We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,158)
Filter reviews
2,158 results
Traveller rating
809
613
364
221
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
613
364
221
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews original citadel evening reception cooked to order breakfast marion square free happy hour brick wall breakfast staff king street historic charleston within walking distance farmers market valet parking free breakfast cocktail hour location is great visitor center meeting street
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,158 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

The hotel is filthy. Portions of the common areas have obviously not been cleaned for quite some time, judging by the accumulation of dirt and debris along the walls and on the stairs. Even if it were cleaned properly, the property is rundown and in desperate need of a remodel.The first room we were given was on the ground floor next to a public courtyard where several homeless people were congregated near our window, which did not feel safe. In the same room, we found 3 hairs from a former guest (2 in the shower, 1 in the sink). We requested a new room on a higher floor, and the staff graciously obliged.The second room was very noisy from the upstairs guests late into the night, but I wasn't going to ask to be moved again, so we dealt with it. The cleanliness of the next room was much better.I was overall very displeased with our stay. We booked a weeklong stay in December at another Hilton property, so I am a bit concerned about what we will experience there. Hopefully this issue is isolated to this particular location and is not a Hilton-wide maintenance and upkeep issue.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank paulrT3853VM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

The hotel is in a good location, the rooms are fair, renovation is a must. Sleeping is difficult because the beds are to soft and very uncomfortable. Hotel and parking are expensive. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank WilliamT1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Sorry but the place is filth.. cockroaches on the floor with dirt and filthy carpet.. lazy staff, I will not stay here again. I would recommend another property that can be found at a value. I want to ensure people by saying I did not complain to staff due to the simple purpose that southern hospitality should be ingrained in this type of business. Simply Sick. 2 stars for free breakfast and drinks

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

This hotel definitely needs some major renovation. The rooms and bathrooms are not only small and dirty, but dated. The air-conditioning unit has a dial!! The cleanliness is very poor. The reception food was limited and the bar was OK. They do not have free parking (it is $20 per day in the parking garage across - $25 with valet). The location is probably the only worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Flyingchariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Girls Trip! Enjoyed out stay. The made to order breakfast exceeded our expectations each morning! Staff very helpful! Wll definitely stay at this location again. Great Location can walk to great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews