We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back !!”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Westbrook, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back !!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our friends recommended this inn & we were so glad they did!! The staff was so helpful & made us feel like family. Loved our room, comfy bed, clean & charming. Loved the court yard & the wine & cheese social was a nice perk.. Location was perfect as we had a short walk to everything. If & when we go again, we will be staying at the Indigo Inn. Happy happy !! We stayed in Hilton Head & Savannah after leaving there & we both agreed ,the Indigo was our favorite stay...

Room Tip: We were located by the court yard & hearing the fountain lulled us to sleep. We thought it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Bibi1515!!! We can't wait to see you again when you are visiting Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    272
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
191
470
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had such a good time. First, the location is excellent--within short walking distance of anything you'd want to do downtown--the market, carriage tours, restaurants, etc. The on-site parking is very convenient and we enjoyed the refreshments offered each evening. Our room on the second level was clean and comfortable--we loved the peacefulness of the courtyard. Can't wait to visit Charleston again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, Shannon203, and hope to see you again real soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were so pleased with our choice of the Indigo Inn in Charleston! We checked in just in time to enjoy wine and cheese in the lobby which is a daily event. The lobby is not large but all of the staff and guests were so friendly. It is nice to chat with others and see welcoming faces when you arrive in a new city. We chose a ground floor room and loved being able to access our room so readily via the courtyard, with its' charming fountain and foilage. Our room was lovely, and comfortable. I don't know why so many people complain about noise. Must be light sleepers! We slept so very well and were then very pleased with the breakfast offering (in the lobby due to weather). It included all of the standard fare but also some delicious homemade breads. The Indigo Inn is easy to find, and very best of all, has great parking. The location is within walking distance of the major downtown attractions including the City Market and the many great restaurants and shops. We will return !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
We are pleased that you chose to stay at the Indigo Inn, Fayser, and that you were comfortable mingling with other guests!!! We look forward to future visits, and hopefully, the weather will be warm enough for you to enjoy the courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callahan, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for one night. Very clean. Extremely comfortable beds. The afternoon wine and cheese were an added surprise. Walking distance too all downtown shops and restaurants. Will stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nannagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you, Nannagirl.. We look forward to seeing you agin!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife stayed at the Indigo Inn while in Charleston for an event. Years ago, my parents would stay at the hotel while all us kids attended college in Charleston. It was always a great location and had friendly staff. Twenty years later it still a great place to stay and the price was great for downtown. The benefit of a now chain hotel is our room was ready at noon and we were able to park the car for the day while touring the city. The rooms are elegant and the staff as friendly today as they were in the past.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors and if needed the king beds are huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
We are honored, Matt M, that your memories of the Indigo Inn are met with the same enthusiasm that you experienced on your most recent stay!!! Thank you for sharing with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This inn has an excellent location within walking distance to historic areas, restaurants and shopping. It is an unusual layout, having been converted from a warehouse, with a central courtyard and exterior hallways. The courtyard is probably very lovely for breakfast and cocktails (see below) during good weather. Unfortunately, the temperatures hovered around freezing one of our days there and was pretty cold the next. This meant that the small lobby was quite crowded for the complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese served daily, but this made for a social atmosphere. Other hotels close by are more expensive. Parking is available in an open lot right in front of the hotel for $12 a day. The staff at the front desk was helpful and polite. The room had an Asian flair with chinoiserie printed wallpaper (in good condition) and some Asian- inspired chests and lamps. The bathroom could use an update (old formica countertops and tile), however it was nice to have the sink area separate from the tub/toilet. The sink area was well-lit with lots of counter space, while the tub area was dim and very small. The toiletries were high quality.

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd) is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyvoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
It is unfortunate that due to inclement weather you were not able to avail yourselves to the lovely courtyard, phillyvoyagers!!! We appreciate your candid comments, and are working on updating the bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
242 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is an interesting property, with good rooms and location. The bed was comfortable, the hotel quiet despite being in the middle of the city. The shower wasn't brilliant and the breakfast was disappointing - there was a small selection of food in reception. The staff were very friendly and helpful though and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback, happygirl20!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
925 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing