've come to enjoy about this hotel, refrig and microwave, nice bathroom. Staff so warm and friendly; there is something wonderful about this Southern charm and hospitality. Has a small pool and smaller weight room. Love the complementary breakfast.

Room Tip: Pick the park side. Probably not much of a view because of the original building's architecture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are pleased that you had a "perfect" stay and hope to see you again in the near future! Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wonderful breakfast and staff was helpful with directions around the city. I was able to walk to all of the main attractions in old downtown. They also provided historical background to the building. This is the site of the original Citadel. Also was easy access to travel to locations away from old downtown. Weekend farmers market is also located in the park right next to the motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to learn about the interesting history behind our hotel and pleased to hear that our staff was helpful with directions and attractions in the area! We look forward to the next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel with a group of history teachers on a trip to see the historic sites of Charleston. The hotel was located in a very convenient location next to a beautiful park, and it was very close to all downtown restaurants and to the market. The morning breakfast and the afternoon manager's reception were very welcome amenities that our group took advantage of. The room was quiet and beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly. I would not hesitate to return with my family for another visit when we return to Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful 5 star review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed our historic property and are eager to return with your family! We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing