We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice clean older property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
244 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice clean older property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three nights with my wife while in town for casual business meetings. You can't walk to the historic area and the trolley failed to show but cab fare was $10. Everyone on staff very friendly. Very clean facility. Next to Citadel and Riverdogs ballpark. Great park adjacent to Citadel to walk or bike thru.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bdcdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott. Our location being minutes away from Downtown Charleston makes it a convenient location yet more of a peaceful experience away from the hustle and bustle downtown sometimes can be. I hope you return to the Marriott soon where we can pamper you once again.

Sincerely
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    373
    176
    75
    36
See reviews for
218
328
38
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Once again my husband & I returned to the Charleston Marriott for our vacation & it absolutely never ceases to amaze us how awesome this hotel is!!!!! Front Office Manager Jere Allen & his staff knows exactly how to make their patrons feel like royalty. From check-in to check-out, nothing but professional, courteous, attentative, thorough & efficient. This place is absolutely consistently amazing & my husband & I will be forever grateful for the cherished memories they help us create year after year!!!!!! Thank you Jere, you & your staff are TOP NOTCH!!!!!!!!

Scottie & Janie Shipley
Greensboro, NC

Room Tip: The concierge floor is always the ONLY floor to stay on!!!!! Best view & the concierge room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Charleston Marriott. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our Front Office Manager Jere Allen and our staff and for your kind compliments. I will share your feedback at our next staff meeting for all to hear and that their efforts do not go unnoticed. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our room was awesome! We were on the 9th floor and could watch the July 4th fireworks from our window. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would forego the $10/day parking and do it yourself for free. Pool area was very nice. All in all we had an wonderful experience, but we always do at a Marriott!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and sharing your experience with fellow travelers online. It is great to hear that you, like so many others, were satisfied with your room and am glad you could enjoy the fireworks! I hope we do have another chance in the future to welcoming you back and serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiram, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel is very nice. The room was a good size and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great and the price was not bad. The roof top lounge was wonderful with a view of the sun setting over the pier. This hotel is close enough to downtown without have the congestion of being downtown. The only negative is that the view from our room was of the air conditioners on the roof.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the second floor that have a view of the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaPeachForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and your gracious feedback. I am glad you found the hotel clean, comfortable, up to date and its convenient location to Downtown Charleston. All of these dynamics with wonderful hotel staff makes us the hotel of choice when in Charleston. Thank you again for choosing the Marriott and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Quite, good size room, very clean, close to downtown but not in the middle of it. Great outdoor sitting area for a.m. Coffee. Enjoyed all. Breakfast was 15.00 for buffet and food was great and they would make waffles or omlet

Room Tip: Would stay again. Room overlooked pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations.Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charleston Marriott.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent hotel - great location in the city, decent pool and gym, excellent concierge lounge, and surprisingly enough - great on-site restaurant as well...
Pros - great location, easy parking to include valet, starbucks served on site, great local selection of food at the restaurant, kids liked the pool and jacuzzi, great location to see 4th of July fireworks from the River Dogs baseball stadium, friendly folks all the way around to include Jeanne at the concierge lounge on the 14th floor, as well as the diversified and international friendly and exotic looking staff of workers from the CIS (Russia, etc...) sprinkled throughout the hotel...nice little pig roast buffet on the 4th was a nice touch too...close to all the downtown locations..east bay street, market street, etc...aquarium, restaurants like Magnolia's and the Glass Onion...
Cons - hotel seemed older than what i'm used to but they had noticeable upgrades from the bottom up to include all the floors, hallways, etc...

I'll be back...we'll be back...

Room Tip: Get a high floor room facing Charleston...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott. We have so much to offer to our guests at the hotel from our award-winning Saffire Restaurant featuring seasonally inspired menus of the highest quality food, to the Aqua Terrace Roof-Top Bar offering magnificent views and sunsets. Our location being minutes away from Downtown Charleston makes it a convenient location yet more of a peaceful experience away from the hustle and bustle downtown sometimes can be. I hope you return to the Marriott soon where we can pamper you once again.

Sincerely
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Love this location, friendly professional staff, beautiful public spaces. You can't beat happy hour on the 3rd floor terrace. WOW, what a divine experience sipping a margarita with a good book and enjoying the sunset breezes. Carpet and wallpaper a little tired in the guest room but overall a very nice space.

Room Tip: Request high floor to maximize view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Room had usual policy requesting towels be hung if reuse is planned. I did so but they were removed and replaced anyway.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your visit...Our Aqua Terrace is a great spot this time of year. Thank you for sharing your experience and hope to see you again in the future...We have full refresh of our property planned to begin in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing