We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for Expensive Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Creekside Lands Inn
Ranked #52 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Bad for Expensive Charleston”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The photos of the creek and dock are real, but they deceived me, as I thought this would be a quiet place. The creek, dock and motel are near a busy road. I somehow had envisioned a quiet creekside out back. There is a lot ot road noise in the rooms as well. But for an inexpensive option just a few miles out of town, I had no other complaints. The room was adequate and clean. The continental breakfast included sausage and biscuits and waffles.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    132
    64
    55
    62
See reviews for
134
162
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I am from Germany and was in Charleston for business, I decided to stay at the Creekside Lands Inn. I stayed there for 3 days and absolutely loved my stay there. The rooms were very clean and well accommodated. The breakfast was great, it was my first time trying biscuits and gravy and really liked it. The staff was very delightful! Especially Palak. I loved my stayed that the Creekside Lands Inn, and would definitely stay there again next time I am in Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had children that were too tired to go on. Some went down for the night as we arrived in the daylight and others enoyed playing in the grassy area on the property and on the pier. The staff were very accomodating to assist us to order food as we could not leave with sleeping babies. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The view from the property was fabulous and though the property was on the main road it seemed quite peaceful. It was so nice to happen on this place in the time of need.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemmerer, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a budget hotel, so those of you who normally stay at the Hilton, Marriott or like hotels, don't come here, you will be disappointed. But, for those of you who don't want to spend a fortune on a place to stay, definitely consider coming here, especially if you have kids.

The grounds were very well kept. Pool was clean and the fishing/crabbing pier was awesome! Our 7 year old daughter got to catch her first ever blue crab (followed quickly by 9 more) and it was so much fun!

Staff was friendly. We are from Wyoming, and the time change was rough. We were getting to the breakfast close to 9:30 every morning. Each morning we were asked if we had gotten everything we wanted before they started to dismantle the breakfast. No complaints here.

I was impressed with the decided lack of bugs, inside and out. Was expecting to be eaten alive by mosquitos and that wasn't the case at all. I didn't even have to open the bug spray we bought; even when we ventured into the swamps.

Complaints? Really only one is, yes, towels are low quality. Room was clean. Could use some updating for sure, but for what we paid, we couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrisFamilyWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Had no issues we totally enjoyed our stay, room was nice and clean, pool was great, breakfast was a hit, and the only complaint I would give would be the fact that we were in a non-smoking room with smoking rooms above us...our neighbors that smoked should have been place in the room above us with the smoking rooms, they were smoking every time we left our room:(.. No question if we will stay there again the answer is YES!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlkcst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This motel is on the outskirts of town along a small creek. There are no resturants within walking distance. It is an older motel that needs updated. They do provide a basic breakfast of coffee, orange drink, muffins, cold cereal and a waffle maker in a very tiny lobby. Thye also provide free wireless. There is an outdoor pool. It was an ok place for an overnight stay, but I wouldn't want to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrenOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Towels like sandpaper, misquoted rates, an iced-over fridge, unhappy staff complaining to guests, and staff barging in to turn off A/C's ... pale in comparison to being threatened by an incompetent manager. The value is in decent weekly rates and location, but at what real price with a General Manager who refuses to accept comment or criticism for disrespecting privacy (knocking once AS she burst into our room to turn off the air conditioner with our child sleeping and others in towels with NO explanation or apology), changing room rates during our stay, then threatening police action to remove paying guests who simply express dissatisfaction...

It is a true shame that this creek-side, budget hotel wreaks of poor service leadership in a supposedly top-rated and Southern Hospitable city.... Owners who care may wish to ensure that management listens to guests or make a needed change. (At least put some new towels in your rooms....)

That bitter service has left a lasting impression and is the reason we will never return.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amadaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideLandsinn, Manager at Creekside Lands Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for your review.
First, let me say I do apologize for having to come into your room after knocking twice. As i stated before, it was a FIRE ISSUE due to the hotel running on half power. I was asked by the power company to shut all AC's in all of the rooms off. The safety of our guest is our first priority. This was to prevent a fire from starting. I am sorry that you feel you were treated unjustly. As far as the room rate goes, we discussed the rate increase before you extended your stay with us for an additional week. You agreed to pay the extra fee. The reason you were asked to leave is because you said yourself that you didn't know if you were staying or leaving. It was 2 pm in the after noon already and check out time was 11 am. As I stated then, i was not going to argue over the safety of all our guest and if you were unhappy with the customer service, you would should have notified us within the first week instead of the third week of your stay. As for someone "barging" into your room, it's not a usual practice on our property unless if it is for the safety of the guest. We have to take certain steps to ensure everyone is safe. I did not want to explain myself any further than I already had because there was nothing that I could have done to make you happy at that point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
234 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites North Charleston
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.6 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Lands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Lands Inn

Property: Creekside Lands Inn
Address: 2545 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29414-5326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Creekside Lands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Creekside Lands Inn in Charleston, South Carolina where you will find true Southern Hospitality. Located near historic Charleston, the Creekside Lands Inn is an intimate retreat secluded among moss draped majestic oaks and a spectacular view of Long Branch Creek, a tidal saltwater creek teeming with shrimp, blue crab and a variety of fish. The hotel has a dock which is great for crabbing and fishing. There is also a picnic area with grill and picnic tables, right by the swimming pool where you can enjoy family time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Creekside Lands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Lands Hotel Charleston
Creekside Lands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing