We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved This Marriott”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Stayed for 3 nights....2 rooms. Really beautiful, newly redecorated, very nice staff, great price. It is not in downtown Charleston, but a short, easy drive and we never had trouble parking, even on the street, in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mei2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    390
    188
    80
    37
See reviews for
232
349
39
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redli0n
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I've traveled to a few places but this has been the best hotel ever. The staff was courteous and friendly. The interior was well designed and gorgeous. The room overlooked the river. I loved it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redli0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at the Marriott for a week beginning Thanksgiving weekend. The room was very nice and pleasantly furnished. Staff was friendly and helpful and upgraded us to a riverview room upon request. Just a few minor things, bedskirt had not been pressed and looked like it had spent quite a bit of time in the dryer before going on the bed, fee for wireless internet in the room but business center on first floor was available every time we went there. Doors tended to be slammed rather than closed which was disturbing for sleeping in on vacation. Stairway landings just outside riverview rooms -- the one beside our room was used by a woman who smoked regularly while screaming into her cell phone (she actually drowned out the sound on our TV). Refused to stop after we asked her three times. (This is just a heads up -- not the hotel's fault) but obviously these outside areas appeal to the smokers. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would not hesitate to stay here again. Would recommend to others.

Very good location, easy to find close to market and good restaurants. The hotel restaurant was very good as well and room service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2009

The best Marriott I have ever stayed in. I hope I get to come back & stay @ this location.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick60Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Great hotel with an incredible staff. The people at this hotel are extremely helpful and friendly. I've stayed at this hotel several times and have always had a great experience. The Marriott is about a mile outside of downtown and has a great view of the Ashley river and the Charleston harbor. Very nice hotel. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roswellralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
231 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Just stayed at the Marriott in Charleston, S.C. for 3 nights. Arrived on Weds. and was sent to a room that happened to be "occupied". Had to return to the desk and ask for another room. While in that room we noticed a LOUD noise in the heating/a.c. system. Called the desk and they moved us to another room. During the time that we were there, we heard the loud bang quite a few times. I agree with the other review that the room was stuffy and warm. When we turned the temp down is when we'd hear the banging noise. Other than that the hotel was quiet. No hall noise like some hotels. Not sure about rating this hotel with 4 stars . The lobby looks like a 4-star but the rooms certainly aren't. Ours had an OLD out-dated TV. The bathrooms are very small and ours only had a shower....no tub. Also I am surprised that they can't offer free internet in the rooms. We've stayed at lower price chain hotels with FREE internet in the rooms. The Marriott charges almost $10 a day for that service. So we did without and used the computer room when we needed to. Not as handy to say the least.
Would I stay there again? Yes, if the price was right. Everyone in the lobby was very helpful. It's close to downtown which is a plus. The room was clean and neat. Their shuttle to downtown worked well. Did not have to wait long coming or going. LIKES: Comfortable Bed, Clean, Helpful Staff , Close to downtown DISLIKES: No free internet access in rooms, and loud banging noise in heating/ac system, parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyBear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Like other reviwers, I would agree there is room for improvement at the Marriott. There were no bellstaff apparent when we checked in, and the only available parking spot was quite a ways back in the wet, uneven lot. The room, though clean and comfortable, was very warm and humid. We tried to turn the air on to alleviate this, but unfortunately this caused the ventilation system to bang loudly. The sound was like someone banging on a steel door, and enough to wake both of us in a dead fright several times the first night, and twice the second until we realized we had to raise the temperature in the room. So then we were uncomfortably warm and did not have a restful night. When we mentioned this upon checkout, they did comp our wireless fee, however, I don't think thar problems are easily repaired, and would be hesitant to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aacmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing