We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$503
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$422
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveller rating
306
396
248
104
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
396
248
104
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorfree shuttlegreat view of the riverashley riverrooftop restaurantshuttle servicebreakfast buffet isdowntown areahistoric districtan older hotelfolly beachthe hotel offersfront desk staffshort driveaaronmuscmarsh
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed 4 nights starting April 14th with the package deal including breakfast buffet and a room with a view of the harbor and downtown Charleston. The view was decent from the room, but from the 14th floor restaurant we had spectacular views. The buffet was a full buffet to include eggs, bacon, sausage, hotcakes, fruit, and more. The service was excellent. The hotel offers a free shuttle every 2 hours to downtown and with the cost of parking and difficulty finding downtown parking this was great. One of the drivers was quick to point out places of interest and answer questions. The younger driver may have well as been mute. The only fault I found with the room is the bathroom has no exhaust fan. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. If you plan on spending some time in Charleston this is a great place to stay for the average person. Not for those hunting luxury, but great if looking for convenience, comfort, and service. They have a pool, but the weather was not exactly pool weather for our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view specify that in your reservations and request the 4th floor or higher. I would recommend reservations to include breakfast. It will save you a lot of money on the regular priced $9.95 buffet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike_jarman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear mike_jarman2002,
Thanks for choosing us while visiting Charleston. The room package you booked for your most recent stay is a wonderful value added package, including a room and breakfast for 2 each day of your stay. Our hot extensive buffet has everything you would want and more; in addition, if you want something unique then we have a second option as you can order off our menu. An amenity that we offer that is overlooked is complimentary parking and a complimentary shuttle to downtown every 2 hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Thanks to the Holiday Inn Riverview, the 3rd ATS Squadron had an absolutely great reunion on April 9-14, 2013. It is difficult to adequately express our gratitude for the hotel staff’s cooperation, helpful attitude, and obvious appreciation for the service of our military veterans. Things could not have gone any better.

The shuttle service provided to downtown Charleston proved to be especially convenient and saved everyone the hassle of trying to find transportation or parking. It operated at utmost efficiency throughout the reunion.

Special recognition is warranted for Brandy Olson and Carmen Burkhead:

Brandy was so knowledgeable and professional in arranging all the details of the reunion, and her outgoing personality makes it a pleasure to work with her. I was especially impressed in how she kept me informed of everything throughout the planning and implementation of the reunion. Her suggestions and recommendations were extremely helpful. She, very obviously, is a tremendous asset to your organization.

Carmen was instrumental in making the Gala Banquet the absolute highlight of the reunion. The setup of each table and their arrangements were perfect for such a large group of retired military. Her entire staff was very helpful and served very professionally throughout the event. Carmen was also responsible for keeping both hospitality rooms clean and presentable at all times. She went out of her way, every day, to make sure we had everything we needed.

Thank you again for making this one of the very best reunions we have ever had.

Michael A. Yaeger
Colonel, USAF Retired
3rd ATS Reunion

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Michael Y,
Thank you for your glowing remarks and choosing our property for your Military Reunion. Our entire staff is grateful for your service and sacrifices that you made for our Country. It was our pleasure to accommodate your reunion we are pleased that you and your group enjoyed your rooms, service and food and beverage needs while visiting the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Initially, we booked this hotel because we had credit card points to spend and it looked like a neat location on mapquest being right on the river. The front desk was so nice when we checked in, they got us a room on the 11th floor and we had the great city view we had booked. The room was clean and spacious and all of the staff was friendly. The restaurant on the top floor was reasonably priced. We only ate the breakfast buffet (which is nothing spectacular and honestly, most of the items are offered as a complimentary breakfast at other hotel chains) and had drinks one night as the sun set. The hotel is not too far from downtown Charleston, and getting in and out of the city was easy. There is a complimentary hotel shuttle if needed, but we decided to drive ourselves so we could be on our own schedule. I did see someone checking in with a coupon they found at the visitor's center so I think this was a pretty good deal for a "city hotel" with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank double77s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear double77s,
Thank you for your business! Our hotel is located just moments from downtown without the downtown prices. The “City View” rooms give you a fantastic view of downtown and the Ashley River. Thanks again for your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Extremely convenient location, most friendly and helpful staff, above and beyond service from the group sales manager. The facility has been recently renovated and the rooms were very clean. Our group had 13 rooms for 4 nights and no complaints. Buffet breakfast was excellent and so were the meals off the menu. Great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2horseshorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear 2horseshorses,
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your group! We appreciate your comments and I look forward to sharing them with the entire team. Thanks again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We reserved a KING bed suite with roll in shower since I am in a wheelchair. It was about 160.00 per night, and when we arrived, we were told there were no KING rooms with roll in showers, just DOUBLE (as in 1 double bed) with a roll in shower. Since I really need the roll in shower and we were tired, we took the DOUBLE bed and asked for a rollaway since it's uncomfortable for my husband and I to both sleep in a DOUBLE bed...we're used to a KING. The room was arranged oddly so that you could not easily see the tv from the bed, the rollaway was full of hard springs that my husband said he would not let our dogs sleep on...the coffeemaker setup was in the BATHROOM. It smelled funny when we got off of the elevator, too. The next morning we went up to the top floor for their riverview restaurant -- they sat us and asked if we wanted menus -- we said yes. It was very limited and nothing looked appealing...I was considering the grilled chicken salad but thought 15.00 was a bit high for what they described, very generic. Then I saw another couple come in and when they were greeted they were asked if they wanted menus or the buffet...I said to our server that we did not even know they had a buffet and were not offered it...it was hidden in the back part of the restaurant. Instead of apologizing (we had already ordered at this point) she said that the special board said there was a buffet (excuse me for not reading it) -- but that it was "ok" and they would let us change our mind. I said it was not a "change of mind" when I was never offered the buffet in the first place...she and the hostess were snippy and so we paid for our iced tea and said "no thanks" on the food, and left. What a crap hotel. The only good thing was after we complained about their misleading website saying they had a KING with wheelchair accessible bathroom/shower, they comped the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele_Chastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Michele_Chastain,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room allocation and restaurant service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews