We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good choice in Charleston”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This maybe one of the better choices in Charleston. Large hotel. Had no problem checking in. Here are the Advantages: Perfect location if you are visiting the Citadel. Across from Marina. Very quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly. One of the best hotel restaurants I have found. I am not kidding! The food at lunch and dinner in their restaurant was outstanding, and compared to local restaurants not very expensive. Maybe I just got lucky with my dishes, but I was very impressed by this hotel restaurant! Nice little bar too. Disadvantages: It is not waking distance to the historic district. Room carpet is dated, as someone else has mentioned. And there are only 2 elevators for most floors; probably too little. You could wait a few minutes for an elevator. But if you don't mind driving the 2-3 miles downtown (sure, you can walk, but there isn't really a user-friendly path), this is a very good choice. When my wife comes with me next time, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MilitelloVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Charleston Marriott. Thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel's restaurant, Saffire. We take pride in our service and a seasonal menu offering food of the highest quality. I will pass on your gracious comments to our Food & Beverage staff and let them know their efforts are not going unnoticed. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    390
    187
    80
    37
See reviews for
232
349
39
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugoff, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I know this hotel has been in business for several years, but it's as if it's the first time they've ever had guests. Check-in is unbelievably slow! The worst I have ever encountered! I don't care how nice the rooms are I'll never stay in a Marriott brand again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Our apologies for your disappointment in service and especially the check-in experience. Without more detail, I cannot specifically address the issue. I can assure you, we check in customers as soon as we have clean rooms available for customers. Occassionally during leisure travel season, we have guests arrive early and its can be difficult to get new customers into rooms until existing customers exit the rooms and we are able to clean.
I apologize for the inconveniences and hope you will consider staying a loyal Marriott Hotels customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had a wonderful stay for the 2014 Deleston/smalls family reunion. After reading multiple reviews I was a little nervous but the hotel was fantastic. At check-in I was greeted with a warm reception, given my keys, and additional information. The room was not the best I had been in but it was clean and nice in appearance. The fitness center was great and I enjoyed the german trails on the treadmill. The pool and hot tub was well maintained and I enjoyed that as well. The event staff could not have been more helpful during our reunion. They were there each step of the way and constantly reminded me to ask for anything. If we return to Charleston, SC for the family reunion in 2016 I will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations. I am so glad that you took the time to recognize how friendly our staff is - they work very hard to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests. We would definitely love to welcome you again for your next family reunion.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this hotel for a one night stay before embarking on a cruise. This hotel looks new in the pictures however our rooms were dated and dirty. The bedding appears to new however the carpet is old and our 3 rooms were not clean. Someone else's sock was left behind at the base of our bed which was a clear indication of poor housekeeping. The shower lacked scrubbing which resulted in my family using a towel as a liner inside of it.

My mother-in-law's room had very visible mold on the drapery liner with a moldy leak above the window. Clearly had been there for some time. The hotel did issue a credit but a little shocked this was not noticed nor taken care of sooner. The hotel lobby did appear very modern and well decorated however housekeeping was definitely lacking in our rooms and in the hallways as well. Our rooms were all located on the 7th floor next to stairway. (Rooms 75, 77 & 78)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
On behalf of the entire Housekeeping team, please accept our sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues you had during your stay. Our housekeeping staff take great pride in what they do daily and we also have processes in place where our housekeeping leaders double check every room prior to it's occupancy by the next guest. We fell short in our processes and are reviewing them so that we do not have this issue again in the future.

Thank you again for bringing this to my attention and I do hope we are given the opportunity of redeeming ourselves by having you stay with us one more time and prove ourselves.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed two nights in July. Room was not very clean, found hair in the sheets. Had the sheets changed, more hair left behind by housekeeping. After second sheet change, bed top sheet was made with a fitted bottom sheet withe the ends torn open.

Front desk addressed the issues ok, but this shows larger issues.

Hotel has seen better days and needs a renovation badly. Not up to Marriott standards.

Wish the management pay attention to the details!!

Off my list and makes Marriott in general questionable for the future.

D

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmreese1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
On behalf of the entire team of the Charleston Marriott, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for our hotel not living up to your expectations. We do not take these cleanliness issues lightly...no excuses can be made for this! The cleanliness of our hotel top to bottom has to be priority #1. I will address this matter with the Head of our Housekeeping Department and housekeeping associates. I hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This Marriott is not located in the historical district and I found it a little out of the way for what we wanted to do in Charleston. It should be great for work, exploring other areas or if you were staying longer than two days in the area.

The hotel is a bit dated on the outside, but the interior was very nice and the room was modern and clean. No issues with the carpet as others have mentioned. The pool area looked inviting and well maintained, although we didn't have time to use it, again due to our short time in thecae and it's distance from the historical district.

I found the man at the front desk to be a bit curt, which is in my experience very unusual for Marriott.

Overall, we had a nice stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking a parking lot, but the room was quiet for the most part.
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard environmental practices, reusing sheets and towels, etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you loved our facilities and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

During four days celebrating our 41st Family Reunion at the Charleston Marriott, we were pampered, spoiled, and amazed at the service and warmth from the staff. Nearly everyone I passed in hallways, elevators and other places greeted me with a smile and hello. I was particularly impressed by Marcus Poinsett and Michael Young. It is my intention to share my impressions in our upcoming newsletter. Thanks to the staff at the Charleston Marriott, and in particular, Marcus and Michael,, the article will be extremely positive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuccessisYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott. As the GM, your compliments were a pleasure to read and I was delighted to hear that you were thoroughly spoiled by our associates. Thank you for recognizing Marcus Poinsett and Michael Young and for your kind compliments. I will share your feedback at our next staff meeting for all to hear and ensure that their efforts do not go unnoticed. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing