We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughter and I came to Charleston to visit CofC. We had no idea that our hotel would be so nice!! The staff without exception were friendly, extremely helpful with dining suggestions and reservations, and just hospitality. Our room, 206, was super comfortable. Breakfast was yummy, and who doesn't love an inn that serves wine every evening!! Hoping our daughter attends College of Charleston so we have a reason to come back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mugs1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This place is the best! I highly recommend it. Not just for the quaint charm, perfect location, and cleanliness of this B&B, but most importantly for the people who work here. Alan and Curt were both SO helpful! My mom, who is handicapped, decided to come and see us on the last day of our stay. When I asked about where she might park during her visit, Curt immediately came over and told me where there was free handicapped parking for her. It was PERFECT and SO convenient. It made her visit with us much easier. I can't thank him enough. My mom's mobility is minimal, but with this location being right in the heart of the city, it made it simple for us to walk wherever we needed to go. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty, as was the wine and cheese reception each evening. You have the option of enjoying both either outside in the courtyard at one of the tables or in the lobby of the hotel, depending upon your preference and the weather. This B&B exemplifies a true slice of southern hospitality at it's finest!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are the most convenient since you don't need to use the elevator, however, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Meeting Street Inn and they were wonderful - I wish we could have stayed longer. Curt and Darren at the desk were absolutely wonderful - so accommodating, cheerful, helpful -great personalities. They are the type of employees that encourage repeat customers - they treated us like old friends. The rooms were beautiful and clean, wine & cheese every evening was a nice touch. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the courtyard or of Meeting Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We met our family there, and had a wonderful time!
If you want to stay downtown this is the place.
You have a great breakfast to help start your day, have them make your dinner reservations in the morning, we recommend you not miss Magnolias!
Then have a wine and cheese in the lobby at the end of a wonderful day before walking to dinner.
Plan on parking for the whole time, the trolley is free!

Room Tip: Find the room you want by browsing online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvs102067, Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Meeting Street Inn. Please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My daughter and I took a long weekend trip to Charleston to experience a place neither of us had been before. Although we had done our homework about Charleston we still had questions or needed a little help now and then. Yes, the inn is very quaint and has that southern charm. But this is why I would go back. Location, location, location. That being said, location doesn't hold much water if the service is bad. No worries here. We dealt with several different people at the front desk and everyone was extremely helpful giving us the inside scoop on so many things in and around the city. Especially Rodney and Lee did a HUGE favor for us on the day we flew out that I was extremely grateful for and I really didn't even ask them to do it. They just saw how I needed help and offered their personal help. That said a lot to me of the quality of people that the Meeting Street Inn hires. Wish I could hire them for my business. I will return for sure. Great breakfast and afternoon wine "happy hour". Little things make a big difference.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvs102067, Owner at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for giving Meeting Street Inn a chance and then taking the time to write about your experience in Charleston. We look forward to seeing you'll again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We arrived late in the evening at the Meeting Street. It is a quaint old hotel in the heart of the historic district which is nice. The room was what we expected, older with a charming feel to it. Loved the canopy bed. Room was on 2nd floor and overlooked another hotel, so there is no view. The breakfast was nice as well as the outdoor patio seating. Our HUGE complaint was the owners (?), front desk people. They were not friendly at all, did not answer questions, not helpful and had a condescending look. At first I thought maybe just a bad mood and I will give anyone the benefit of the doubt, but this happened over and over with both men we spoke to. We could have seen a lot more sites and allocated our short amount of time we had, had they been helpful. It did not start our trip off on the right foot. Thankfully the other places we stayed on our trip were very helpful.. We would not stay here again because of this poor PR.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and stay in a historic house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisadawnstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvs102067, Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of you day to send in a review. I am very sorry that your experience at the inn was not up to par. I can only say that we will learn from this and do better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

An older hotel that sits right smack in the middle of Downtown Charleston! The rooms reflect old Charleston with four poster step up beds (stool provided), leather chairs, and wall papered walls. Bathroom is clean and simple. The great part of the hotel beside the location is the outdoor patio! Table and chairs surround a lovely fountain that can be enjoyed during the Inn's complementary wine, fruit, and cheese hour (5-6) and breakfast. There is also a soaking hot pool. Overall a comfortable place to stay!

Room Tip: The A/C units block any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivendellCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvs102067, Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,242 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £122 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing