We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meeting Street Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belvidere, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a perfect location and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and Victorian style. We loved how our room walked onto the adorable brick patio. Breakfast was delicious with a lot more to choose from than we had expected. In the afternoon, they offered an hour of wine, cheese and crackers and fresh fruit which was enjoyable while sitting on the cute patio. The parking was very convenient only 2 blocks away, so we were able to retrieve our car whenever we wanted. Also, the lobby had water, sweet tea, coffee and pink lemonade at all times which added to the southern charm. We will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: We loved the bottom floor that walked out to the patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    218
    76
    35
    13
See reviews for
119
371
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Decided to book a room here after reading the reviews...We were not disappointed at all...The room was very nice and we found it to be period correct for the historic district..the bed was beyond comfy and the turn-down service was a plus. The bathroom was modern and very clean. The breakfast was everything you could ask for, loved the tea, ice cold water and lemonade that were out all day..We stopped in several times each day to just rehydrate and rest in the lobby...a reviewer commented that the outside glass table were not ever clean...I didn't find this to be true at all...They were constantly cleaning them...Parking was about 2 blocks away- but not a issue at all, thankful to have a place to park and walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I love the location. Only blocks away from the Downtown Charleston area, including the market. The staff were extremely accommodating and knowledgable of the area. The rooms were very nice and were truly southern. Additionally, the breakfast had very fresh fruit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFarmGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altavista, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the location and the atmosphere at this inn. The honeymoon suite was great! Loved using the jacuzzi tub too! A few things need to be spruced up at the ol' place, but an overall great inn. Bed was verrrrry comfy and breakfast each day was yummy. Could consider valet for parking though. Would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was recommended to us. We drove to Charleston after a family reunion. Walking into the lobby you immediately got the feeling you had gone back in time to the old south...we even got actual keys to our room, not magnetic swipe cards. Our room was fabulous. We had a king sized four poster bed with a crocheted canopy overhead. Between 5 - 6 pm wine and cheese are served in the lobby. The breakfast served every morning starting at 7 am is unbelievable. I can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: I thoroughly loved this experience and will go there again next summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our room was very nice and also clean, although I saw some rooms when the doors were open that looked like the carpeting DEFINITELY needed replaced. Our room had hardwood floors. I would definitely request hardwood floors if you stay here. The inn's lobby needs some updating and cleaning. Dirty looking carpet there too. The breakfast was very average. We only ate there one day and found other places to eat breakfast the other two mornings because there is too much excellent food in Charleston to eat a lousy breakfast at a hotel.

The exterior has a beautiful courtyard with tables and chairs which would be lovely to sit at, except for the fact that the glass tabletops are NEVER wiped clean. They are covered with debris from the trees above at all times. So is the brick (I think it was) patio floor. Never swept off of all the debris off of the trees. It has chair pads on the chairs that need to be replaced. They are getting flat and worn. And the courtyard could be beautiful if they would plant some pretty stuff in their beds and containers. It was just a bunch of weeds and completely not kept up. I would have loved to have done wonders with this courtyard because it could have been such a beautiful little place to sit and read or relax, but rather, it was a mess an completely uninviting. Don't be deceived by the pictures of the courtyard like I was.

However, the room WAS clean, bathroom needed updated and paint touch-up, chipped quite a bit on the vanity and such, but I had no issues with cleanliness of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for hardwood floors in your room! Carpeted rooms all need to have carpeting replaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

As suggested by many, this place is in a great location and includes loads of character/charm. The second floor room was fine, all amenities worked well, the ac sound was constant and soothing, if there was unwanted noises throughout the night, I did not hear them, comfortable bed, communal hot tub was nice during a cool torrential downpour.
Parking was a couple blocks away, no issue, enjoyed the walk. Apparently they offer a golf cart to pick up bags/people at the parking lot....maybe inquire to confirm this. They also offer daily transport to Folly Beach for $10.00 pp. The 24 hour ice cold water and tea in the lobby was refreshing....bring your own large container, it'll save trips to the lobby.
Breakfast was very good, I did not try the wine during the daily 5pm gathering, but the strawberries were excellent. Wifi connection/ speed worked reasonably well.
All staff were fantastic, helpful, and accommodating. Based in my expectations and experience, this place is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longroadtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Indigo Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Property: The Meeting Street Inn
Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing