We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay on Lockwood overlooking the river.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay on Lockwood overlooking the river.”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked a king room for 1 night's stay on January 11th. First time at this hotel just in to Charleston for a Birthday dinner. The Lobby is lovely, spacious, and impressive. Front desk personnel were eager to please and informed us of covered parking in the back which came in handy as the rain was coming.
Our room was clean, up-to-date and quiet. There was a small bit of mildew in the grout near the floor of the shower but, seriously not enough to be an issue. Many hotels are now putting a comforter on the bed and for us, that is just too much. That was the case here so we upped the temp on the heater and slept with only the sheet. The heater turned off with a fairly loud bang each time the temp was reached which disturbed hubster. Not a problem for just one night, but I could see that it would be a big problem if you were staying longer. Bring earplugs just in case.
Really surprised that upscale Marriott would require you to pay $3 for the bottle of water in the bathroom and that wifi was only available for an additional fee. The wifi fee was noted when we booked though, and the water had an easy-to-see tag so no one should claim ignorance.
Did not feel this location was convenient to the historical district. You will need to drive, and then find and pay for additional parking, if you want to get to the market area which we did for dinner. There is a nice restaurant on the premises, Saphire, which also serves a good, though somewhat overpriced breakfast.
Really pleased with Marriott's "LOOK NO FURTHER" program. I booked directly with Marriott asking for the best rate and when I mentioned that I could get a better rate on the same room thru Orbitz, Kenneth in reservations was very helpful with instructions on how to file a claim with the look no further program which gives you the other website's rate plus and additional $25 off. This made The Marriott the best value for an upscale room we've ever encountered in Charleston. And we visit at least twice a year. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: King room 1206 is away from the elevators. Bring earplugs in case room heater is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropiGal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    381
    180
    76
    36
See reviews for
222
332
39
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights for a conference. Everything was wonderful and the staff was accommodating. Anything I needed I felt like I could ask. Each time I requested something the staff was on top of it and went above and beyond to accommodate me.Great shuttle service to the historical district.... Way cheaper than taxi rides! Very comfy beds and clean rooms.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevsters1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Bermuda
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very convenient to the Historical District. Very comfortable. The staff were awesome. Very accommodating and very friendly. Matthew on the Front Desk was excellent. Very helpful and assisted with recommending and making restaurant reservation at Fleet Landing which was fantastic. Great price for the loczation

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdachrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary in Charleston, SC. Our stay at Marriott Charleston was wonderful. We found the hotel staff very courteous and helpful. A special thanks to Mr Rory for making our celebration extra special!!

A. Mehta

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for a NYE wedding and when we walked into the hotel, we were so impressed at the grand entrance. It was decorated nicely for the holidays and appeared to be on the more luxurious side.

The rooms were a disappointment. The room, especially the bathroom, was TINY. I am about 5'1" and I could reach the bathroom door with my legs if sitting on the toilet. The room was very stuffy- my husband explained the air as "stagnant". We tried running the bathroom exhaust, tried lighting a candle, nothing worked. And it did remotely smell of cigarettes.

The room service and restaurant was delicious and the people were very courteous. It did appear to be clean but I just think the hotel is due for a few upgrades. We paid a ton of money (though keep in mind it was NYE) but I've stayed in bigger cities, in much nicer hotels for a lot less than we spent

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1pickymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla, MX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Charleston Marriott for a wedding between Christmas and New Years. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The location is convenient to downtown but not right in downtown. There is a shuttle service that will take you to one stop near the waterfront park and a trolley that come by during the day.
The restaurant and bar were very comfortable and we ate several meals and visited the bar both evenings while we were there. There was a nice patio and pool area that were being used by many of the guests, although it was too cold for me.
The staff was nice and accommodating.
The one negative for me was that our room was clean but looked as though it could use a good thorough "spring cleaning" of the carpets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-Puebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here at the end of December 2013 for one night. The hotel itself gives off a good first impression. Large hallways, feels very grand and luxurious.. but the room is a different story. Size is average, but there is a general 'plastic-y' feel about everything in the room including bathroom. Mismatching wall paper, and the feel in the room does not match the price.

Location isn't bad if you have a car. Pretty view out of the bedroom window from the 7th floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing