We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price make this a solid choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location and price make this a solid choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Can't beat the location of the Indigo Inn. We were on foot for our whole visit and our experience was maximized by the location of the Indigo. Staff were very friendly. Outside of a dark room, we had a nice time and you will too.

Room Tip: Room 314 was dark, but convenient to elevator/stairs and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cblukens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Yes, 314 is a corner room which looks out into the hallway, and thank you for your feedback!!!
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    264
    50
    18
    11
See reviews for
184
451
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you’re ever in the Charleston area and looking for a place to stay, you must consider the Indigo. To start...location...location...location... right in the heart of downtown. Most of us are concerned with transportation and getting around when we travel, right? Well, where this hotel is located, your mind will be put to rest. Doing a tour of the city? A rental car is nice but not necessary. Truthfully, you are doing yourself a disservice by driving and not walking the city... It's way too convenient not to walk around and get a up close and personal view of the local restaurants, cafes, shops, historic tourists attractions, cemeteries, churches, the beautiful hidden alley ways and cobblestone streets that surround the hotel and if that's doesn't sound desirable, the hotel sits on the free trolley line around the city.
Now back to the hotel...it has a Old English vibe to it, my room was adorable and felt like home. I can go on about the courtyard, its gardens and fountains, but I won't, you just have to see it for yourself. The breakfast, evening wine and cheese and endless beverages was very much appreciated, this seem to make the guest quite happy. But the best part for me was the staff and their customer service...IT WAS EXCEPTIONAL!!! It's been proven over and over again that without quality customer service a business cannot sustain, even if you served 3 meals a day. I can describe this place in two words...PEOPLE FIRST...and Indigo did just that.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your myriad experiences about Charleston and the Indigo Inn with us; you are too kind with your words. It sounds like you had a wonderful time in Charleston, and at the Indigo, and we hope that you would consider a repeat visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Indigo Inn at least six times and it never fails to please us. We love it all...the location, the well appointed rooms, breakfast, pre-dinner wine and cheese, the friendly staff...it fits us like a glove and we can only look forward to even more visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emactheadmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
And we love your pleasant personalities and seeing your smiling faces. We look forward to your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here with friends for a long weekend in Charleston. Very helpful staff, good-sized rooms (except for the bathrooms) and a great location. Breakfast and late afternoon wine/cheese included in the room. Staff helped us find excellent restaurants and provided excellent advice on places to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

This former indigo warehouse is nicley decorated. It is close to everything. The staff is very helpful. They arrange for us to take a number of Tuers and pointed out some great restaurants along the way. Don't miss the Continental breakfast the strawberries are awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparty239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

On a road trip up the coast decided to spend a day and tour Charleston.Saw the Indigos review on TA and tried a night.The room was beautiful with four post beds and antiques (or imitations)in the room and lobby.The rooms face a beautiful courtyard with a fountain,statuary,and iron furniture.The staff spent time arranging a tour,discussing the city,and bringing out restaurant menus.Why stay in a Days Inn or Marriot when Inns like this are a great experience and no more expensive? Cheese and wine at 5 added to the experience.The Inn is 2 blocks to Market Street with all of its shopping and restaurants.Most of the great neighborhoods are easy walks from the Indigo.

Room Tip: This Inn really added to the atmosphere of walking the town.Rooms faced a courtyard and were wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for choosing The Indigo Inn to meet your lodging needs!!! We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I've never stayed "downtown" before, always stayed at cheaper hotels outside of the district. Never again! We decided to pay the money & enjoy our stay the way we've always wanted to, by staying in the heart of downtown! I picked this hotel because of the excellent reviews & also the price was lower than the rest. I'm so glad we did! This is now & will always be our "go To" hotel!.We checked in on Thursday Feb 28th and stayed until Sunday March 3rd. From the second we checked in we could not find anything wrong! Our room was excellent. We had two friends w/ us so we got to see their room & it was just as clean & well done as ours. The breakfast was very good, from bacon, ham,eggs, sausage biscuits to fruit beagels ect. The wine & cheese in the afternoon was a good snack. The front desk employees all the way to the housekeepers were excellent. This hotel is right in the heart of everything. I can't say how relieved & happy we were to find this place & it met all of our expectations and more. We visit Charleston 2-3 times per year and there is no other option for us now! This is the place we will be staying from now on!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa1968855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments!!! We are glad that you "made the break" to stay downtown, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing