We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a wedding party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Puebla, MX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place for a wedding party”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Charleston Marriott for a wedding between Christmas and New Years. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The location is convenient to downtown but not right in downtown. There is a shuttle service that will take you to one stop near the waterfront park and a trolley that come by during the day.
The restaurant and bar were very comfortable and we ate several meals and visited the bar both evenings while we were there. There was a nice patio and pool area that were being used by many of the guests, although it was too cold for me.
The staff was nice and accommodating.
The one negative for me was that our room was clean but looked as though it could use a good thorough "spring cleaning" of the carpets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-Puebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    390
    188
    80
    37
See reviews for
232
349
40
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here at the end of December 2013 for one night. The hotel itself gives off a good first impression. Large hallways, feels very grand and luxurious.. but the room is a different story. Size is average, but there is a general 'plastic-y' feel about everything in the room including bathroom. Mismatching wall paper, and the feel in the room does not match the price.

Location isn't bad if you have a car. Pretty view out of the bedroom window from the 7th floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Didn't know whether I was at the Motel 6 in Daytona Beach on Spring break or the Marriott in Charleston. Maids were shouting, banging doors, laughing and we even had one barge into our room after checking in and we were taking a nap. Never seen anything quite like it in over 2,000 nights of Marriott stays. In addition room room was smelled musty. Hope you do not experience the same!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boylouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little older - but nice enough. The room was spacious - but it was a corner room so I am not sure about the other rooms. Concierge suite is nice and included scrambled eggs and bacon. Honor bar for drinks in the evening. Rates were very reasonable. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank managewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a very short drive from downtown. Great location. Hotel was very clean and well kept. Room were spacious and comfortable. We chose to eat breakfast the last morning of our stay. The food was alright but the service was terrible. We will stay again but will not eat here for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Customer service was good, but the rooms are getting dated. I was excited to get a room with a view of the harbor, but couldn't see anything because our windows were covered with film and dripping with condensation so much the curtains were stained and wet. Bathroom was WAY too small...one person at a time to even brush teeth. We were a few rooms down from elevator, and heard it go up and down all night long. Location is also not the best. Linens were nice, but I will choose another hotel to stay in next time were in town!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 931deniser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

2 night stay for an educational seminar. Facilities & service were very good. Ideal for conferences, meetings, training sessions. I would choose one of the many Inn's in Charleston if the visit were personal/vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing