We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This Inn is located near tourist attractions and great restaurants. There is parking available for a fee. Near the Market, gift shops, short drive or walk to the Aquarium and Ft. Sumpter tour. Room wasn't large, but adequate and nicely furnished. Delicious breakfast and afternoon hors'doeurves in the afternoon free of charge. Would stay there again on another visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBbigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    276
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
192
477
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I had read all the glowing reviews and thought we would be in a great location and have a lovely room with period furnishings....The location is great! The room was so disappointing.You open the door to an oversprayed scent and dirty carpeting and a stained bedspread! I didn't realize they allow pets and thought that might be reason but the desk clerk insisted it was not a pet room so I guess just smelly and dirty. There were two leather chairs that did not fit the decor that were impossible to sit in as they leaned you back uncomfortably(not upright and not recliners) so had to use a bed pillow in it to try to sit upright. And the bathroom...so tiny it could barely fit the toilet in and rubbed against the shower stall. We are not heavy but if you are at all; you won't be able to use the bathroom! Have traveled extensively in Europe so know about small quaint rooms but just can't do dirty....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I went to Charleston with a friend to site see and shop. I had received a gift certificate for the Indigo Inn (some friends had raved about it and go there quite often). I thought it was a nice cozy place, the staff was very friendly and the location is great if you are looking to explore historic Charleston. Room was clean and the continental breakfast was good enough that we didn't have to go out to eat. There is parking at the Inn, so we parked the car on the first day and didn't have use it again until we left. I would recommend this Inn to friends and stay there again if I go back to Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

What more can I add to the glowing reviews of all the other lodgers to this wonderful inn.... Lived in Charleston a number of years ago so this was an opportunity to revisit sites I had seen then. The location could not be better and the staff is very helpful.

Afternoon wine and cheese.... embelished continental breakfast and the right price make this not only pleasant but a great bargain.

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggcaiazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Very good hotel/inn - very clean, attentive and helpful staff and a good central location.
Adequate breakfast in your room or on the patio and good selection of wine and cheese during late afternoon/early evening.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryyeomans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I just completed a stay at the Indigo Inn with 9 of my oldest girlfriends. We couldn't have asked for a better "headquarters" for our trip. The rooms are lovely, clean and large. The courtyard which all the rooms face became our gathering place for breakfast (a lovely complimentary buffet) and in the late afternoon when we took a breather from sightseeing, shopping and walking. The Inn offers complimentary cold drinks, wine, cheese, fruit and a delicious crab dip. One day we even had scallops!
Centrally located, everything we wanted to do or see was located within walking distance of the Indigo Inn.
The staff could not have been more accommodating and as you might guess...ten women can be demanding! Led by Leah, the entire staff made us feel pampered and welcome. There are extraordinary restaurants within a block of the inn. Many more are located within a 10 minute walk. I highly recommend this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaya167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Charming hotel with interior courtyard and afternoon wine hosting. Old Charleston ambiance with quirky but pleasant rooms. We stayed right on the first floor street level, but they lock it up tight at night which is nice. Our room had no windows you would want to open the curtains on, but was fine, nonetheless. Older furnishings but spacious bathrooms. They take pets but none were in evidence during our stay. The desk staff was pleasant and available. Right in the heart of things, yet with easy parking in their own lot.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,758 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,137 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing