We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and service`”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view and service`”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room was very close to beach and downtown. View from pool was great. Only issue was that they booked someone else into our room while we were staying so when we returned from dinner another persons suitcases were in our room. Quickly resolved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Kimbra G,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Riverview while visiting Charleston! The hotel is centrally located to Downtown, Folly Beach and West Ashley; moreover, we offer a free shuttle to Downtown every 2 hours starting at 7:30 am – 9:30 pm. We also offer free parking which is a cost savings benefit compared to some of the hotels located Downtown. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Riverview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    362
    223
    94
    64
See reviews for
268
392
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We immediately noticed that the bed sheets had hair in them and discovered even more when the sheets were fully taken off. The front desk manager came right up, profusely apologized, and changed them out. While there, she did a great job telling us about some dinner options. She was nice. The pool looks nice and seems to have a bit of a view, but didn't go in. Room walls seem thin- could hear the mumbling of couple next door. Road traffic is VERY loud in room. Disappointed to see multiple teammates chatting and smoking in the garden area at front of hotel. That should be done in a more private area, but ideally- smoking would be banned on hotel premises for teammates (hotel should be encouraging good health choices). Wouldn't stay here for $200+ again. Maybe worth $100.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Kassi L,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Riverview for your most recent stay in Charleston, SC. I would like to apologize on behalf of the housekeeping staff and the entire hotel for not cleaning the room too both of our standards. We will use your comments for training purposes for the entire housekeeping team. I am however, pleased that one of the leadership team members was able to correct the issue in a quick and responsive manner. Thanks again for staying with us we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the location. Room was clean and the beds were comfortable but the bathroom did not have a fan, but that was no big deal since it just my son and I. The breakfast buffet is a little high so we only did that once. Better have a fast car to get off and on Hwy. 17(exciting).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mark R,
Thanks for staying with us! Our extensive breakfast buffet is all you eat which includes: hot eggs, tasty bacon, sausage, shredded hash browns, Southern grits, sand dollar pancakes, an array of cereals and much, much more. It also includes bottomless hot coffee or juices. As always kids eat free with accompanying adult guardian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This makes the second time we have stayed here and for a good reason! It's so close to the port, it's clean, has wonderful views, and the staff is super friendly! They always make sure to meet our requests with having a port side facing room. I love waking up in the morning and looking out and seeing our ship! Never had a bad experience with this place! Thanks so much for the wonderful times!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Larry B,
Thanks for being a loyal customer we truly appreciate your business. Great service, super clean rooms and fantastic views is what we are known for, thanks again for your business have fun on the cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband used to live out here & drove by this hotel a lot, always wanted to stay there. So we did! Our son loved the idea of the round hotel! Nice staff. Decent rooms. Comfortable beds. Rooms are a little small due to the round shape & lack of angles but ok. We had dinner in rooftop restaurant which was nice with very friendly waitstaff. The food wasn't as good as we expected, but it was tolerable. All in all, good experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Katie B,
We are so happy that you decided to give us an opportunity after driving by the hotel for all those year. Your son is right. The “Round Holiday Inn Riverview” is super cool! The hotel is a true landmark in Charleston it was established in March of 1971 one of only a few high rise buildings in Charleston. Therefore, the views from the guest rooms and restaurant are spectacular. Thanks again for giving us an opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's probably a 2 or 3 star hotel, but the staff was exceptional. Everything was clean etc... things are just dated and a little dingy. It's reasonably located, but if you need to be in the downtown area (walking distance), look elsewhere. The shuttle runs every two hours and carries 10 passengers, we never were on schedule and took our own cars.
The pool is nice and the restaurant on top should be visited, if only for a drink, the view is great. We did have a nice lite breakfast there. Rooms are a little small due to the shape of the hotel, which I actually enjoyed.
Nice place, would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyx86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We paid over $200 for 2 double beds. Located across the river from downtown. Cab ride cost $10 back from kings street(bar/nightlife central) free shuttle every two hours thru 9:30 p.m. The service was great, the employees were extremely helpful. The bar/restaurant on the top floor was very nice. Had a breakfast buffet which was not included in price of our stay. Pool on 3rd floor outdoor rooftop. Drain in our bathtub clogged but they were quick about fixing it. Our view was of the Waffle House parkinglot. Over priced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajmlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear bajmlb,

Thank you for the candid review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your kind words regarding our service and our employees. However, we are truly sorry you were not satisfied with the price you paid. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing