We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We found this hotel by accident; but what a wonderful find. Location is perfect for a zip over to the main market or any number of shops and first class dining experiences in downtown Charleston.
The free breakfast was wonderful. We especially liked the wine, cheese, crackers and pickles served every evening, complimentary of course. 100% chance we would stay there again!

Arlo Knutsen, Browns Mills NJ

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are pleased that you found the Indigo Inn!!! We value your loyalty, and appreciate the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    272
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
191
470
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Doing a college tour of South Carolina and had so many choices of where to stay over Thanksgiving holiday. All we really needed was a roof over our heads near the various colleges. We stayed at this hotel as it was, primarily, close to College of Charleston. What a lovely spot. Very quiet, very quaint and very accessible to all of Charleston, not just the college. There is a basic breakfast and wine & cheese nibble in the afternoon. Our room did not have a bathtub but otherwise, was very well appointed. Upscale linens and upholstery. Smallish room but not a problem as your out and about all day and evening. Apparently, the best foodie restaurant (Fig) is next door but it was closed during our stay so, maybe next time! Have to say that traveling during low season is awesome--inexpensive and easy room rsvns.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpal4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your comments!!! We are pleased that you found our accommodations suitable to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Loved this bed and breakfast... great location, beautiful rooms and a daily wine and cheese hour....a great find in the beautiful city of Charleston.....The location proved to be the best benefit of all

Room Tip: Only has 3 king beds... rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Indigo Inn!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! Staff was helpful and service was flawless. Enjoyed wine and cheese in the eclectic lobby. Courtyard was charming and serene. Room was up to date and comfortable. Breakfast was first rate. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sanibel_sadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write!!! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The Indigo Inn is a very good value with a very good location in Charleston. Strengths: location, very reasonable rates for Charleston, easy parking, friendly staff. Our room was very small and kind of dark, but nicely updated. The shower was very nice. We had a first floor room near the front desk and vending and we were initially concerned that it might be noisy, but that was never a problem. We did choose to keep the windows covered though, with all of the foot traffic right outside our windows, and that made a small room seem smaller. The free breakfast was well above average, and the easy on-site parking was great. We mostly walked around town, but we did drive out to see plantations, and there was a space for us when we came back. Since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyhow, and the courtyard was very pleasant, I thought the Indigo Inn was a great value in a city where you can spend a lot more money on hotel rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nestled at the intersection of Maiden Lane and the famous Meeting Street in the heart of Old Charleston this boutique hotel is truly a hidden jewel. All rooms (three floors of about a dozen rooms per floor) look out onto a lovely courtyard, away from city traffic, yet only steps to the famous market, top-notch restaurants, the French Quarter and within walking distance of the Fort Sumter museum and boat boarding facility. Buffet breakfast as well as evening wine and cheese, are sumptuous and tastefully presented. Guests may dine in the privacy of their room or in the courtyard. Park you car (fee) safely steps from the front door, never to return until you depart Charleston.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room, insuring that it is not in the hidden corner that does not look out into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stingaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Charleston and the Indigo Inn!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Indigo Inn was a great find for our 4 night visit to Charleston. The inn offers charming, affordable B-and-B type luxury in the heart of the historic downtown, just a couple short blocks from the Market, yet extremely quiet. Our room on the 3nd floor was nicely appointed, featuring a most comfortable (high) king bed, and beautifully upholstered matching chairs. Service is impeccable throughout, from the cordial front desk staff to the efficient yet unobtrusive housekeeping. The daily complimentary breakfast and evening wine & cheese in the beautiful courtyard is a nice touch and a offers a chance to meet your fellow travelers. The location could not be better, a leisurely walk to waterfront park, or boutique shopping along King St, or to view historic homes along Tradd St and the Battery. There are many casual and fine restaurants within a couple blocks of the Inn. And the free CARTA trolley/bus, which affords access to just about any place of interest on the peninsula, has a stop just a block away. I highly recommend Indigo Inn for anyone traveling to Charleston.

Room Tip: Each room is uniquely furnished, and all surround the beautiful courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyupstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your kind and thorough review of Charleston and the Indigo Inn, and for your recommendation!!! We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
925 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing