We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs interior renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
madison wi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“needs interior renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Please let me say that the entire staff at this hotel are wonderful. Friendly and efficient. The hotel, however, is in dire need of redecorating. The furnishings are old and the barstools threadbare! There is a fee for the use of internet. Interestingly even the Marriott Courtyard hotels don't charge for internet. Location is convenient to the Charleston Riverdogs baseball park and a waterfront marsh area across the street. The exercise equipment is old. A new pool area is under construction but I wish the hotel would have expanded that renovation to the interior. Food is good but menu is limited and restaurant decor is outdated.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank klhMadisonWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    377
    179
    75
    36
See reviews for
220
329
38
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The food was good at the lobby bar. Breakfast was good but pricey. 37.00 for two buffets. Parking was bad so we valet. Valet was very good and fast. Rooms are small and the bathroom was a little dirty. I would stay again though. Oh bring your own pillow, theirs are horrible!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed at this Marriott for 3 nights for business. Huge mistake. Like other reviewers have noted, the lobby is beautiful but once into the room it's very disappointing. Rooms are small, have no ventilation. I went to wipe off the large windows after showering and noticed black mold above the window that is growing due to the poor ventilation. The hallways smelled awful. The hotel is not consistent with what other Marriotts offer to those with frequent stay status. The computers In the concierge lounge would not even connect to the Internet to print boarding passes. If I had to do it over again, I would probably have stayed at the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampton, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at the Charleston Marriott for 6 nights. Part of the hotel is currently under construction (they are putting in a new pool and patio area) and even though we were on the 12th floor and could look out onto the city quite well, it still was a bit messy to view the construction scene below, but that's what happens when hotels do construction. I had requested a high floor and a river view (both sides of the hotel face either the river or the city) and we got one (the high floor) but not the other (although if we looked to the south out of our window, we could see the river). I have to highly compliment the staff at the hotel as they were all very nice and accommodating to us, especially the bell-hops. Nick and Clayton especially were wonderful as they drove our group back and forth between the hotel and the historic downtown district daily/nightly in the hotel's shuttle vans and were full of good tips on where to eat and where to go while visiting the downtown area. They were very friendly and fun and everyone in our (big) group had nothing but praise for the drivers/bell-hops. I also would like to thank one of the front-desk gals (I'm sorry I don't remember her name) as she helped my husband and I in the business office when one of their printers would not work to print out our boarding passes for our flight home.
One bad thing I have to say about this motel however, is the doors to the rooms had a lot to be desired. They seemed old and did not fit snug or correctly into the door frame, thus they were hard to close and lock at times. We also did not like the lighting in our bathroom as the lightbulbs were the pale, peachy kind and putting on makeup with that lighting was frustrating each day.
We had plenty of pillows on the beds though and the rest of the room was adequate for our needs. The lobby was pretty and as I said, the staff was the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNgal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed here one night in the middle of the week at the end of January. I knew prior to booking that there were some renovations taking place (pool and patio), but that wasn't going to affect my stay. The hotel is beautiful, and so is the view across to the marina (which, is also a nice, simple, walk). I had breakfast at Sapphire, and it was delicious. The staff were all very friendly, as well. My very short stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

When we stayed at the Charleston Marriott we were treated like royalty by the staff especially Marcus Poinsett. We spent a lot of time traveling to and from different points of interest and Marcus would bend over backwards trying to get us where we wanted to go. He was always cheerful, gracious and fun. Nicholas was also very entertaining and helpful. They made our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 11Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We booked our room at the Marriott for a weekend get-away to Charleston. When we arrived at the hotel we were very please. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby was beautiful , as was the restaurant. They also had a great rooftop bar. However, when we arrived to our room an opened the door we were absolutely appalled! The room was extremely small. It was dirty and smelled of mildew. We did not feel comfortable there at all and for what we were paying there was no way we were going to stay the weekend. We called the front desk and told them our concerns and they let us check out with no charge. It seems that they spent more time and money updating the hotel and amenities than they did the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amacalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing