We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Outstanding customer service!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My family stayed there for a weekend and it was decent for the money but nothing grand. What made me give this place 5 stars was the customer service by a young lady (I think her name was Chelsie and sorry if I spelled it wrong). The professionalism, knowledge and courtesy she extended was far greater than any other hotel we've stayed at since we started visiting Charleston. Yes the lobby was small, and the place could use updating, so I would have given your hotel a 3.5 or 4, which is fine. Customer service goes a long way, though, and from our many travels across the country with experiences at lots of hotels, she should be teaching others how to do this. I have to say that dealing with her was what made this a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Marilyn B,
We truly appreciate your business! Customer service is our number one goal we want all of our guest to experience warm Southern Hospitality from the moment they enter the hotel until the time you check out. I will share your glowing comments with our front desk team member Chelsea and acknowledge her professionalism, knowledge and courtesy customer service. We all hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    369
    230
    96
    64
See reviews for
277
403
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn Riverview for Charleston Marathon in January. High rise, circular hotel is located right on the river just across from the center of Charleston. Ample parking and nice view makes this a very good choice. Lobby is very small but staff is extremely professional and helpful. Rooms are also a bit small, but very-well decorated. Most importantly, the beds are excellent with four pillows of various firmness. Breakfast offered (for a fee) on the upper floor restaurant is quite good and staff are very friendly. While perhaps not the swankest hotel in the Charleston area, the Holiday Inn Riverview is a great place for a good price.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors for better view and less noice from avenue on either side of hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear wm23,
Thank you so much for your kind words and business! The Holiday Inn Riverview is minutes away from Downtown with plenty of free parking for our guest and a complimentary shuttle that leaves the property every 2 hours. We want all of our guests to enjoy a wonderful night’s sleep on our double pillow top mattresses; moreover, we offer different pillow types to accommodate your needs. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview for a night while on business. The bar offers great views, good drinks and servers. The shuttle service into town was nice as it was freezing outside! When we returned, we realized that the water in the shower only got to luke warm and the lamp between the bed randomly went off and on. When I called the front desk around 10 pm, the night person said she would send maintenance. The light was of no urgency; however, a hot shower was since it was getting late and our business meeting in North Charleston was early the next morning. After 45 minutes, I called again to be met with "Okay! Okay! Okay!" from the same night person at the front desk. Finally, we had to go down to the front desk, get keys for another room, which in all was over an hour later! She did comp our breakfast, though, which I would not recommend paying for at $9.99 per person. Food was luke warm at best and nothing on the buffet was great. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. Parking was easy with access to north and south. Entire hotel needs some updating!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear edenl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate utility issues prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

On a 2 night business trip...for a place to stay with no out of pocket, it was fine. Reasonably clean, but needed updating. Carpeting, drapery and upholstery were worn...Super noisy from roadway traffic. Too many good places to eat in Charleston to eat there. Skip the shuttle and use their map to find the public parking if you have a car.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Beth P,
Thanks for your business. During the slow season parking downtown is plenty; however, March – October parking downtown can be very difficult to find and costly. That’s why we suggest using our complimentary shuttle that starts at 7:30 am to 9:30 pm every 2 hours 365 days a year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Awesome Views, I had great food and service from restaurant and the front desk. The rooms need to be Fully updayed bathrooms extremely small tv old and needs more stations parking is easy and you can get out in either direction. I do want to say NEVER EVER stay at the Holiday Inn Resort in Panama City Beach Florida its the worst Holiday Inn ever

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank istrainer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear istrainer,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Riverview. The panoramic views from the restaurant and guest rooms overlooking the Ashley River are breath taking. All of our guest rooms are fully equipped with 32” Flat Panel Samsung Televisions with Direct TV and HD programming. Sorry to hear that your stay at another IHG property (Panama City) was not up to your standards. Our team looks forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Checked in a little early with no problems. Staff was very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Hotel was positioned between lanes of the highway on the riverfront. Could hear road noise all the time and we were on the 12th floor. Room was spacious and comfortable. Internet was low strength but usable. Beds had plenty of pillows and were comfortable and clean. Bathroom sink was outside of main bath which is nice except that the door into the tub/toilet area opened into the space which was awkward. Good stay overall. Used the shuttle to downtown and was satisfied with the service. No refrigerator, microwave but probably available on request. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimarieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear DimarieOhio,
Thanks for the wonderful comments! Our team prides its self on excellent customer service from the front desk to the person in the back of the house folding white crisp clean linen. I will have the maintenance team check the “access point” on your floor to make sure that it is work properly for future guest. The double pillow top mattresses along with our standard “soft or firm” pillows help you relax and sleep comfortably throughout the night. We hope to see you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Entrance and exit are challenging, lots of traffic headed to downtown. Not the hotels fault but still a bother. Tub was not cleaned when we went to use it, was slick from some substance. We were finally brought a bath mat which cured some of the problem. The tub was never cleaned during the 4 days we were there. The water temperature was not good. We had to turn the hot water on completely to have it warm enough to bathe. This was the most aggrevating aspect of the stay.
We ate in the restaurant the evening we arrived and have no complaints. The grilled salmon was just right. Other members in our party had the prime rib and it was very good and turned out to be more that they could eat.
Our rooms came with meal tickets for the breakfast buffet which turned out to be a huge bargain. The breakfast was outstanding! All one could want except for whole milk, which I like and took the two containers they put out.
We were in town for a wedding and all of the party stayed here but had we known all the events would be across the river, we would have stayed downtown.
I can't complain about the price because I usually travel on a military discount which they do offer. The staff were more than acommodating and the issues I had may have been beyond their control.
The balcony doors are locked and the sign said for the occupants safety but this still bothered me because I wanted to see the views.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EASeabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear EASeabee,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience the bathroom conditions and hot water availability may have caused you.

We will followup with the Executive house keeper to ensure situations such are not repeated. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We are pleased you did enjoy your meals in the restaurant.

Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing