We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, courtesy, view great... Price it depends how desperate you are”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great location. Charleston is not a vast city and from the hotel you can be anywhere in 10min. Great view from the roof top restaurant. It closes at 22 which is unfortunate..
The price/quality is not at all adeguate... I spent 200$/night .. Peak season, ok but way too high

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LVD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear LVD1969,
Thanks for choosing our hotel while visiting Charleston! We are centrally located between Downtown, Folly Beach and West Ashley. In addition, we offer a free shuttle to Downtown every 2 hours starting at 7:30 am until 9:30 pm. Our room rates vary throughout the year depending upon the season; however, we offer extremely competitive rates in the market that are normally much less than the Downtown room rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This Holiday Inn was a great disappointment...The hotel needed updating...Room had ceiling peeling, bathroom was outdated with older tub...Walls were so thin a couple arguing in the next room woke us up from a sound sleep....Wi-fi did not work half the time...Bar was supposed to open at 3:30...We went at 3:20 just to get an appetizer before dinner and the bartender said I am NOT open, I just got here. No way would I rate this a 4 star...Not even a 3 star in my book...Will NEVER go back to this so-called Holiday Inn. We learned it was independently owned & you sure could tell. Like I said this hotel gives the Holiday Inn a bad name....

Room Tip: Go stay at a real Holiday Inn - Meeting Street (no comparison to this so called Holiday Inn)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SRWStanley_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear SRWStanley_NC,
I apologize we did not meet your expectations during your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Riverview. It is our goal to always provide excellent customer service and sparkling clean rooms. I will personally visit the room you were in to make sure any deficiencies are corrected for future guest. We would love for you to give us another opportunity in the near future. Again, I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a Great Hotel, rooms are clean and comfy. It is close to downtown offering a shuttle to get you there. The staff are all so nice and helpful...especially Derek in the Lounge at the top! Oh... And the Breakfast buffet is yummy with a view!

Room Tip: Ask for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fieldlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Fieldlm,
Thanks for staying with us! I will share your positive comments with Derek in the lounge he is an extraordinary team member we are so lucky to have him on our team. I agree our breakfast is outstanding with all you can eat; eggs, bacon, pancakes, sausage, grits, oatmeal, hash browns and the list keeps going and going. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel rooms were fine, nothing special, but work fine for what we paid. Very comfortable beds and pillows. The staff was great and very friendly and knowledgable of the area and had some great idea's for our weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Robyn,
We truly appreciate your business and glad you choose to stay with us while visiting Charleston. Our plush double pillow top mattresses make it easy to get a great night of sleep. Moreover, each bed has two different types of pillows; 2 soft and 2 firm for your comfort. Thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Reading all the reviews we certainly missed out. We got our room via Hotels.com and after the fact see people raving about the views. Ours was of a highway with no water in sight, so make sure you ask for a good view!

The room was clean, but had a peculiar smell. It was almost like the cleaning supplies and air spray were meant to mask a worse smell.

The staff at the front desk were nice, but when asked where to eat, could only suggest the hotel's dining room. We found a great BBQ place, Swine and Swig just minutes west and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HorryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear WestVaTraveler,
We are grateful for your business! We suggest that you book a “view room” moreover, when checking in ask to be on a high floor so you can enjoy the panoramic view of Downtown Charleston, West Ashley and Folly Beach. Also, the restaurant atop the hotel has amazing views we highly recommend that you have breakfast while watching the sunrise or dinner and watch the sunset. Usually you can see the dolphins feeding in the morning or playing with each other as the world awakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Bathrooms even smaller. Outdated, can't open balcony door. Room cleanliness was ok, but the rest of hotel was not good, especially the elevators. Pros: complimentary shuttle, free parking, river view, fairly close to downtown and beaches. Cons: Small rooms and bathrooms, staff not very polite and helpful, small "common area" to relax. Not a welcoming hotel and absolutely no attempt to provide small welcoming things e.g. no ice water, no "free" cookies, coffee only available until 11 am. Big sign offering free tea, but none ever appeared. Breakfast, at $10 was mediocre, all pastries were stale! Will never return, could not relax after a busy day.

Room Tip: On noisy highway - traffic loud in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Tammy L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an email with additional details.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a school reunion at the HI Charleston Riverview and they were very accommodating. They gave us a great group rate, organized a tasty dinner buffet for us, worked hard to help us find breakfast tables close enough to each other every morning. The bar and wait staff were superb - Derek, the bartender, took very good care of us. The view from the bar/restaurant is fantastic and the proximity to downtown, along with the free shuttle, was really convenient. We all had a wonderful time. Only problem, the WIFI was awful. It didn't work at all on the 12th floor. We tried every day to work with the technical company to get it to work but never had WIFI in the 4 days we were there. Others in our party had the same problem on other floors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LynnO129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear LynnO129,
What wonderful comments, thank you! Our Sales Department loves working with groups and making sure that every detail is absolutely perfect! I will share your kind comments with Derek our bartender extraordinaire he will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience. In addition, I will call our internet provider to find out why our internet was having issues during your stay; moreover, I will have them do a complete analysis of the system. Thanks for bring this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
2.6 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £79 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing