We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not stay again - Too many mix-ups” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Marriott

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Will not stay again - Too many mix-ups”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Let me first say that Charleston is a great place to visit - HOWEVER, the Charleston Marriott is located in a not so safe part of town. Front desk clerk gave wrong information on shuttles, did not give breakfast ticket (which was already paid for in advance), smoke/fire alarms went off twice during one night (11 pm and 2 am) - both times having to evacuate to the parking lot. We stayed on the 12th floor and the stairwells were jammed - if there really was a fire emergency it would be devastating! When I asked the front desk about it the next morning she shrugged me off and says it happens quite often. Hotel itself was nice, clean and the pool are was nice. The restaurants and bars are way overpriced. Spend a few more dollars and stay downtown - you'll be so glad you did!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shopperlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    379
    179
    75
    36
See reviews for
220
329
39
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

My family spent 4 days at the Marriott Charleston. The hotel lobby area is nice, as well as the courtyard. The rooms are o.k., but the bathrooms are TOO small reminiscient of being on an airplane. It appears the rooms were renovated within the last 5 years, but the bathrooms could use a makeover. The carpet was not very clean and the room seemed a bit dark.

My family had the opportunity to visit the Church Street Inn while in Charleston and it's a much nicer facility than the Marriott. It's not as large as the Marriott, but the accomodations are much nicer and it's directly across the street from the market area. I would recommend the Church Street Inn if you're looking for a more cozy setting and don't require a pool. The 2 level rooms at the Church Street Inn are much roomier and nicer for a family.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

The hotel was conveniently situated five minutes walk from the River Dogs Stadium and about 15 minutes by car from the historic district.
The hotel is bright and spacious and the staff are very efficient, friendly and helpful. We were there from 3rd July for four days and the hotel was busy including the USA Rugby team (who won their match), a family convention and a school reunion. We sampled breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant during our stay and although there is a limited vegetarian menu the staff are pleasant and friendly and we would recommend eating in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsMustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights over the 4th of July holiday weekend. The hotel lobby is beautiful and spacious, and the free ice cold lemon and orange accented water that is provided all day every day was great after a hot day at the beach or the pool! The front desk employees were very polite and knowledgable about the city. On our first night, one recommended that we eat at King Street Grill, which was so good that we ended up going back another night for some post-dinner drinks. The front desk provides free maps of the city and the employees will gladly map out your destination for you. Another great example of their customer service is when we asked if there were any little sandwich shops or lunch places within walking distance of the hotel (not fast food). They told us no, and then gave us a pass for a free appetizer from the hotel restaurant, which was very good. They also offered us the breakfast buffet for free one morning while my boyfriend was making small talk with one of the employees. It was little things like that that really stood out and made our experience even more enjoyable!

The only cons about the hotel would be the terrace bar (fun, but very pricey) and the hotel shuttle. In my opinion, the hotel shuttle is not worth it. It was $6 per person daily, so we decided to take cabs back after a night at the bar. We're glad we did, because cabs from the Market Street area to the hotel were only $6 at the most!

All in all, our experience at the Marriott was great. It's a 20 minute drive to Isle of Palms and a 10 minute drive to Sullivan's Island (our preferance). We will definitely be back to stay at the Charleston Marriott!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nctravelgirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

All employees we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, comfortable, and clean. For the price, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aCoustix08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

We've stayed in (and love) the Courtyard Marriott which is across the street and over from this Marriott, but Courtyard was booked. Turns out we were just as comfortable and happy in the Marriott Charleston. The lobby is beautiful, and our room was clean, tastefully decorated and spacious. From our side-facing window we could see the marina across the bridge where we took Thriller Charleston, the high-speed boat tour, that evening -- which was awesome! It took us maybe 3 minutes to get over there, which was super convenient. After lights/TV out we realized noise from the fridge was going to keep us up, but the front desk sent a maintenance guy literally running up to take care of it. We appreciated the emphasis on service. We had a wonderful stay in every respect.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restlessinrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

The prices of hotels in the Charleston area are expensive to prices in Europe so having read some negative comments about the Charlesto Marriott it made me wary of booking in an area i knew nothing about but arriving after a long flight from the uk the minute we stepped into the lobby i knew i had made the right choice. Bright spacious and everyone very friendly.Reaching our room and it was Wow. Stepping out onto the sunny balcony there were lovely views of the river and marina. After a rest on the most comfortable bed ever we changed and went to the restaurant for a light meal. That was a joke,as we discovered over the next 2 weeks in South Carolina nothing comes small. On our last day there was heavy rain which caused a power failure but the laughter it caused was great, ( in England everyone would have been moaning.) Arriving at the restaurant the last thing we expected to see was hot food full marks to the chef cooking away on a small gas burner. The swimming pool, the courtyard and the roof top terrace we tried them all and so many strangers came to talk to us it made us feel special. I was 70 yrs old when i checked in and felt 20 yrs younger when i checked out I think this is down to Southern hospitality The wedding that followed at Folly Beach is another spectacular part of our holiday

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmarples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing