We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Citadel is Now a Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. Hotel is close to restaurants on Upper King Street, not too far from shopping on King Street or attractions closer to Market Street downtown, and is adjacent to Marion Park where there is a farmer's market every Saturday morning. Rooms are spacious as is the inner courtyard with a fountain where you can relax and read. The included breakfast is bountiful as well. Pool is nice; workout room is quite small. Staff were pleasant and helpful. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for returning to our property for a second visit! We appreciate your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic downtown area. We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Embassy Suites your choice! We look forward to seeing you again in a future reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The location is absolutely perfect - walking distance from everything. Every single staff member was outstanding. SO friendly and accommodating. The lobby is beautiful, full of historic charm. The rooms themselves were average, nothing really special, but more than adequate and clean, and we had a great view of the park and the John C. Calhoun statue. We were also able to have adjoining rooms, which was great. The breakfast was convenient, with lots of options. Not the best food I've ever eaten, but for the price (free!), it was great! The evening cocktail reception was nice as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trav3lKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, it's very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear of the "friendly and accommodating" service you received from our staff. We hope you choose us as your home away from home the next time you're in Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review on our hotel property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Love the location of the hotel. Makes it easy to get around to all the historical spots in Charleston either by walking or taking the free Trolly transportation. The Embassy Suites rooms are great! With this building being an historical site (the first/original Citadel) its cool to have the brick walls with the gun ports still intact. The service was excellent. Everyone was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a great review!. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Wow absolutely the best service I have ever received at a Hotel. Every one was so friendly, helpful and welcoming. Excellent breakfast. Very convenient location. Will definitely use this as my primary hotel for future trips to Charleston.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank echope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback! We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service you received was the best you experienced! We appreciate you choosing our hotel and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff at this hotel is excellent. Impeccable service! The complimentary breakfast was amazing- something for everyone! And we loved the evening reception with complimentary beverages. The hotel is rich is history and hospitality! It's conveniently located to all the great things to see and do in the Holy City.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, it's very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear of the "impeccable service" you received from our staff and we hope you choose us as your home away from home the next time you're in Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review on our hotel property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location, exceptional service from the hotel staff. The front desk personal were extremely efficient, courteous and helpful. The restaurant staff were remarkable and the breakfast each motning was wonderful. We loved our visit to Charleston and the Embassy Suites made it special.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our property. We are thrilled to hear that our front desk staff were "extremely efficient, courteous and helpful." We hope to see you again in a future reservation! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I am just leaving after 2 nights here and couldn't be happier. Our room was on the first floor and had an old Brick wall left over from when it was the Citadel many years ago. I went with the Valet which is the best choice for parking and the guys are great. The breakfast is different from other Embassy Suties because of room and the building, since they didn't build it from the ground up. It is still much better than the other express or inn hotels. Great location its about 7 blocks to the market and just behind the hotel is King Street were all the restaurants are at. Would stay here again also the free shuttle comes in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the amenities it has to offer. It sounds like you appreciated the historical significance of both Charleston and our hotel. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you decide to return to Charleston. Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £140 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing