We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant, great view, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, great view, average rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Room was adequate; nothing fancy. Restaurant on the top floor has good food, great coffee and amazing views. The hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. Only 2 elevators, which seemed to run very slowly.

Room Tip: Restaurant is on the top floor. Only 2 elevators. If you stay on the 2nd floor, you will save your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear audreyewebb,
Thanks for your business! Our restaurant takes great pride in providing excellent; service, food and beverage along with tranquil views of the Ashley River and Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    361
    223
    94
    64
See reviews for
267
392
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Dont let the rosy reviews fool you, the numerous complaints of this place are true. My wife and I are seasoned travelers, we've been fortunate enough to visit & see many hotels in our travels around the world in the last 10 years. We are currently traveling by car across the entire US and booking hotels on the fly, we were fooled (by reviews) into booking this on a Saturday at the last moment. The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview ranks near the very top of the list for worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms have the look & feel of a super cheap roadside motel yet the hotel is priced in the mid-range. The room smelled of mold, the room carpet was incredibly old & disgusting, it actually is tough to walk on since the humidity has eaten into the fiber. It was like walking on a scrub brush. the shower seemed to have had its last renovations in the 70's, and there was mold on our shower curtains. They had paper cups, paper-thin bed sheets, and a filthy curtain that overlooked Charleston with a balcony that's bolted shut! I mean this place should be charging $25 a night, somehow they feel confident to charge so much more.

The room was so awful, it was only our second or third time checking a hotel room mattress for bedbugs, because it just seemed the type of place to breed them. The only saving grace for this hotel is the restaurant on the roof which had a really nice view of the city, and the friendly staff. That's great but when you're booking a hotel over $100-$150, this quality of room just does not even come close. It is light years behind the Andaz Savanna, where we are currently staying, yet somehow was more expensive. I really think management should drastically consider closing this awful place down, it is in dire need of renovations.

As someone else said before, I would've rather slept in my car than stay here.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkyo_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Tkyo_Frank,
As the General Manager of the Holiday Inn Riverview I want to apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Our entire staff strives to provide excellent service, clean rooms and a wonderful experience while visiting Charleston. I will be contacting you to discuss your stay to find ways that we can improve for future guest. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, NC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed 4 nights starting April 14th with the package deal including breakfast buffet and a room with a view of the harbor and downtown Charleston. The view was decent from the room, but from the 14th floor restaurant we had spectacular views. The buffet was a full buffet to include eggs, bacon, sausage, hotcakes, fruit, and more. The service was excellent. The hotel offers a free shuttle every 2 hours to downtown and with the cost of parking and difficulty finding downtown parking this was great. One of the drivers was quick to point out places of interest and answer questions. The younger driver may have well as been mute. The only fault I found with the room is the bathroom has no exhaust fan. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. If you plan on spending some time in Charleston this is a great place to stay for the average person. Not for those hunting luxury, but great if looking for convenience, comfort, and service. They have a pool, but the weather was not exactly pool weather for our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view specify that in your reservations and request the 4th floor or higher. I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_jarman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear mike_jarman2002,
Thanks for choosing us while visiting Charleston. The room package you booked for your most recent stay is a wonderful value added package, including a room and breakfast for 2 each day of your stay. Our hot extensive buffet has everything you would want and more; in addition, if you want something unique then we have a second option as you can order off our menu. An amenity that we offer that is overlooked is complimentary parking and a complimentary shuttle to downtown every 2 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneau, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Thanks to the Holiday Inn Riverview, the 3rd ATS Squadron had an absolutely great reunion on April 9-14, 2013. It is difficult to adequately express our gratitude for the hotel staff’s cooperation, helpful attitude, and obvious appreciation for the service of our military veterans. Things could not have gone any better.

The shuttle service provided to downtown Charleston proved to be especially convenient and saved everyone the hassle of trying to find transportation or parking. It operated at utmost efficiency throughout the reunion.

Special recognition is warranted for Brandy Olson and Carmen Burkhead:

Brandy was so knowledgeable and professional in arranging all the details of the reunion, and her outgoing personality makes it a pleasure to work with her. I was especially impressed in how she kept me informed of everything throughout the planning and implementation of the reunion. Her suggestions and recommendations were extremely helpful. She, very obviously, is a tremendous asset to your organization.

Carmen was instrumental in making the Gala Banquet the absolute highlight of the reunion. The setup of each table and their arrangements were perfect for such a large group of retired military. Her entire staff was very helpful and served very professionally throughout the event. Carmen was also responsible for keeping both hospitality rooms clean and presentable at all times. She went out of her way, every day, to make sure we had everything we needed.

Thank you again for making this one of the very best reunions we have ever had.

Michael A. Yaeger
Colonel, USAF Retired
3rd ATS Reunion

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Michael Y,
Thank you for your glowing remarks and choosing our property for your Military Reunion. Our entire staff is grateful for your service and sacrifices that you made for our Country. It was our pleasure to accommodate your reunion we are pleased that you and your group enjoyed your rooms, service and food and beverage needs while visiting the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Initially, we booked this hotel because we had credit card points to spend and it looked like a neat location on mapquest being right on the river. The front desk was so nice when we checked in, they got us a room on the 11th floor and we had the great city view we had booked. The room was clean and spacious and all of the staff was friendly. The restaurant on the top floor was reasonably priced. We only ate the breakfast buffet (which is nothing spectacular and honestly, most of the items are offered as a complimentary breakfast at other hotel chains) and had drinks one night as the sun set. The hotel is not too far from downtown Charleston, and getting in and out of the city was easy. There is a complimentary hotel shuttle if needed, but we decided to drive ourselves so we could be on our own schedule. I did see someone checking in with a coupon they found at the visitor's center so I think this was a pretty good deal for a "city hotel" with beautiful views.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank double77s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear double77s,
Thank you for your business! Our hotel is located just moments from downtown without the downtown prices. The “City View” rooms give you a fantastic view of downtown and the Ashley River. Thanks again for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Extremely convenient location, most friendly and helpful staff, above and beyond service from the group sales manager. The facility has been recently renovated and the rooms were very clean. Our group had 13 rooms for 4 nights and no complaints. Buffet breakfast was excellent and so were the meals off the menu. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2horseshorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear 2horseshorses,
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your group! We appreciate your comments and I look forward to sharing them with the entire team. Thanks again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We reserved a KING bed suite with roll in shower since I am in a wheelchair. It was about 160.00 per night, and when we arrived, we were told there were no KING rooms with roll in showers, just DOUBLE (as in 1 double bed) with a roll in shower. Since I really need the roll in shower and we were tired, we took the DOUBLE bed and asked for a rollaway since it's uncomfortable for my husband and I to both sleep in a DOUBLE bed...we're used to a KING. The room was arranged oddly so that you could not easily see the tv from the bed, the rollaway was full of hard springs that my husband said he would not let our dogs sleep on...the coffeemaker setup was in the BATHROOM. It smelled funny when we got off of the elevator, too. The next morning we went up to the top floor for their riverview restaurant -- they sat us and asked if we wanted menus -- we said yes. It was very limited and nothing looked appealing...I was considering the grilled chicken salad but thought 15.00 was a bit high for what they described, very generic. Then I saw another couple come in and when they were greeted they were asked if they wanted menus or the buffet...I said to our server that we did not even know they had a buffet and were not offered it...it was hidden in the back part of the restaurant. Instead of apologizing (we had already ordered at this point) she said that the special board said there was a buffet (excuse me for not reading it) -- but that it was "ok" and they would let us change our mind. I said it was not a "change of mind" when I was never offered the buffet in the first place...she and the hostess were snippy and so we paid for our iced tea and said "no thanks" on the food, and left. What a crap hotel. The only good thing was after we complained about their misleading website saying they had a KING with wheelchair accessible bathroom/shower, they comped the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele_Chastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Michele_Chastain,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room allocation and restaurant service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing