We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great view of the inter-coastal area from our room, at the pool and from the top floor restaurant. I enjoyed a delicious dinner and drink at the restaurant during my stay. Customer service was great and I would definitely stay here again. It is a bit dated but I choose to overlook that for the beauty of the views and conveniences of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear shellyga,
Thanks for staying with us! The views from the guest rooms, restaurant/bar and pool are mesmerizing especially after a long day sightseeing. Our delicious Southern cooking in the restaurant offers many different options for breakfast, lunch and dinner - not to mention all of the adult beverage options. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    369
    230
    96
    64
See reviews for
277
403
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Riverview for a couples weekend - we were a little worried about staying outside of the city but were very happy with our stay! The hotel has a shuttle that runs during the day/evening to downtown Charleston and drops off near the market. This saved a lot on cab fare. Although it stopped running at 9:00pm and we had to catch a cab back to the hotel, the cab ride was only around $12-$15 each time. The room was also very clean but the bathroom was a little smaller than normal hotel rooms.

The hotel bar and restaurant was a nice place to have a drink and appetizer before heading into the city. It has and absolutley GORGEOUS view of the river and the city. Although there was no continental breakfast (You could eat brunch in the restaurant) there was complementary coffee each morning, and there is a Waffle House next door.
Overall, we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Request a riverview room if possible - the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear MadisonB.,
Thanks for the wonderful comments! Glad you enjoyed the Free shuttle to Downtown it starts at 7:30 am until 9:30 pm and the shuttle leaves the hotel every 2 hours on the half hour. The views from the restaurant /bar are GORGEOUS it’s a great place to meet for cocktails and appetizers before heading downtown. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The only hotel on our trip of 11 different hotels that wouldn't let us check in early
Hotel had its own bus that took you in to Charleston which was an absolute charming place to visit we loved it
Had a great look through all the market which is huge and
we watched a cruise ship leave lol

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank netty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear netty70,
Please accept my apology that we were not able to check you in earlier than our normal time. Our hotel is always extremely busy and the staff does it’s best to accommodate every guest need in the future please contact the Front Desk prior to check-in so we can exceed you expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good location, free shuttle to downtown every 2 hours to and from. Great coffee in the morning. Room was clean but carpet smelled damp. Some of the staff were kind and helpful while others were not. Exercise area was decent and I heard good things about the restaraunt on the top floor. Next to a waffle house which was great for breakfast. Right next to Rt 17 which made it easy to drive to plantation and other sites outside the city. Good price but they really need to work on customer service. Also, they never gave us enough towels and we had to ask for them every day for a week!! Don't know what that was about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassanach_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear sassanach_12,
Thank you for staying with us recently we truly appreciate your business! Our free coffee in the morning in the lobby is a wonderful way to start the day before you catch our free shuttle to the downtown shops and sightseeing monuments. We normally have 3 sets of plush terry towels for our guest to enjoy each and every day I will follow up with our Housekeeping Manager to make sure we are providing our valued guest the correct amount of terry. Thank you for bring this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here because of the ideal location, however, there is much room for improvement. The room was clean and comfortable, as was the king bed, but, the bathroom had no fan and became a steam bath, never mind no ventilation for toilet use. As mentioned by others, the balcony door is permanently locked, so, no fresh air. As far as the staff goes, some are totally distracted and others seem uninterested. Coffee service each morning was a nice feature, but, 3 out of 4 mornings, the pot was empty and staff seemed annoyed when asked for a refill which took 20 mins one morning. Overall, don't expect a luxury stay and expect to tend to yourself more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkOltedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear MarkOltedale,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. We appreciate that you have considered our hotel to be in a great location.

However, I am sorry to hear about your recent experience and that our hotel has fallen short to some of your expectations. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management for proper action and fix to make you next stay better.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel kind of slow getting rooms turned over.....never had to wait til 4 to check in before. I get that is the official check in time, but come on. Shuttle service starts @ 5:30 and runs every two hrs, not every 30 mins as I would led to believe when I booked.

Balcony is locked....can't use it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Susan W,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I appreciate that you have chosen our hotel and we hope you had a comfortable stay. I am sorry to hear that our hotel has fallen short to some of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have had during your arrival. I have forwarded your concern to our hotel management for proper action to avoid any delays and trouble on your next check in.

Best regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had reserved a room with a king bed about 2 months before we arrived. We were greeted by friendly staff upon checkin. When we got to our room we had two double beds. Called the front desk and was told the hotel was totally full and they could not accomodate our reservation for a king bed. I was not happy but had no choice but to deal with it. We were only staying for 3 nights thankfully. The bed was comfortable, minus the size, with lots of pillows. Overall the hotel was clean and pleasant. The hotel bar and resuarant on the top floor had a great view of the river and downtown. We ate the breakfast buffet at the hotel twice which had a good selection and I never left hungry. Service at breakfast was great with very pleasant staff.
We used the hotel shuttle once into downtown, it drops off at each end of the Market which was convenient for our dinner plans.
This hotel is not within walking distance to downtown. We chose it because it wasn't as expensive as the downtown hotels but still close enough to catch a taxi or use their shuttle.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again for the location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1111 and had a view of the river and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishouldbediving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear ishouldbediving,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and pleased our location suited your travel well. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing