We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location! Great place to stay!”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I were on an impromptu road trip with our dog and luckily found this gem! Not only is it dog friendly, but affordable and in an amazing location. Once you park your car - you can walk everywhere. Have a dog? Definitely try to plan in advance since there are only 4 pet-friendly rooms. (I think we just got lucky!). We stayed in 101 the first night and it was clean and comfortable with a queen size bed. Night two - we stayed in 102 - two queens, a bit more snug, but fine overall. The bathrooms are a bit smaller than I'm used to - but everything else makes up for it. Oh and did I mention - free wine and cheese at night?! Do yourself a favor and stay here a couple nights!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieCHume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your glowing report and your recommendation, JackieCHume. See you all again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

This charming hotel in the heart of the historic district was a great place to stay during Christmas week. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the parking area was conveniently located right in front of the hotel, and the rooms were comfortable and well designed.
We especially appreciated the variety of healthy choices offered at breakfast and the wine and cheese hour in the afternoons.

Room Tip: Third floor room was very quiet. The ac/heating unit was a little loud when cycling on and off, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsgoGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for the review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stopped for one night on our way to Virginia. The lobby is a bit small but welcoming. The staff were very warm and accommodating. We were set up in room 107 for the night. From the furniture to the linens, the entire room was like looking at a Southern Living magazine. The facility is a small boutique hotel with maybe 20 rooms. Courtyard is very well manicured with many personal touches throughout. Hot breakfast is included in the lobby each morning. The morning we were there they had ham and egg and cheese croissants as well as the usual continental breakfast items. Reminded me of New Orleans with the old buildings and gas lit lamps, minus Bourbon Street noise, drunks and smell.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at the Indigo inn ten years ago or so and while visiting Charleston wanted to visit again. We stayed one night at the Meeting house inn and our second night here. Both inns were nice, different in some ways but the same in the important ways. Both had pretty rooms with comfortable beds, both had nice courtyards and nice staff. The gathering place for the wine and cheese hour was much smaller at the Indigo but the warmth of the staff and the yummy offerings made up for the smallness.
The Indigo inn was as I remembered it and I was pleased to find it just as nice as the last time I visited. I will visit here again if I return to Charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainehatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and we hope that you will be able to return to Charleston soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We hadn’t booked an hotel in Charleston and drove around the historic district looking for a nice place to stay. We made a bad decision and booked Days Inn, it was AWFUL so we booked out immediately the following morning and were delighted to find Indigo Inn. What a difference!! It could not have been more diverse! Instead of the shabby and dirty room at Days Inn, we had a delightful and very clean room with plush comfort. The staff were amongst the nicest during our 3 week and 1,050 mile trek down the Outer Banks and into Charleston before our flight back to the UK. Nothing was too much trouble. Indigo Inn was one of our most comfortable stays and was perfectly located to enjoy the delights of Historic Charleston.

The Inn offered complimentary wine and nibbles between 5-7pm in the lobby, where you can meet other guests and swap ideas of places to visit. Also the Inn offers a small selection of goodies as a complimentary breakfast, which was plenty to set us on our way in the mornings. We are both very happy to recommend this hotel as a great place to stay in the historic area of Charleston. Good parking available at the Hotel too, which was a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit in America, your stay in Charleston and at the Indigo Inn. Thank you for sharing your experiences along the way with us, and for the recommendation. If you ever return to Charleston, our door is open to you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have traveled to Charleston many times and I have stayed at numerous hotels within a few blocks from Indigo Inn. This hotel is amazing! The staff was excellent and the location is perfect. And to top it off I was allowed to bring my St. Bernard with me and they made sure she was comfortable as well. And last but not least, you cannot beat the price for this hotel. I totally recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with or without their pet dog.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlg1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Brandy was a real gem; what a wonderful companion!!! Thank you for allowing us to meet your and your dog's lodging needs while in Charleston, and for your recommendation. We look forward to future visits from you two.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had been told by a travel agent that prices at downtown hotels in Charleston are out of sight, so we'd decided to settle for a suburban spot. As the date of our visit neared, I continued to go online and see what I could find. That's when I found The Indigo Inn. We are SO glad we found it! It's been a lovely spot for our three-night stay here in Charleston! we were able to walk or ride bikes to many sites and neighborhoods in the city.
Our 2 double bed room is roomy. It is very attractive, the bedding, carpet, furniture, and decor are all high quality.
All of the rooms open onto a center courtyard. There are lovely plantings and water features in the courtyard, as well as patio furniture.
A hunter's breakfast is offered in the small lobby each morning, Guests are welcome to sit in the lobby or take their food to their room or to the courtyard (weather-permitting).
Wine and appetizers are offered in the lobby from 5-6 each afternoon, allowing guests a chance to gather. Water and tea are available at all times in the lobby.
The staff is willing to offer suggestions for tours and restaurants, making reservations for guests as well.
Park is $12 a day, and the lot is right outside of the lobby, so it is very convenient to access one's car during the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredandlovingit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

And we are equally as happy that you found the Indigo Inn, and that you enjoyed your stay in Charleston.
Thank you for your glowing report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £112 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing