We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fitness Center!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This hotel had the best fitness center I have seen in a hotel. Three elipticals, I think three treadmills, new weight equipment and free weights. The treadmills and elipticals had tv screens on them. I had forgotten my earbuds but luckily there was a big container full of individually wrapped earbuds to use to plug into the tvs.

For some reason when I tried to turn on the TV it wouldn't, I told the front desk staff about it and they had it fixed while I was out exploring all the things Charleston and the surrounding areas had to offer.

I was placed in a room on the third floor near the aqua lounge, which is basically a bar located on a balcony. So, when the door was opened you could hear the music and occasionally the people walking in and out of the bar. It wasn't a big deal because they close at 10pm but you should keep this in mind if you want to get to bed early.

Oh, I almost forgot. The wireless internet is not free in your room. You have to pay 10 dollars a day for it.

Overall, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2009

This Hotel was wonderful and exceeded our expectations for the price we paid. The rooms were clean, bright and very comfortable. The soaps etc., were very nice from Bed and Body Works and smelled yummy. The bathroom had a marble top vanity and big fluffy white towels. We did not eat at the Hotel so I can't commet on the food. The lobby and lounge areas and pool were great. An added bonus was a shuttle downtown to the historic area from 8:30 am to 10:30pm for a small charge. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again we liked it so much.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOMASHARPEUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I have stayed here several times. Very nice place great pool, fitness center, rooms are nice, kids love the room service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We decided to take a trip to Charleston while visiting Hilton Head. It was worth the trip. The hotel had a great special price and the people couldn't have been nicer. While it is not in the center of the town the shuttle makes it very easy to get back and forth.
We had a 7th floor room with a balcony and we loved it. The view was great.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donoteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My friend and I just spent a couple of days at Marriott Charleston. We had not stayed there before and did not have reservations. Upon our arrival, a bellman greeted me immediately and was very helpful. The man working the front desk was warm, friendly, and helpful, as was the concierge in the guest lounge at the penthouse level. Our penthouse-level suite was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. (The price was excellent and affordable due to the time of year and that we checked in on a Sunday evening. I don't go to Charleston in the expensive summer season, anyway, due to the heat and humidity, so it happens that my favorite time of year to visit coincides with the best time to get a fabulous hotel at great value.) Our suite had two spacious, high-ceilinged rooms, one with two queen beds/luxury linens and decor, large armoire w/flat panel tv, refrigerator/mw/room safe, large balcony and a bath with walk-in porcelain tiled shower. The adjoining living space was beautifully decorated, with a lovely sofa, two arm chairs, a huge flat panel tv, wet bar, dining table/chairs for 8, nice art, a second bath with tub/shower combo and a second large balcony. The evening view of the hotel property, Charleston's city lights, the harbor and James Island bridge was amazing. Our stay included access to the private lounge on the penthouse level, where we had free soft drinks and bottled water, an honor bar with a good selection of wines and beers, free desserts and hot hors de oeuvres, as well as a very nice complementary continental breakfast, with a choice of cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, muffins, juices and coffee. Even though I had always before stayed in town in order to be within walking distance of shops and dining, my experience at this hotel was so wonderful that I will choose to stay here on every future trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLMcTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed at the Marriott on our first trip to Charleston. The hotel was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The front desk staff was great. They gave us good suggestions for dinner and even made reservations for us. Would not hesitate to stay here again. It is a bit out of the "downtown historic distric" but easy to come and go and Charleston is easy to get around. GREAT PLACE!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendrasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

...you will not get what you ask for at this hotel. I responded to Marriott's e-mail concierge service to request the complimentary amenities & services I wanted, but it didn't make a difference. I asked for a king. They put me in a queen. I requested a tub. They gave me a shower-only room. I wanted a high floor room with riverview. They put me on second floor with roof view. And what made this stay so bad was the room was hot all night long b/c the thermostat wouldn't work and when I called front desk at midnight, they acted as if they could care less. Finally upon check out, they didn't even ask how my stay was. They don't care.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank breezywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.6 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £133 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing