We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Great Locations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Buckhead, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great Locations”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My experience at this Marriott was great. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Only downside was the mattress was hard. But the room was beautiful as well as the entire hotel. I like that they offered a shuttle for $6.00 that takes you to downtown and bring you back. and the breakfast is to die for

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Classy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and your gracious feedback. I am glad you found the hotel clean, comfortable, up to date and its convenient location to Downtown Charleston. All of these dynamics with wonderful hotel staff makes us the hotel of choice when in Charleston. Thank you again for choosing the Marriott and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    389
    183
    78
    37
See reviews for
226
339
39
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel, I had to request a room change. The halls smell musty and didn't seem to have adequate air conditioning. I was glad the room didn't share these qualities. Although clean and cool, the room was very dated. It seems some upgrades have been done to make the hotel appear more modern, while other items have not been updated. The vanity in the bathroom was newer, but the tub was old and had many visible stains. The maid tried to enter the room at 8:30am, which surprised me that they would've assumed I was gone that early. I hadn't checked out. I had a snack at the bar, and the food was good.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators and vending machine areas. The hallways are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your recent stay. I appreciate your candid feedback regarding our accommodations, and we are in the process of starting "room refresh" project in 2014. I would love for you to return to the Marriott for another stay and experience our newly appointed accommodations. Please contact my office with your future stay dates and I will see to your reservations personally and hope to regain your confidence. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is very tired and the service is sub-standard. From the moment we walked in the door we knew we made a mistake but didn't have any other choices this weekend. The lobby looks dated, corridors smell like cleaners and walls are scratched everywhere. The room looked like it hadn't seen a renovation in 15 years.

When we arrived the lobby had very loud live music that could be heard all the way up the 4th floor. It was clear also that the clientele they booked into this weekend had a party attitude so if you are looking for a nice quiet romantic weekend this is not the hotel for you.

Green Features: did not see any green initiatives in place here. One of the HVAC units outside had green slime running out the side of it.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Tim - we appreciate you sharing your opinions about your experience at our hotel. The hotel is 7 years old currently and will undergo a full renovation beginning in November that will refresh all our guestrooms, lobby, elevators, restaurant and meeting space. The issue with clientele is something you will find all over Charleston in July. Its vacation time and Charleston is a popular destination for groups, conventions, weddings & social groups along with leisure travel.
We cater to all groups and try to create an atmosphere within the hotel that has something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
288 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three nights with my wife while in town for casual business meetings. You can't walk to the historic area and the trolley failed to show but cab fare was $10. Everyone on staff very friendly. Very clean facility. Next to Citadel and Riverdogs ballpark. Great park adjacent to Citadel to walk or bike thru.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bdcdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott. Our location being minutes away from Downtown Charleston makes it a convenient location yet more of a peaceful experience away from the hustle and bustle downtown sometimes can be. I hope you return to the Marriott soon where we can pamper you once again.

Sincerely
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Once again my husband & I returned to the Charleston Marriott for our vacation & it absolutely never ceases to amaze us how awesome this hotel is!!!!! Front Office Manager Jere Allen & his staff knows exactly how to make their patrons feel like royalty. From check-in to check-out, nothing but professional, courteous, attentative, thorough & efficient. This place is absolutely consistently amazing & my husband & I will be forever grateful for the cherished memories they help us create year after year!!!!!! Thank you Jere, you & your staff are TOP NOTCH!!!!!!!!

Scottie & Janie Shipley
Greensboro, NC

Room Tip: The concierge floor is always the ONLY floor to stay on!!!!! Best view & the concierge room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Charleston Marriott. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our Front Office Manager Jere Allen and our staff and for your kind compliments. I will share your feedback at our next staff meeting for all to hear and that their efforts do not go unnoticed. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our room was awesome! We were on the 9th floor and could watch the July 4th fireworks from our window. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would forego the $10/day parking and do it yourself for free. Pool area was very nice. All in all we had an wonderful experience, but we always do at a Marriott!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and sharing your experience with fellow travelers online. It is great to hear that you, like so many others, were satisfied with your room and am glad you could enjoy the fireworks! I hope we do have another chance in the future to welcoming you back and serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiram, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel is very nice. The room was a good size and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great and the price was not bad. The roof top lounge was wonderful with a view of the sun setting over the pier. This hotel is close enough to downtown without have the congestion of being downtown. The only negative is that the view from our room was of the air conditioners on the roof.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the second floor that have a view of the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaPeachForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and your gracious feedback. I am glad you found the hotel clean, comfortable, up to date and its convenient location to Downtown Charleston. All of these dynamics with wonderful hotel staff makes us the hotel of choice when in Charleston. Thank you again for choosing the Marriott and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing