We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Indigo Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Market Street Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
676
301
61
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
301
61
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesegreat locationbeautiful courtyardsmall lobbyrooms facecrackerswithin walking distancehot dishyogurthistoric districton site parkingnice breakfasthappy hourdowntown charlestonhard boiled eggstwo queen bedsafternoon wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2010

The staff was kind, courteous and very professional - they went out of their way to accommodate us. They were also more than willing to provide information about restaurants and local tours of the area. Afternoon wine and cheese as well as the continental breakfast were very nice. The rooms were just as described: clean with comfortable beds, nice bedding and antique reproductions. The location was FANTASTIC - walking distance to the market, cruise docks and many wonderful restaurants. I traveled with my teenage daughter that has health problems - the staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs for her medications and did not hesitate to provide a wheelchair for us when she became fatigued. We will definitely be returning to the Indigo Inn - hopefully in the near future!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

3 stories of small but adequate rooms surround a pleasent coutyard where tables and chairs are scattered among plants and a fountain. This is a nice place to eat the Indigo's very nice breakfast of ham & cheese bisquits, ham & cheese croissants, sweet rolls, muffins, fresh fruit, juice, coffee with half-and-half etc. Be sure to bring something to throw on in the morning so you can go grab breakfast. The Indigo has wine and cheese on that same table in the lobby in the evening, as well as mixers. There are always pitchers of lemonade and delicious icewater there and we drank the heck out of it. This inn is well located and well appointed. I'm a reader, so I really liked the reading lamps (75-100-150 3 way bulb!) on both sides of the bed. In fact the lamps and the half-n-half ensured that I'll always come back. Also, the shower had great water pressure and the plumbing all worked fine. The price isn't bad either.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannyrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We stayed at the Indigo Inn based on the fact they were dog friendly - to ur surprise it was a most enjoyable stay. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable, and they had wine and cheese/shrimp etc. in the evening and a very nice continental breakfast.

Charleston was cold so we did not get to sit in the beatiful courtyard. Spring/Summer/Fall would be the best time to stay here.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank jburns33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We are visiting from the UK.

I don't give out an excellent marking very often, but our stay here for two nights at the Indigo has been just that. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Our room, with two very comfortable queen beds, was clean and tidy, not overly spacious, BUT much bigger than what I expected for a city hotel, compared with what we get in UK city hotels . Heating in our room was good and very responsive

The staff are VERY friendly and VERY helpful. What more can you ask?

The breakfast buffet and evening wine and cheese are a bonus . DON'T expect 5 star quisine, it's NOT ! And it's NEVER advertised as such. But that which is provided (FOC) is in my opinion, VERY good fayre and MORE than acceptable! It is VERY well done .

I can't believe one negative review that I have read in which the writer moans "he prefers crisp and contemporary" He moans about the hotel is not solo friendly. He moans about Charleston being twee and offensive.

Well let me put the record straight. We have really enjoyed Charleston. Don't come to Indigo hotel expecting "CRISP AND CONTEMPORARY". it's not, and it is NOT advertised as so. So WHY MOAN about it? For heavens sake, READ the hotels literature BEFORE you stay there, It advertises as "rooms decorated in antique reproductions and period correct fabrics." And it is EXACTLY that ! And very well done so too.

What the heck is a review doing on here moaning about "A hotel is NOT solo FRIENDLY"?

What the heck is a review of a hotel doing on here moaning about "Charleston being twee and offensive"?

I suggest in future, that the particular reviewer , reviews hotels he goes to in advance, reads EXACTLY what the hotel describes is on offer, and then, and only then , write poor reviews if the hotel doesn't live up to that standard.

IMHO (in my humble opinion), Indigo bettered my expectations, and we had a lovely time there. And for what it's worth, we thought Charleston was exactly what we expected of it.

Despite freak weather for January, we had a great time !

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

All the rooms in this 3 story inn look out into central courtyard with lovely plantings, fountains, and tables/chairs. This area is where one brings buffet breakfast to eat, and enjoy cocktail hour (with munchies) every evening. A civilized place to start the day, or wind it down.

The rooms (not huge) are nicely appointed in period style, have plenty of closet/drawer space.,and are very clean. Turndown service at night, too.

The front desk staff was amazing; always friendly and helpful with directions, booking tours, restaurant recommendations (which is how we got to Cafe Cru a block away).

Dont rent a car, you can walk everywhere from here. Terrific central location! (Entrance on small side street)

Only con: maid removed 4 bath towels daily, and only left 2 (replenished after a call)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandySojourns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews