We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lots of Charleston charm!”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and lots of Charleston charm!”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Enjoyed this charming Charleston landmark inn over Memorial Day weekend. Perfect location for enjoying the city, along with a smiling and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast buffet offered in a beautiful, enclosed courtyard setting. Lovely, charming rooms -- will surely go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eerneston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time for a review. We are pleased that you found our Inn
and took the opportunity to embrace Charleston's charm. We look forward to seeing
you in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    280
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
198
482
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The Inn keeper, owner, and staff are first rate! This is one of the nicest places that we have ever stayed. Clean, comfortable, quiet, beautiful & more! You can walk to just about everything!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thank you for your glowing review. We are so pleased that you found our treasure in Historic Charleston, and we look forward to seeing you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The Indigo Inn is filled to the brim with kind, gentle souls! The staff is very, very nice and funny. The rooms are clean, no bedbugs or insects that I've seen, and the laundry is taken in every day.

There is a pleasant court yard in the hotel, like the Romans used to have. While the city is alive with humans, this area is alive with foliage!
My only complaint is the smell of garbage in the hallways. I don't smell it whatsoever in the rooms, though, and you rarely find yourself in the halls other then for passage.

I love love love this inn, and I would stay here a million times over thanks to the comfortable rooms and the friendly staff!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelofEbola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I have stayed at Indigo several times and had wonderful experiences. On a recent trip to the Inn, I mistakenly misplaced articles of clothing and, thanks to Brian Limehouse who went out of his way to find and ship them back to me, my visit had a happy ending. Thank you again Brian and Indigo Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coco33578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Having visited Charleston dozens of times while our daughter attended college there we most often stayed at fancy B&B's and big name hotels. We decided to try the Indigo Inn after a disappointing return to a favorite pet -friendly Inn the previous month. The proprietor was gracious and accommodating and the staff loved our dog. Complimentary expanded continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments never let us down. Felt like home. We'll be back. P.S. - we found it through Yelp!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanne000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Great location, warm/friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet, wine and cheese in the afternoon and chocolates on your pillow at night! Lovely outside garden area for enjoying your morning paper and afternoon treats. Parking on site. Try dinner at TBonz if you're there on a Wednesday night when they have a live jazz band.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank reiseha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Indigo Inn about 5 times. We enjoy it for the overall quality of the experience: the rooms are smallish, but well appointed in typical B&B style; the unique courtyard is a great respite from the vacation rush - I love eating the hunt breakfast in the courtyard by the fountain; and the great location - just around the corner from the market. Old Charleston is a beautiful walking town and when you step out of the door of the Indigo Inn you are immediately a part of that ambiance.

Room Tip: This is a three story hotel with a single elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,785 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,187 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing