We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel experiences we've ever had in 40 years of travel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“One of the best hotel experiences we've ever had in 40 years of travel.”
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The Marriott Hotel Charleston was terrific in every aspect. The entire hotel was immaculate. Each and every staff member was courteous, friendly and did everything they could to accommodate us. We had breakfast in the hotel and the food was fresh and good. We've traveled all over the world and have never had a hotel stay like this. A real value in this economy. Make no mistake, we will return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoreplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    400
    192
    80
    38
See reviews for
237
357
42
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Hotel Chic-ly remodeled - South Beach style- upscale. Clean, sparse, modern. Comfortable rooms and Beds. Workout room supplied with water bottles and towels. Patio cushioned chairs surrounding a fire pit (2 of them). FREE internet and printer in the business center. Great breakfast buffet.

The staff was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Kudos to: Front Desk-Scott, Shannon, Rachel and Cynthia and Melissa in food service. You all gave exceptional customer service. Thank You. You all made our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyMiamiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel over the 2010 New Years weekend. Since it was tough to find a room at the last minute in downtown Charleston, I used Hotwire.com and booked this room for $99 per night. I arrived at approximately 8pm and immediately noticed that the parking lot was quite full, however check in was quick and the clerk was very cute and courteous. The room was clean and the styling was up to date. Now there was the issue of maintenance at the hotel. I first noticed a problem when I tried to park my car. Because most of the parking near the front of the hotel was taken, guests were forced to park toward the rear of the hotel. The only problem was that because a parking deck was being constructed, very little maintenance was being performed on the existing parking lot. Since it had recently rained, there was several inches of standing water in the rear parking lot for guests to walk through. The hotel did not make any accommodations for its guests, (i.e. gravel in the parking lot, valet service, etc...) to eliminate the inconvenience of walking through standing water to and from their cars, which is a big negative. The next morning I noticed a loud buzzing sound coming from the hallway, and I later found out that one of the three elevators was broken. The buzzing continued for at least two hours, before someone shut off power to the elevator. Even with the broken elevator, I did not have a long wait to travel between floors. Finally, one of the automatic sliding doors leading to the outside was broken. The was a problem because it was quite chilly this particular weekend, and the broken door was in the foyer area, and when the sliding door leading to the foyer opened, a cold blast of air came into the hotel, which was quite uncomfortable. I think increased efforts should be made on the maintenance side of the house in order to maintain the 3.5 to 4 star rating enjoyed by this hotel. I would recommend staying at this hotel, if and only if the parking lot drainage issue is corrected. Otherwise I would choose to stay elsewhere in the downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Game123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Stayed for 3 nights....2 rooms. Really beautiful, newly redecorated, very nice staff, great price. It is not in downtown Charleston, but a short, easy drive and we never had trouble parking, even on the street, in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mei2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redli0n
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I've traveled to a few places but this has been the best hotel ever. The staff was courteous and friendly. The interior was well designed and gorgeous. The room overlooked the river. I loved it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redli0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at the Marriott for a week beginning Thanksgiving weekend. The room was very nice and pleasantly furnished. Staff was friendly and helpful and upgraded us to a riverview room upon request. Just a few minor things, bedskirt had not been pressed and looked like it had spent quite a bit of time in the dryer before going on the bed, fee for wireless internet in the room but business center on first floor was available every time we went there. Doors tended to be slammed rather than closed which was disturbing for sleeping in on vacation. Stairway landings just outside riverview rooms -- the one beside our room was used by a woman who smoked regularly while screaming into her cell phone (she actually drowned out the sound on our TV). Refused to stop after we asked her three times. (This is just a heads up -- not the hotel's fault) but obviously these outside areas appeal to the smokers. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would not hesitate to stay here again. Would recommend to others.

Very good location, easy to find close to market and good restaurants. The hotel restaurant was very good as well and room service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2009

The best Marriott I have ever stayed in. I hope I get to come back & stay @ this location.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick60Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing