We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of everything”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #15 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Indigo Inn is a delightful place to stay. The friendliness and helpfulness of Leah, Ignatius and Brian went above and beyond. The breakfast is more than a continental breakfast, ham biscuits, hardboiled eggs, toast, bagels,cereal, yogurt,fresh fruit and good coffee.The afternoon wine and cheese, with an addtiional dip was a great appetizer before dinner. Daily newspaper and helpful advice on dining and what to see.
The rooms are lovely and immaculate. The location is a couple of blocks from The Market.
As someone else mentioned the most comfortable beds,slept better than at home.We stayed here ten days and did not have one complaint.
We were given late check out and enjoyed the reception area waiting for our taxi. There is always lemonade, water and Iced Tea and coffee available all day and evening.
We would return anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trubrit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

924 - 930 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

After reading many reviews of hotels, the one hotel that had no real negatives, was the Indigo Inn. We were SO happy to have chosen this lovely, charming place to stay. You can easily walk everywhere (and how nice to have plenty of parking right on the premises AND freshly made lemonade and tea to refresh you upon your return.) Everyone wants a clean and comfortable hotel room - ours was beyond that, because it was beautiful, too! Wonderful soap! We wished we had more time to stay, just to eat the Inn's yummy (super frest fruit!!!!) Continental breakfast in their interior garden (the website pictures don't do it justice). It's Charleston perfect! (We were out walking, so we missed their late afternoon wine and cheese.)

My 14-year old son had forgotten his black pants, and the front desk went far beyond in trying to help us find a store open at 8:15 at night!! Ignatius, at the front desk, was such a gentleman from the moment we walked in until our departure. Because of Charleston's amazing beauty and charm, we're thinking about returning during Christmastime. The romantic Indigio Inn would be the only place we would stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethandAl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My mom and I really enjoyed our stay at the Indigo Inn. It was close enough to walk to the Market and Hyman's seafood. For breakfast, there were fruits, cereals, toast, sweets, biscuts, juice and coffee. They also had wine and cheese in the afternoon, which was a nice touch. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The air conditioner worked very well, which was nice after a hot day. There is a garden courtyard area in the middle of the hotel which is perfect for sitting and reading the paper in the morning. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1987cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I spent a tremendous amount of time trying to find the right location for us to stay while in Charleston - this place was perfect!! We were greeted daily by smiling staff and we loved our 'boutique-type' room!! Parking (although it cost $10 per day) was right on-site and was very convenient. Breakfast was plentiful - more than a danish & coffee!! Biscuits, gravy, meats, yogurt, cereals, etc. along with an attentive server to ensure that all was well stocked. The wine and cheese in the pm was a nice touch but would go with lemonade instead of the wine. Courtyard was beautiful and always crowded at breakfast/wine times. There was a slight 'sewer' smell that we encountered at the bottom of the stairs but was not the same smell we had in our room. Hotel management does need to find a better room deoderizer spray because what they use makes the room smell like stale hairspray. We chose not to have maid service one day so our maid left a bag full of clean towels, soaps etc on our day - that was a really nice touch! We absolutely would stay here again and have told many of our friends to book this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tybeewannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at the Indigo Inn for the July 4th weekend and were super happy with the hotel. It was extremely comfortable, clean, quiet and cozy. The unlimited ice cold lemonade, tea and water was refreshing after our outings. The five o'clock cheese and wine was fantastic as well. The hotel is CLOSE to everything...just a short stroll down the road you will find yourself at the resteraunts, carriage ride outfitters, and shopping.
The rooms were clean and cozy. They aren't enormous, but who's sitting around in a hotel room when your in historic Charleston?? The beds were the best beds we have ever slept on in a hotel. They were so comfortable that I asked who made them. Brian at the front dest told me they were from a local company. The breakfast was outstanding, more than what you get from most places. Everything was fresh and the variety was great.
Overall, our stay there was perfect. I have no complaints and can't wait to return to Charleston and stay at the Indigo Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The Very Good: Small but comfortable and well appointed rooms -- Pleasant and helpful front desk staff -- Good location and easy walking distance for touring Charleston's historical area -- Excellent quality and variety for continental breakfast -- Plenty of parking. Reasonable room rate for area.
The Bad: We stayed on the 3rd floor. When we exited the elevator, we encountered a distinct sewer odor from the time we left the elevator until we got out into the open air walk to our room.
The Bottom Line: Even with the odor, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavePlaneWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is our second stay at the Indigo Inn. As before, our room was ready and clean. The staff goes out of there way to accomodate weary travelers. Great location near great restaurants and the Old Market. Delicious breakfast and cocktail hour! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,930 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 62 in Charleston
1,674 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,988 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £81 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing