We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Meeting Street Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$339/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$523/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,086)
Filter reviews
2,089 results
Traveller rating
790
599
353
208
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
790
599
353
208
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionoriginal citadelcooked to order breakfastmarion squarefree happy hourbrick wallbreakfast staffhistoric charlestonking streetfarmers marketwithin walking distancevalet parkingfree breakfastcocktail hourvisitor's centerlocation is greatthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 2,089 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This honestly was one of my worst experiences in an Hilton property. My stay began awfully, I had requested and confirmed with the hotel that all three of my rooms were together. Arrived on site, that wasn’t the case. The front desk attendant was awful and said there wasn’t anything she could do. I spoke to a manager and resolved that problem. The next series of problems were maintenance issues. One of my guest rooms had a malfunctioning bathroom light, they sent engineering and got that fixed. The same room was plagued with A/C issues that were never resolved. We called multiple times regarding this problem and they never could find the issue. During this whole experience, they never offered to move us rooms even when requested. This was unacceptable as it was over 90 everyday in Charleston. This property needs better management and major refresh to all rooms as they were tired and outdated. This property is not work the nearly 300 room rates. I’ll definitely will not return and caution those to book this property as well.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Biztraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all, this hotel is in a great location. Second of all, I can't complain about the overall service or the value. This hotel was significantly less expensive than other options in this area, so I don't feel it's completely fair to complain about the much-needed renovations. The rooms are very dated. The carpet and bed skirts had mysterious stains and our room was dark and felt slightly damp. The made-to-order breakfast was decent, and the appetizers and drinks at the happy hour were a nice touch. Even though I wouldn't stay here again myself (I'd pay extra for something a little nicer), I would recommend it to someone who's not planning to spend much time in their room and needs a hotel in a great location for a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelingpr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary improvements.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
Despite the disappointment, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our phenomenal location in the heart of downtown Charleston within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions!
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and we apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. Plenty of room and inner seating area. Loved the historical accoutrements. Good breakfast as ever. Within walking distance of all the places in historical Charleston. Courteous and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Charlie,

Thanks for taking your time to leave a kind message for our hotel!
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us especially our phenomenal staff we have here with us whom we take a lot of pride in as well as our convenient location - we truly are located in the heart of Charleston historic district which is within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions and we are glad to know you were able to take advantage of it!
Although we are located in an old historic building, with continuous love, maintenance and updates, we believe that the archaic charm is what separates us from other hotels in Charleston!
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back here with us again in the

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can someone tell me why an overpriced hotel that is in desperate need of
renovations would decide to reduce their services even more. Are they
trying to turn customers away? We used to count on
the lobby concierge for restaurant assistance and to keep us up on what
was going on in town. Their used to be a bearded guy with very cool
glasses who was great. That service has been removed. What is management thinking? There are four other hotels around Marion Square I can book
and I will look into them instead of a place that is offering overpriced
rooms and eliminating services.

Room Tip: I defy you to try to find a room without mold, torn carpet and stained furniture.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Afficianado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location...other than that it needs to be gutted down to the studs and redone.

Stay here only if you have to. There was a dead cockroach hanging out in the main atrium area for two days right in plain sight. Decor is so old and tired, but its more than just the decor, it needs a total overhaul.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi William,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews