We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a luxury hotel, but not a luxury price with good location”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Not a luxury hotel, but not a luxury price with good location”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel has some great things going for it, and some not so great things. Here's all the information so you can decide. It's billed as a luxury hotel, but it's not. It is priced very reasonably, however, so that's a reasonable trade-off. The room we has was spacious, overlooked the parking lot (no big deal as you could see the homes in the neighborhood at a distance). The room had a very high queen bed, a desk, a chair, flat screen TV and dresser--all reproduction old Charleston. The bathroom was divided so the sink was separate from the toilet and shower/bath. The bathroom was quite dated, counter tops were formica. Everything was in good repair, however. The worst part for me was the dirt. The room really needed a deep cleaning and the dust and built up dirt in corners and on the baseboards was really not acceptable for a hotel room. It was particularly badiin the bathroom area. The grout could have been scrubbed better. Also, the shower curtain was very light and the fan right above kept sucking it into the shower and onto your body. These small things keep this from being a luxury setting. The rooms are accessed by outdoor corridors/stairs and elevator. There is a nice courtyard and on-site parking. The hunt breakfast, which is described nowhere on the website that I could find was very nice. We were up early, but I imagine it's very crowded in the small lobby on inclement days. The breakfast was bountiful, with a variety of breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, bacon, and a hot dish. The location of this hotel is great. You are just a block to the market and right in a nice area of downtown Charleston. It's not fancy or luxury, but is nice enough and the price was good for the area. Staff were very pleasant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Eube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your extensive review of the property and of your experience, Eube; we appreciate your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    276
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
193
477
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Indigo Inn is located in a great location with easy walking distance to the Historic area, waterfront & shopping. The staff is very polite and helpful. The wine & cheese reception in the evening is a very nice addition along with the breakfast. It is served in the lobby, which is quite small, but if it's nice outside the courtyard is a very nice place to sit and enjoy. The rooms are very clean. I would not hesitate staying here again when in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miskatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your review, Miskatha, and we look forward to your future visits!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Being in a converted warehouse the rooms open up into a central courtyard. This has good and bad points. Good- hotel is very private, little street noise, open to the sky for sun. Courtyard has tables and chairs to relax. Bad- stairs and balconies surround the courtyard and are made of metal so they are very noisy when travellers come back in at 2am. Also if there's a gathering there (as there was when we were there) you definitely hear it. Our room was near the entrance office where there was some type of fan/ generator that started/ stopped every 5 minutes, going until midnight. After complaining they shut it off early but it was back on again the next night. So this hotel is definitely not for those who are early risers.

Good location near Market Street and plenty of on site parking. Rooms are small for the amount of furniture in them with 2 queen beds, 2 leather chairs, dressers etc so you had to squeeze in one side of the bed or the other. Bathrooms are good quality with separate sink/ bath areas but small ... a large person would probably have to move in the shower to close the bath door.

Morning breakfasts are good- fruit salads, coffee, egg quiche, bacon, yogurts and bagels. 5pm wine and cheese but we didn't sample this as we were out to dinner by then.

Overall, for the price you pay I would probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't be on first level near the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmobile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
I do apologize that there were noise issues in your area during your stay, zmobile1; thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st simons island, ga
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This was a group trip with my garden club, so so not know room rate. Suspect fairly reasonable.

Room are old but very clean and nicely appointed. We had 2 queens, 2 chairs, large dresser, cabinet with tv. Louvred double doors led to sink / closet area. Separate toilet/shower room.

Three floors. Rooms surround open courtyard in center of bldg. this is a lovely quiet spot to enjoy the complementary evening wine and cheese (basic but nice enuf)vans spinach sip. Also fine for breakfast (fruit, coffee, donut, hard boiled eggs).

Tiny lobby and not an attractive entrance.

Seemed a good location.

More charm than a Hampton.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, jjssi!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Indigo Inn is centrally located in the historic area. An easy walk to all restaurants and attractions.

It does have its own onsite parking area, which is a plus in the downtown area. The rooms have exterior corridors. There is a nice patio in the center where one can relax for the wine reception or breakfast.

There is an evening wine and cheese reception. Not spectacular, but nice enough.

Breakfast was average at best. It included some fruit, cereal, boiled eggs and pastries.

Our room was nice, but a bit on the noisy side. I had to wear ear plugs one night to keep the noise out. Our room was near the elevator and that was heard each time someone used it. Also there was a great deal of street noise. But the bed was comfortable and with ear plugs I slept fairly well. The room was very clean.

Compared to other inns of this type the price is very nice. But there are a few short comings as mentioned above. There's not at a great deal of luxury service for sure but its adequate enough for a budget minded stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator if you want total peace and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPC_LJC_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, DPC_LJC Travel!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My sister and I recently spent 4 nights at the Indigo Inn while visiting Charleston, and could not have been happier with our stay. We did not have a car with us, so when we were looking for a hotel to stay in, we were worried that in order to find a place close to the historic district, we would have to pay a very large amount. Somehow, we stumbled on the Indigo Inn. It is right in the middle of everywhere we wanted to be. We were so close to everything that several times during our trip we were able to walk back to the hotel and leave shopping bags, or grab a sweater. The courtyard is beautiful and seems like a quiet oasis amongst the busy city. The afternoon wine and cheese is a very nice touch, and something not to be missed. The breakfasts were the perfect amount of food for people getting ready to spend a day walking, or exploring the city. It was a very nice touch for there to be a hot option for breakfast as well as cold items like donuts or bagels. We were able to leave our bags in the lobby after we checked out, and the staff called a car to take us to the airport at the exact time we needed to go.

Before arriving at the Indigo Inn, we had made reservations over a weekend that happened to be Easter. Once I realized this mistake, I called the Inn to see if I could change it, and they had no problem whatsoever with the change. Being overly cautious, I called a few weeks before our trip to confirm that they still had the date change on file, and of course they did.

We stayed on the first floor within the courtyard in room 105. We were very close to one of the fountains, but the noise from the fountain was minimal. The only issue with the room that I had was the light from the courtyard coming in through the closed shutters, but admittedly it was my fault to not try and close the shutters in the opposite direction to see if more light was filtered out. The room was a very good size for two queen beds, and although the toilet/shower area was very small, the large sink area made up for what the toilet area lacked. The turndown service was a nice touch and made us feel like we were staying in a very fancy hotel. Probably most importantly, we were two females traveling alone, and never did we feel unsafe at the Indigo Inn.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Charleston. It is a great value, and what you get in terms of amenities is worth far far more than what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise while sleeping, it may be better to get a second or third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful and comprehensive comments, Fiona K!!! We are pleased that you felt safe, and hope to see you again on your next visit to Charleston; thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I spent three nights mid-week in Charleston. Great location - we could walk to restaurants and sightseeing. The amenities were special - afternoon wine & cheese and nice breakfasts. The room was nicely appointed. The staff was great - very attentive and helpful, w/ sprinkles of humor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Sandra G!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,760 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,825 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing