We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Screwed over by hotwier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
South Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Screwed over by hotwier”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel itself was so so, bed was comfy, shower was clean but.... Nothing 4here star about it. Wifi not free and no free breakfast either, Difficult location, nothing around, toofar outside of downtown, "the hood" is about a block away, hotwire says its within downtown but it is actually more than 2 andu 1/2 miles away and across a major highway. If you are going to the Cidadel its great becuase its right next door, oh and if you need a cop... thats next door too.

Hotwire refused to move us... wont be usimg them again for a while.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    389
    183
    78
    37
See reviews for
226
339
39
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel because hotels downtown were sold out and way overpriced. Was pleasantly surprised!!! The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The room was very nice and up to date. What I loved most was the rooftop lounge and the beautiful courtyard. After spending a busy day site seeing and shopping it was a pleasure to come back to the hotel and enjoy a drink at the rooftop bar and relax near one of the fire pits.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djr924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I rarely review hotels, but this one really deserves it. I have never had such caring service. From last minute reservation changes to jumping my battery dead car, they were understanding and completely helpful. I have been to Charleston many times before and while people are, in general, very helpful and friendly, this exceeded that baseline. I have also stayed at Marriott's all over the world and this was the best! I would highly recommend this hotel even though it is not directly downtown. Of note, it is only a 20-25 minute walk to downtown. I'm not sure I would have given it a chance if my conference had not been based their, but I'm so glad I did!

Room Tip: Not sure. I was given a great king sized bed on the 2nd floor. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danidef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Recent business trip to Charleston. Spent 2 nights at the Chareston Marriott. Beautiful hotel, very clean rooms, professional staff - helpful with directions/shuttle. Beautiful courtyard to sit and read.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnyisles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Sometimes, things don't go well in spite of the efforts of a few exceptional employees. While there are staff members at the front desk who care: housekeeping was unacceptable. Bathroom glasses could not be used; they were dirty with smudges and fingerprints so we brought up disposable cups from the lobby. Housekeeping failed to leave a bath mat and failed to leave coffee and tea packets on the second day of our stay. Also did not bother to finish making up the bed and left pillows and throw on a nearby chair. We had no confidence that the room was properly cleaned. The shower door came off the track at one point during a shower! The bathroom was miserably small. The food at a banquet was overcooked and dried up. It seemed to be an imposition to the waitress in the restaurant when we ordered from the menu and didn't eat from the buffet. We called to confirm that we would be arriving late; but please keep a decent room for us (we had these reservations for months). It took four room changes before we had an adequate room as per our profile. The good? Iced water in the lobby with strawberries an cucumbers is a nice welcome. Comfortable seating in a spacious lobby. Also an impressive outdoor courtyard with great seating areas. The location is fantastic for anyone visiting The Citadel. Also a convenient drive to Historic Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beluga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

this is a large box hotel with all the perks you would expect-good large comfortable rooms tho you hear hall and outside noises even on the upper floors. a $6 shuttle bus away from downtown.
nice pool, hot tub needs some work, good free parking and restuarants on site. staff very friendly and helpful--average value for money but id stay here again, the city was safe and fun to visit...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

An excellent place to stay in Charleston if you want a full service hotel. All staff are friendly and attentive; rooms are a good size, restaurant & bar in the hotel, large lobby area and outdoor patio where you can gather with friends, and a hotel shuttle bus to historic area of Charleston. Most parking is in an outdoor lot, but there is a small covered garage.

Room Tip: Best views are from room on the South side (overlooks historic Charleston) or West side (overlooks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing