We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service and amazing location!”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I have only good things to say about the Indigo Inn. We chose the hotel based on the great location and price, and it didn't disappoint on either count. Situated in downtown Charleston, the hotel is an easy walk to every busy street, which was perfect for two people who didn't know the city. I visited with a friend so we we're looking for culture, good food and fun bars, and this was all easy to find.

The staff were super friendly and so helpful - they booked taxis, tours, and checked us in online for our departing flight. They were all on hand to offer suggestions of how to spend our visit, as well as giving basic advice.

We loved our room and all the amenities were great too - given that we were on a student budget, we were impressed by what we had!

One favourite element was definitely wine and cheese hour, which is a lovely touch, and gives the inn a nice, friendly feel. It's a small space, which we really loved.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your assessment of Charleston and the Indigo Inn. You both were gracious guests and your excitement of exploring the area was infectious!!! We hope to see you again on your next trip to America.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Indigo Inn is a great place to stay. It is very quiet and comfortable. The beds are just right, they have many lamps so you can read while the people you're sharing room with can sleep, the level of cleanness is something to thank for, the service is impeccable and the little fountain in the central patio is a wonderful place to sit by and read a book. Breakfast is vast and caters for all tastes. My boyfriend and I loved it. Would definitely stay there if I went back to Charleston,

Room Tip: Whatever you ask for, you'll get. The staff really cares for you. We did not really ask for any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you, Claudia J, for your recommendation!!! We are grateful that you found the Indigo Inn comfortable in different areas, that the food was ample, and that your room was clean and appealing. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I do a bunch of traveling. When I stay in NYC I expect modern and fast paced, Paris-love to smell the bread being baked next door, Florida a view of the beach and when in Charleston....I want charming and clean. Besides that you get friendly and helpful as well as wine & cheese in the courtyard at 5:00 daily. I would recommend it and stay there again. Understand, its not a posh hotel...its a charming inn!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThewolsonLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you, ThewolsonLI, for your review of the Indigo Inn!!! We are appreciate that you recognize the charming ambience, and look forward to being able to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Indigo Inn is a hidden gem. Recently visited Charleston with a fellow retired educator. After contacting several hotels in the historic area we were at the end of our rope. Stopped in the Indigo Inn's parking lot to Google hotels in the Historic District. We realized that we were looking at a hotel. Ran in and asked if they had a room. They even took us to look at the available room. It was charming, quiet, cool, and very comfortable. Jerrica, Lorenzo, and the rest of the staff were wonderful!!!!!!!!!!. They made recommendations for dining and activities. and booked any needed reservations. They were spot on with ALL of their recommendations. Breakfast and Happy Hour were fantastic. Will stay again and will strongly recommend it to any one who will listen. Connie

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoLions1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We are pleased that you found the Indigo Inn, Connie. Thank you for the kudos and the recommendation. Our staff aims to please and will appreciate knowing that were of help to you.
Until next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On a no kids vacation we stayed at the Indigo Inn based on some Trip advisor reviews. It was just as advertised. The front desk staff was great and gave super meal and activity suggestions. The rooms were spacious and well kept (the bathroom is a bit small). The breakfast is more than plenty to start your day and always had a hot dish. Each evening was a wine and cheese reception. The AAA price for a King room can't be beat. We were within walking distance to everything and a free trolley stop. The courtyard is quaint and a great place to eat breakfast or just relax.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, Wendy K!!! We hope to see you on a return visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

this hotel has friendly staff, charming lobby and rooms; beautiful hidden courtyard with ample seating to enjoy plants, flowers and fountain and talk about our trip; queen room was very comfortable, sofa for seating, clean and nicely decorated; our bed was turned down with chocolate left for us; cocktail hour - lemonade, tea, wine, fruit and cheese, as well as crab dip available each afternoon; enjoyed relaxing in courtyard after exploring city; location of hotel is convenient to King St shopping, exploring architecture of Charleston and a lot of wonderful restaurants nearby; breakfast was also included with our stay - scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, yogurt and cereal, as well as juice and coffee were provided. Rather than take to our room, we enjoyed our morning meal in the beautiful courtyard. An extra fee required for parking but we paid it to have guaranteed parking if we decided to do any driving during our stay. It was worth it. This hotel is a fabulous value and a hidden gem! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: our room on 2nd floor corner was quiet, overlooked parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pammieannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you, Pamela L, for your review of the Indigo Inn's atmosphere and amenities, and of Charleston!!! We are pleased that you enjoyed the courtyard at different times of the day, and we look forward to your next visit when you visit Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Indigo Inn was absolutely fantastic. Every staff member we met was friendlier than the next. We arrived before check-in and the folks at the front desk offered to watched our bags and gave us tons of sightseeing tips and recommendations. They had fantastic tips and directed us to a hole-in-the-wall locally sourced restaurant where my husband and I had the best crepe we have ever eaten. One day, we were chatting with the front desk staff about going to a restaurant for lunch and the gentleman offered to drive us in the hotel's golf cart. Southern hospitality is alive and well.

The room was lovely and really felt like home. It had all of the amenities of a modern hotel room, with the charm of B&B. There is a very pretty courtyard in the center of all the rooms with lots of foliage and a nice fountain. We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast as well as cheese and wine that was offered daily in the early evenings. The rooms were clean and the maid service came every day; including a turn-down service, which is always a nice touch. There was coffee, iced tea, lemonade, and water available all day in the lobby, which was extremely helpful to come back to after a hot day walking around the city.

The location cannot be beat. It is right in the heart of historic Charleston, so everything is walkable. We flew in and did not rent a car, and it was no problem at all! The hotel is only about 30 minutes from the airport, so the cab ride back and forth was not too expensive (our only cab ride of the trip!) In addition to the open air market, which is basically steps away from the hotel, there was also a Farmer's Market just a few blocks away. We really enjoyed our time there and got some goodies to take home on the last day.

I highly, highly recommend the Indigo Inn to anyone who is traveling to Charleston. We were so sad to leave it, but we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the Indigo Inn, and of Charleston!!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and in Charleston. Thank you for the recommendation, and we will see you again on the next go-around!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,863 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,999 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £98 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing