We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here the first weekend of June 2013. The staff was polite, the concierge perhaps the best we have met and everything was just right. The hotel's terrace bar Aqua is also nice. They play nice music. The hotel is relatively tall and the view from the rooms is good if you get the Harbor facing side.

The hotel location is about a 5-7 minute drive to the historic district. Not bad but I think for the same price you can get a historic B&B experience in the old quarters. I would recommend that if you can book in advance as these places get sold out fast.

Overall a great experience and no complains whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelllholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Great to hear your stay was excellent and service was fantastic. We pride ourselves on being excellent at customer service, so great to hear we met expectations. I would also tell you that we understand we are 5 minutes from historic district and so we price ourselves below those hotels because of the location...but we also have free parking and a wonderful pool deck that none of the historic hotels have...Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
There are newer reviews for Charleston Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and stayed here for our anniversary trip and booked it last minute due to our other hotel that we orginally booked was too far away from downtown Charleston.This was just literally a two minute drive from downtown and near the water. We got a room quickly and without annoying hassels that happen when you book at the last minute. No problems parking, had a valet who the minute we drove up opened my car door and greeted my husband I with a smile along with offering to help in any way!The staff was friendly and professional and the room was clean and comfortable! We plan to return next year for our next anniversary. Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for the comments and Happy Anniversary...I enjoy hearing about staff exceeding expectations on service and will pass on your comments about our valet/bell service to our Front Office Manager...Thank you very much and look forward to having you back next June for your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Every staff member we encountered at this hotel during our weekend stay was extremely friendly, positive, and helpful. Our request for a top floor quiet room was easily granted. The girl checking us in was super helpful with restaurant tips and even had a surprise tray of champaigne and chocolate covered fruit sent up to our room with a card congratulating us on our anniversary! They even remembered how many years I had said we were married when we checked in. Our king sized bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The shuttle to Waterfront park was so convenient and always on time. The pool looked amazing but we didn't have time during our stay to make use of it. We had the breakfast buffet Sunday morning and it was to die for. Omelets made to order, a ton of hot southern dishes ready and waiting, and a delicious assortment of fresh fruits including cherries. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again next time we go to Charleston.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunelismama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Fantastic!!!...We strive to be an excellent service hotel and your comments are exactly what I hope all our customers experience. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and Happy Anniversary!!!! Have a great summer...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I posted a review of this hotel on Jan 13, 2013 regarding a stay in May 2012. Fortunately, there have been improvements in the quality of food in the Concierge lounge and there were no incidents of dirty dishes left outside of my room when I checked in. However, to assure that my stay would go as planned I contacted the front desk manager Jerry Allen two weeks prior to my arrival. I explained the issues from my last visit and how I wanted this visit to be an improvement. Due to my Platinum Status he guaranteed that I would receive the upgrade to a balcony room facing the baseball stadium and the Ashley River. However, upon checking in May 24 there was no information on my account regarding this conversation and I was booked to a standard room. Thankfully, Rachel, the manager on duty, was able to get me a balcony room facing the Marina for the night and was able to move me to the balcony room I requested the next day. Also, when I returned on May 30 I was booked to a balcony room facing the stadium as requested. I received a corner room which had a more spacious balcony. The only negatives were the mold on the caulking in the shower (see photo) and the toilet didn't flush well unless you held down the handle. This is the same room I stayed in last year that had toilet issues. I brought this to the attention of the staff at that time. 1 year later and room 1424 has the same issue. Also, when I went to the concierge lounge for a snack upon my return I couldn't get back in the room. The battery on the key swipe died and had to be replaced. Overall, I like the location and the convenience offered by the shuttle to downtown and the car service that can be scheduled for a night on the town. I spoke with Jerry Allen on May 31 and he assured me that upon my next trip everything would go more smoothly. I'm looking forward to my next visit to Charleston possibly in September and hope those few remaining issues will be resolved.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room on the side facing the baseball stadium and the Ashley River. Preferably rooms 14...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mochajazz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your visit and your loyalty to Marriott as a Platinum Rewards member. I can assure you, we strive to be an excellent service hotel and Mr Allen (our Front Office Manager) is one of the best. Thank you for the detailed comments and I apologize for the oversight about your recent visit and the room request. We appreciate your patronage at our hotel and look forward to seeing you in September...Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Our son got married June 2 and while we didn't have the wedding at the Charleston Marriott, the entire party stayed there. And we could not have chosen a better venue.

Brittany Wright checked us in and made certain that we were accommodated in a room that included an adjoining room for entertaining friends and family. We had not ask for such an accommodation (frankly, we'd never thought of it) but Brittany understood the occasion and that we would most likely need such a room.

The entire staff at the hotel could not have been more customer friendly, a fact commented on by our entourage. Prompt, helpful, friendly: exceeded all expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kigbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and the feedback about our services & Brittany. We work hard to provide great customer service and its always great to hear the positive news about our efforts...thank you very much and I will share your experience with Brittany!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I didn't fill out my room service page correctly, but Nikita made three trips anyway to get me exactly what i wanted. He did it with a real smile. I am picky, but that didn't phase him. The kitchen staff did exactly what i wanted too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitzie1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about service from our staff member - Nik. He does an excellent job for us and I will be sure to pass on your comments. Thank you very much and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here four nights and had two rooms over the Memorial Day holiday. The entire staff was very friendly during the entire stay. The front desk clerk, I believe her name was Mara, that checked us in was very friendly and helpful being our first time to Charleston. The hotel is located downtown along the bay next to the baseball stadium. It is a very short drive to most points of interest in the historic district...there is plenty of parking places around the city as we preferred driving ourselves around instead of taking the shuttle. We had the breakfast buffet most mornings which was good and had plenty of choices. The serving staff was very friendly. The rooftop bar was great for a drink after a long day or a nightcap. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I found that some of the things that other reviewers complained about not to be so. I would stay here again the next time I go to Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68ScottG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit to Charleston and our hotel. I appreciate the kind words about our service and will pass on to Marra in our Front Office. Have a wonderful summer and hope to see you again in the future...thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
1.6 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £141 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing