We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had our convention here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We had our convention here!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I didn't stay overnight at this hotel but I used almost all of their facilities because our convention was there for a week. It is a great hotel and I was bummed we didn't make reservations before they were all booked. The staff, restaurant, and outside facilities were great and we used them plenty for our luncheons and meetings. I love the little area they have next to the pool and there is a water way across the street that has a very nice pier to walk to. I would stay there if I came back to Charleston although I'm partial to Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnAPermanentVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind review about our hotel. We work hard to be an excellent service hotel and it's always great to hear that it is making a difference. We have so much to offer to our guests at the hotel from our award-winning Saffire Restaurant featuring seasonally inspired menus of the highest quality food, to the Aqua Terrace Roof-Top Bar offering magnificent views and sunsets. Our location being minutes away from Downtown Charleston makes it a convenient location yet more of a peaceful experience away from the hustle and bustle downtown sometimes can be. I hope you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in this area.

Sincerely
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    397
    191
    80
    37
See reviews for
236
354
40
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Please be aware that check in is 4:00pm. We happen to be there during a regional meeting or small convention and one of the elevators was out of service, needless to say getting to our room was difficult. The lobby had been updated but the rooms are old and dated.
I would recommend a high floor room with a view of the bay.
The bathroom was dirty and needs to be updated.

The pool area is nice. The hotel is not even close to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orthodontics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the Charleston Marriott and for sharing your comments online. I appreciate your candid feedback about your accommodations. We have completed our planning stage and will start the "refurbishment" project in 2014 including hotel rooms, lobby, restaurant and meeting facilities. I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marriott, and experience the new look and feel of the Marriott. Please contact my office with your future stay dates and I will see to your reservations personally and hope to regain your confidence. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed three nights while attending a convention held in this hotel. I arrived in early evening, weary after long travel, and was sent to my second floor king room that I had reserved months earlier. As soon as I opened the door, I was hit with the strong scent of cologne/perfume, then noticed a few dirty glasses on the bathroom counter, and that the bed linens were rumpled -- it was just a little suspicious as to what might have occurred after the room was cleaned that morning. I called the front desk and was told that they had no other king rooms available, so I had the choice of waiting for this room to be cleaned or move to a double. I was creeped out by the first room, plus I was exhausted, so I had to accept the double room, much to my disappointment. I also had a pretty awful view of a rooftop of air conditioners and puddles and gravel.

The hotel is pretty for a hotel in this class and the convention facilities are great -- many rooms of lots of sizes that were perfect for the convention I attended. The hotel was sold out so using the two tiny elevators was a nightmare. This hotel needs several more elevators! I was only on the second floor, but I never could figure out where the stairs were.

The hotel staff was very courteous and very helpful with questions about local attractions. They run a complimentary shuttle every half-hour to the nearby historical district, which I was very grateful for. There's a great patio area off the main lobby with comfortable shaded seating that was very pleasant once the temperatures began to cool later in the evening.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was adequate, except that the door would not open wider than about 45-50 degrees. There was actually a stop on the floor to keep it from opening a full 90 degrees, which was inexplicable. This made it crowded to get in the door and on the toilet. Very poor design.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lms68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for staying at Charleston Marriott and for posting your experience. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I will certainly share your observations and use it as a training tool with my management team to apply corrective actions. We do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Fl.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is located in downtown Charleston, although it is not a easy walk anyplace. We had a car, so we did not have to rely on walking or taking the shuttle, but taking the shuttle is probably best as parking can be difficult in downtown. The hotel is old, and shows that it is worn. The rooms were also warn and the closets and bathrooms were rusty. It didn't help that it rained all weekend, keeping the "prettier" décor outside (cushions for the couches and chairs, etc...) either up, or if they were there they were soaking wet. The pool area is ok, pretty basic. Again, might have been prettier if it was not raining. I ate in the restaurant (Saffire) for breakfast and dinner, and both times it was good. I had drinks one evening on the "rooftop bar" (off the 3rd floor) and there were a ton of people out there, and only one person working the bar. This really resulted in horrible customer service b/c the gentleman could not keep up with everyone. When I tried to pay my bill, I literally stood at the bar for over 15 minutes trying to get his attention. The concierge lounge was excellent and provided a nice "evening snack" and breakfast.
All in all I would probably look at the neighboring Courtyard next time which looks newer and more updated, or even the Residence Inn or SpringHill on the other side of the Ashley River to compare pricing, but if the Marriott is less expensive then it could still be a good value.

Room Tip: Go for the Concierge Lounge level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AXO1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott and your comments regarding your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for letting you down. I can assure you that I have brought your concerns to my teams attention and we have adjusted our methods so that we can continue to improve and strive towards providing great service every stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything you need. Clean ,great staff ,great location, free parking available, pool, close to downtown. The beds were extremely comfortable, showers worked well. Front desk were very helpful in recommendations and check-in, check-out was extremely efficient. Definitely would stay there again. Charleston is a must to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulsuzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott - near downtown. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to meet all of your expectations, and I will share with my staff of the wonderful job they did. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Charleston Marriott.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were here for a family reunion and this hotel did not disappoint. You entered into a nice lobby, with a water feature, attentive staff, clean rooms, restaurant staff nice, food was good, nice outdoor area to sit, relax, chat and play cards. The banquet rooms were perfect and the food was very good. Despite the intermittent rain, we had a good time and would return.

Room Tip: non smoking hotel,
See more room tips
Green Features: only disappointment for the environmentally conscious person is that they do not recycle.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1701Sidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you loved our facilities and noticed how helpful our staff is. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel earlier then expected so we had to wait for a room. The front desk staff especially Andrew tried very hard to get a room ready for us ( as we were tired after a long drive). I love the location. It has free parking and is a quick shuttle ride to the market and downtown area. This was great since I had to take the car to work but my family could either enjoy the pool,walk to marina or go downtown. You are also close to the bridge to go to the beaches.
We totally loved the service and food in the concierge lounge. If you stay there you should check out this option!!!
I have stayed here on several other trips to the area and will continue to do so!
It is a great value and a great location... So definitely try it out!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for returning to the Charleston Marriott for your stay once again. The best compliment a guest can give is to return to the hotel they love staying at, and also sharing their experience with others. We continually strive to provide our guests the most memorable experience and your comments show that we are upholding this standard. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Patrick Rogers
General Manager
Charleston Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing