We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our room was very nice and also clean, although I saw some rooms when the doors were open that looked like the carpeting DEFINITELY needed replaced. Our room had hardwood floors. I would definitely request hardwood floors if you stay here. The inn's lobby needs some updating and cleaning. Dirty looking carpet there too. The breakfast was very average. We only ate there one day and found other places to eat breakfast the other two mornings because there is too much excellent food in Charleston to eat a lousy breakfast at a hotel.

The exterior has a beautiful courtyard with tables and chairs which would be lovely to sit at, except for the fact that the glass tabletops are NEVER wiped clean. They are covered with debris from the trees above at all times. So is the brick (I think it was) patio floor. Never swept off of all the debris off of the trees. It has chair pads on the chairs that need to be replaced. They are getting flat and worn. And the courtyard could be beautiful if they would plant some pretty stuff in their beds and containers. It was just a bunch of weeds and completely not kept up. I would have loved to have done wonders with this courtyard because it could have been such a beautiful little place to sit and read or relax, but rather, it was a mess an completely uninviting. Don't be deceived by the pictures of the courtyard like I was.

However, the room WAS clean, bathroom needed updated and paint touch-up, chipped quite a bit on the vanity and such, but I had no issues with cleanliness of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for hardwood floors in your room! Carpeted rooms all need to have carpeting replaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    227
    80
    35
    13
See reviews for
121
383
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As suggested by many, this place is in a great location and includes loads of character/charm. The second floor room was fine, all amenities worked well, the ac sound was constant and soothing, if there was unwanted noises throughout the night, I did not hear them, comfortable bed, communal hot tub was nice during a cool torrential downpour.
Parking was a couple blocks away, no issue, enjoyed the walk. Apparently they offer a golf cart to pick up bags/people at the parking lot....maybe inquire to confirm this. They also offer daily transport to Folly Beach for $10.00 pp. The 24 hour ice cold water and tea in the lobby was refreshing....bring your own large container, it'll save trips to the lobby.
Breakfast was very good, I did not try the wine during the daily 5pm gathering, but the strawberries were excellent. Wifi connection/ speed worked reasonably well.
All staff were fantastic, helpful, and accommodating. Based in my expectations and experience, this place is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longroadtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good room, fair prices, great breakfast and the wine reception every night at 5pm is a lot of fun! The staff was awesome - especially Darren! He makes the whole trip worthwhile. As for location - excellent. Park your car in their lot and walk to whatever you want to see. Couldn't ask for a better experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have been coming here for 12 years on business and pleasure. The rooms are very nicely appointed as ids the lobby. The lobby is the scene for a full breakfast every morning. Fruit, yogurt, pastries, local baked breads and a hot dish, sometimes egg casserole other time shrimp and grits or country ham and biscuits. In the evening it's wine and cheese, all included in the stay price.
The staff is excellent and unobtrusive, definitely a southern treasure

Room Tip: Perfect access to downtown Charleston. Park and forget about driving, just walk everywhere, very con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our first stay at Meeting Street Inn, but definitely won't be our last. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Rooms were lovely and very clean. The breakfast was wonderful with a wide assortment of foods (loved the fresh strawberries). In the evening they serve a wine and cheese reception. Everything was delicious. Staying here was like stepping back into history. Located in the center of the historic district is great for walking to city market, battery, the many restaurants and all the beautiful home. Parking was a couple blocks away, but that is not unusual for hotels in this city. Thanks staff at Meeting Street Inn for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missylancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If Charleston is your destination and Southern charm, perfect location and great service are important, then this is the place to be......the whole package!!
Rooms are period beautiful and everything from the generous and tasty high variety breakfast to the bedding has been well thought of so you don't have to oh, did I forget to say the complimentary happy hour was always a charming destination to meet a few new friends and ponder dinner plans?
Special thanks to a young man named Mario who seemed to always be in the right place to help with an authentic smile.....if he is not part of the host staff, he should be as he defines service from the heart. The single draw back in all retro-fit period places is the air conditioning which make more noise than my sleep wants however the alternative is much worse! Thanks Meeting Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peetampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
395 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stumbled upon this place in our desperate search to find something for the night after checking in and promptly checking OUT of the hotel we had originally booked elsewhere. The Meeting Street Inn offered us a great rate with parking AND breakfast plus the do a nice wine and cheese at 5pm each day in their lobby/courtyard. The whole building is very charming and historic. Even though the rooms have an old fashioned feel, they have modern amenities (unlike some B&Bs). The staff were all very friendly and we enjoyed our stay here immensely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
Indigo Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Property: The Meeting Street Inn
Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing