We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel experience, top to bottom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel experience, top to bottom”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I was very satisfied with my stay at the Embassy Suites. We stayed at three different hotels on our trip (Florida, Georgia and SC), and this was easily the best. Loved the manager's reception and the breakfast, which featured fresh fruit, made-to-order omelettes and pastries. Our room was spotless and very charming. Thought it was strange that only the first and second floors have king beds, but it worked out fine for us. There is a free city-operated shuttle that picks up about a block away for an easy trip downtown. Just a great experience overall for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHSESMANAGER, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for the positvie feedback. We are truly glad that you were satisfied with your stay and ejoyed your time in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    521
    285
    157
    106
See reviews for
623
545
36
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

It has been several years since we stayed at an Embassy Suites. We originally tried to book a room at the Hampton Inn next door, but it was full. This hotel stay exceeded our expectations and worth the extra money. The staff was very friendly and helpful in all areas. This hotel is in a great area, within walking distance to so many restaurants and shopping. They have a really nice outdoor pool that we relaxed by and also a hottub. It came in handy after walking all around Charleston for the day. The gym had 2 treadmills and an elyptical trainer, all precor equipment. This was very nice. They also had a variety of free weights to use. Gym was nicer than any of the other hotels we have stayed in lately. The managers reception party was a great bonus to our stay, as well as the incredible cook to order breakfast. Everything was delicious! The hotel also had a lot of great seating areas, inside and out and was beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3peasinapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelwiki, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments! On behalf of team at the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston - Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Hotel staff very helpful. Rooms are a good size. Living area furnishings and bed room furniture need help. Old, stained, missing knobs, etc. Beds are comfortable. If you are a Hilton Honors member, this hotel is not a category 7 as they indicate. Location and historical presence are the main perks. Most Hampton Inns are nicer. Hotel bedrooms need a over haul.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jakenagsheadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHSESMANAGER, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
I'm sorry that you didn't find our furnishings to be in good condition. We appreciate your comments and are in the process of replacing damaged items in the rooms. I'm glad you found our staff to be helpful and I hope that you will stay with us again on any future trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed here with family on February 12. I was a liitle concerned based on the reviews mentioning bugs and bedbugs.We could not have been more pleased.The room was very clean and the beds were comfy.The staff was super courteous and helpful. Walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. We will return:)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

My husband's work takes us to Embassy Suites Charleston annually. It is a group of about 12 adult couples who getaway for a little relaxation over the weekend.

The staff is always very welcoming and helpful. I love the size of the suites and especially the high ceilings in the rooms on the first floor. The breakfast is always fresh. My favorite is the special order omelets. The managers' reception is a nice event with basic appetizers and drinks. We love the added value the managers' reception provides. The atmosphere in the hotel is historic yet comfortable. Our group loves the atrium and ended up gathering there in the late evening for a random social hour. (The staff was very accommodating in selling us additional beverages and coming by occasionally to pick up empties.)

As someone else mentioned, I wish they would put some additional emphasis on the history of the building. Although I know some history, it is only because I don't live terribly far away. The only thing I saw in the building was a sign in the breakfast cafe near the gun holes which gave the approximate date of the gun holes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annelisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

A bit away from the best part of Historic Charleston, this hotel is very good and loaded with history (the original Citadel), but they don't tell you about the history or really use it to their advantage. Otherwise, standard Embassy Suites, good place, nice restaurants nearby (except Coast which was horrible), and good service. We checked out at noon and I made the mistake of trying to get a cup of coffee, apparently this is a major crime, as I got my head ripped off by one of the staff stating "we don't give out coffee". I guess she thought I was a homeless drifter and had not just paid them more than $220 a night!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHSESMANAGER, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
Thank you so very much for your feedback, we appreciate your candid remarks. You are absolutely right, we should expand more on the History of our Embassy Suites as we have such an interesting story. We apologize for the remarks that were made about the coffee.We have addressed your comments with our team and you can rest assured that the delivery method has been corrected. Should your travels once again include the Charleston Area, we hope that you will give our Embassy Suites another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

For 230 dollars a night....you can sleep with bed bugs. Let me start out by telling you that the rooms are substandard, and the hotel is VERY OLD. The room was already dirty and dusty. After laying in the bed for 30 minutes I realized that I hadn't checked for bed bugs. I pulled back the sheets and moved the mattress from the wall...and we saw a tiny bug crawling. A beg bug. There was also a dead cockroach in the bathroom - something I would NOT expect, you would think that they would check their rooms or CLEAN THEM for 230 dollars a night.

Needless to say, we left immediately and told them. Neither host seemed concerned, only slightly apologetic. Thank goodness we were not charged for the room. DO NOT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandiemandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHSESMANAGER, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
On January 20th the room in question was inspecting and treated by a certified service technician. The service tech stated and documented that there were no signs of bed bugs. Our hotel has never had issues with bed bugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing