We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay!”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed for four nights in late February as part of our holiday to the States. Our room was lovely, big king size bed yet still lots of room with comfy chairs and table. The bathroom and dressing area were great too and very, very clean. There was a great choice with breakfast and you could take a tray back to your room, which was very close by. In the early evening we had wine and cheese which, like breakfast, you could take to your room or eat in the pretty courtyard in the centre of the hotel. All the rooms face this courtyard and not the road so it is very calm and peaceful, unusual for a hotel in the centre of town, and there were so many great places to eat within walking distance.
I would definitely recommend The Indigo Inn if you visit this beautiful city, which also has a fantastic history. Not only was it amazing value for money, it was one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann911451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Charleston and the Indigo Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    268
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
187
464
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I recently stayed here with my mom and sisters for a beautiful Charleston weekend. The location of this inn is wonderful. It is central to all of the shopping, historical sites and waterfront.
The outside of the inn is a bit bold and not very attractive. The entrance is through the parking lot and the parking and small lobby are nice. While this is a pet friendly hotel (I didn't know that when I booked it), it is clean. We didn't smell pets in our rooms.
Our room was very comfortable, the beds were nice, the furnishings were nice, the bathroom was updated and the outside courtyard was quaint and pleasant.
Because of the courtyard you can hear people enter their rooms and climb the stairs. I advise you to turn on the fan to drown out the sounds.
The continental breakfast and evening wine were very nice and enjoyable. The small lobby makes it a bit clumsy to navigate the buffet but it was fine.
Overall, this is a very nice inn. Don't expect luxury but it is definitely a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: You probably want to stay away from the elevator or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emptynestersnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful comments!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Not only is the location perfect, but the staff treated us like family! Beautiful inn, yummy breakfast and wine reception. They were so great to us and gave us the perfect recommendations of where to shop, eat, etc. I accidentally left my bag there, and they mailed it back to me! I will defintely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armsteadkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for allowing us to assist you with your vacation plans, and for your kind words regarding the staff and Inn!!! We are more than pleased that your time in Charleston was extraordinary, and we await your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed many times through the years at this quaint Inn. Comfy rooms, excellent staff, perfect location and within walking distance to many area historical attractions. A comforting Breakfast is included with your stay which you can choose to take back to your room or eat in the outdoor courtyard. Afternoon wine and cheese (and crab dip, during our stay) is a great perk as well. Parking in Charleston can be quite expensive, especially at the larger chain hotels, however at the Indigo Inn parking is a mere $12.00 per day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryrnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback; you are a valued customer. Looking forward to seeing you on a return visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Can't beat the location of the Indigo Inn. We were on foot for our whole visit and our experience was maximized by the location of the Indigo. Staff were very friendly. Outside of a dark room, we had a nice time and you will too.

Room Tip: Room 314 was dark, but convenient to elevator/stairs and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cblukens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Yes, 314 is a corner room which looks out into the hallway, and thank you for your feedback!!!
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you’re ever in the Charleston area and looking for a place to stay, you must consider the Indigo. To start...location...location...location... right in the heart of downtown. Most of us are concerned with transportation and getting around when we travel, right? Well, where this hotel is located, your mind will be put to rest. Doing a tour of the city? A rental car is nice but not necessary. Truthfully, you are doing yourself a disservice by driving and not walking the city... It's way too convenient not to walk around and get a up close and personal view of the local restaurants, cafes, shops, historic tourists attractions, cemeteries, churches, the beautiful hidden alley ways and cobblestone streets that surround the hotel and if that's doesn't sound desirable, the hotel sits on the free trolley line around the city.
Now back to the hotel...it has a Old English vibe to it, my room was adorable and felt like home. I can go on about the courtyard, its gardens and fountains, but I won't, you just have to see it for yourself. The breakfast, evening wine and cheese and endless beverages was very much appreciated, this seem to make the guest quite happy. But the best part for me was the staff and their customer service...IT WAS EXCEPTIONAL!!! It's been proven over and over again that without quality customer service a business cannot sustain, even if you served 3 meals a day. I can describe this place in two words...PEOPLE FIRST...and Indigo did just that.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your myriad experiences about Charleston and the Indigo Inn with us; you are too kind with your words. It sounds like you had a wonderful time in Charleston, and at the Indigo, and we hope that you would consider a repeat visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Indigo Inn at least six times and it never fails to please us. We love it all...the location, the well appointed rooms, breakfast, pre-dinner wine and cheese, the friendly staff...it fits us like a glove and we can only look forward to even more visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emactheadmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
And we love your pleasant personalities and seeing your smiling faces. We look forward to your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing