We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel of our trip”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best hotel of our trip”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were visiting from England, traveling down the east coast with Charleston being at the end of the route. We were lucky enough to be refered to the Indigo Inn. It is a beautiful place offering clean, elegant rooms. It provides a delicious breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon which can be enjoyed in the beautiful courtyard which is an added bonus. Brian was very helpful, making reservations for dinner at a local restuarant (we went back the next night it was so good). Ignatius was very gracious and both he and Brian made our visit memorable. The only bad thing was the fact that we could only stay 2 nights as the Inn was full on Friday!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you for choosing to end your travels in Charleston and at the Indigo Inn,
and for sharing your experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    280
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
197
482
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Very comfortable, GREAT location,management was very responsive to any issues we had and made our stay excellent. We spent four days walking our feet off in Charleston, took one excellent tour to the Magnolia Plantation with Charleston Tours (we cannot say enough about our tour guide, Mike, he was the best). The room was spacious, the breakfast and happy hour were fine, the garden court is a great place to unwind and talk about how great Charleston is. We'd stay there again, of course.

Room Tip: King sized beds in the corner rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cm-in-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences
with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville, tn.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I will start out by saying that I love Charleston. My friend and I only stayed one night at the Indigo Inn. The room was very nice and clean. There breakfast and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was very good. The lady and the gentleman at the check in desk were very helpful. They went out of their way to help us, like printing our boarding passes for our flight home. We will be back.
Thanks again,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndca11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
You are most welcome; we look forward to your return visit in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This Inn was even nicer than we expected. Full of charm with a personal touch. The wine and cheese in the afternoon, the clean rooms, the garden, the excellent brakfast and the historical elevator and right in the center of historic Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exmann23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The staff was incredibly helpful. Their restaurant recommendations did not disappoint, and they helped steer us away from our plans to visit a plantation that was not worth the cost and suggested an alternative. The courtyard is adorable. The rooms are a bit dark, and the beds were awkwardly high, but we didn't plan to spend all day in our room so we really didn't care.

The location can't be beat for walking around the French Quarter, and the prices are significantly more reasonable than anywhere else I contacted.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 955jessican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This hotel is truly amazing. The rooms all face the intimate courtyard. We love the decor and find it relaxing and decompressing. Next time I need a get-away from the world I'll drive down there, check in, and veg for three days.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel201102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
We are pleased that you have found your oasis in the desert. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a one night getaway. It is in a perfect location for walking Charlestons Historic District. The Inn itself is charming, well kept and clean. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was helpful and pleasant. Parking is on-site and very convenient. While not a "5-star hotel it is a great choice and well worth the rates for the location and accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickenJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Indigo Inn, and
for your kind words. We trust that you will join us again
in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,782 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing