We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the heart of downtown Charleston”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Jewel in the heart of downtown Charleston”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We, me and two friends of mine, stayed here the first part of April. We were in town for my bachelorette party and decided last minute to stay an extra evening. The hotel is in a great location and it's just too cute. It is full of the over 65 crowd, but we loved that-it was classy and quiet. The courtyard is beautiful and the afternoon wine and cheese was a wonderful plus. Our room was large and the beds were very comfortable. We loved the evening turn-down service as well. Breakfast is served each morning and is very typical of other hotel breakfasts-simple but good. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teacherash88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Your words speak volumes!!! Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    272
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
190
470
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and I took a last minute trip to Charleston and really enjoyed staying at the Indigo Inn. The room was very cozy and clean. There is a beautiful courtyard to sit and enjoy the outdoors. The complementary breakfast was very good and there was a good selection of food. Best of all, they have their own parking lot where you can leave your car, and it is located just a couple of blocks from the Market so you can walk anywhere you want downtown. Also the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for your positive feedbacl; we are pleased that you enjoyed Charleston, and our "Great Little Inn."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My friend & I wanted to stay in Charleston where we could leave the car in the parking lot. This little Inn was the perfect solution--close to everywhere historic, plenty to see within walking distance, and a nice place to stay. It may not be a five star Inn, but it's clean, comfortable, and the everyday extras make it a great value for the money. The breakfast is quite a spread for a little self-serve space, but always fresh and yummy. We were so busy during the day we never did make the complimentary wine & cheese at late afternoon. Always coffee, tea, ice tea & lemonade available NC. Rooms are slightly on the small side (as is the bathroom--pretty tight), but quite adequate. The courtyard is just a fantastic bonus, great place for hanging out in the evening or for tackling the breakfast. I would definitely stay there again, it may seem a bit pricey for what it is, but every place to stay in Charleston is, so go with this one!

Room Tip: First floor is ideal, we loved just popping in & out to breakfast, drinks, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your thoughts on some of our amenities!!! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just got back from a long weekend in Charleston and we are very glad we chose Indigo Inn. For starters, the location is perfect!! The staff could not have been friendlier and the room was very clean and comfortable. We love Charleston and will be staying at The Indigo Inn for all future visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to your future visits!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My friends and I LOVED staying here! Our first floor room opened out onto a gorgeous courtyard. It was clean and cozy. Delicious food, wonderful location, and large off-street parking!! (although they charged us $10 to park, it was worth it) Staff at the desk were very helpful and kind. The shower kind of threw us off as the hot and cold were "backward", but the remodeling was very nice. I really wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler0773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback!!! I apologize for the show faucet snafu; please contact me so that we rectify the situation!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was a great place to stay. Service was great and so is location. Rooms are small but very nice. Great for couples. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
We are pleased that you had a great time in Charleston!!! Thank you for allowing us to meet your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a place to crash during your visit to Charleston. There wasn't anything fancy about it, but the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. It's located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of everything. The staff was wonderful and so nice. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kholly0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
On behalf of the Staff, we thank you for sharing your opinions with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,736 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
923 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing