We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and superior service”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location and superior service”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The staff was incredibly helpful. Their restaurant recommendations did not disappoint, and they helped steer us away from our plans to visit a plantation that was not worth the cost and suggested an alternative. The courtyard is adorable. The rooms are a bit dark, and the beds were awkwardly high, but we didn't plan to spend all day in our room so we really didn't care.

The location can't be beat for walking around the French Quarter, and the prices are significantly more reasonable than anywhere else I contacted.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 955jessican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    268
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
187
464
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This hotel is truly amazing. The rooms all face the intimate courtyard. We love the decor and find it relaxing and decompressing. Next time I need a get-away from the world I'll drive down there, check in, and veg for three days.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel201102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
We are pleased that you have found your oasis in the desert. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a one night getaway. It is in a perfect location for walking Charlestons Historic District. The Inn itself is charming, well kept and clean. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was helpful and pleasant. Parking is on-site and very convenient. While not a "5-star hotel it is a great choice and well worth the rates for the location and accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickenJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Indigo Inn, and
for your kind words. We trust that you will join us again
in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

nice place, nice staff, nice price
no complaints

good location and free wine and cheese.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynDanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us,
and look forward to seeing you in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I've been trying to stay at more boutique hotels to mix it up on my business trips and chose the Indigo Inn based on some of the ratings it received.

There was nothing glaringly bad about the stay - the staff was pleasant, they had a decent breakfast in the morning, and it is in a convenient location. I was not wild about the property - it just seemed a bit outdated....and not in a historic Charleston a'la Wentworth Mansion kind of way. My room smelled a bit musty and opened up to the outside (which as a female traveller - am not wild about). However, the rooms surrounded an outdoor pavillion - which has a charming European feel.

Overall, it was not an unpleasant experience - I just feel that there are other properties offered at a similar rate with more ammenities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bwhit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
I am sorry that our amenities weren't what you expected.
Thank you for your feed back. We understand that the Indigo Inn
is not for eveyone. Have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
356 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I read all the reviews for this hotel, and yes it is in a good location, right in the downtown area.
That's about it, the place is really dirty, the rugs are so disgusting that getting around reqired shoes at all times.
I can usually overlook some things while traveling, but dirt is not one of them.
The place just gave me a bad feeling, makes you wonder about bedding etc.
Would never go there again, even if it was free.

Room Tip: Check the room and have a back up place if you don't believe this review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank tuscany1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
I do apologize that you had a less than perfect experience at the Indigo Inn.
Our Housekeeping staff does a thorough daily cleaning, and the carpets are steam cleaned on a monthly basis.
Had I known, at the time, that you were not comfortable in your surroundings, I could have moved you to another room, to rectify the situation.
Please don't let this experience inhibit you from visiting our beautiful city again.
Thank you!!! And have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Spent four days at this very comfortable inn, very gracious and helpful staff took care of all our transportation needs. You don't need a car as all the beautiful historical homes and parks and amazing restaurants are within a few blocks' walk. We did need a taxi to go to our kayak trip and the hotel helped with that. As others note, the breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are great, with far more quantity and variety than is typical of a B and B. Although on Market St, the rooms face an interior courtyard and so are very quiet. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinOn275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing