We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Had never been to Charleston but wanted to stay in the nicest place we could afford. This is a beautiful motel. I think it was recently updated. I would have expected to pay much for for the room. The bed was so comfortable and all the counter-tops were like granite. Bath had a tub and a separate shower glassed in shower. We didn't try the in-house restaurant because it seemed to be pricey. Would definitely stay here again. The location to down town and to some of the islands was very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilhelmina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thanks for saying that you thought the hotel was beautiful and that your stay was more than you could have hoped for. I am honored to hear that you would have expected to pay much more than you did for what you received. Please come back and see us again and we thank you for your business in our family owned an operated hotel.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
There are newer reviews for Town & Country Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We are just back in Germany from a wonderful road trip through the South and I must tell you what a wonderful hotel that was.

I booked directly with a hotel, which was very pleasant. You get 15$ voucher per night for Trotters Restaurant.

Check In was a breeze, all ladies at the front desk were very friendly and helpful and always had a smile when we walked by or asked questions.

We booked the King Airbath Suite and absolutely loved the modern feel of the room. Here was someone at work, who has great taste. If you want to splurge a little, I suggest that you upgrade. It was so worth it.The room was tastefully decorated, great morning coffee with the Keurig machine. The open feel of the bathroom, the generous shower. We want this at home! But the highlight was the tub in between the room and the bathroom. Although we wanted to explore Charleston, we also spent a good amount of time in the room and at the pool area. The pool area pleased my eye. I enjoy Architecture and it had a very modern South Californian feel to it.

The bed was heavenly! I must admit, we are very picky about the bed, possibly this is a German thing. It was the best bedding we ever had. High quality sheets, and best of all, a very nice European duvet.

We liked the quality of things. Many times its the details that matter and here everything was perfection.

We extended our stay twice to 5 days, we just could not leave. And Charleston is so beautiful, we fell in love with the city.

Together with the Sonesta at Hilton Head Island, the Town and Country Inn was the best pick during our road trip.

Thank you everyone for making this a truly wonderful stay.

Room Tip: King Airbath Suite
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

When you said that you wanted to thank everyone for making your stay truly wonderful I knew we had done what we always set out to do. Thanks for recognizing that and giving us a Five Star review!
Erin T. England – Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel turned out to be perfect for us. We especially liked the separate walk-in shower and oversized bathroom.Great location,Historical district, the Plantation district, and Folley Beach, you are only about 15 minutes from all three.Very friendly staff and a nice restaurant. Would definately stay again. JB

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

I am so glad to hear that your experience was perfect and that you would definitely stay with us again. Please contact me directly at 8943-571-1000 should you ever need anything in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.
Erin T. England – Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We booked a 2 night stay recently. Overall the room was nice (a 2 queen room) and clean. The shower in the bathroom is really a pain. The shower head and knob are on the back wall so you have to step into the shower to turn it on which means you get soaked with cold water. If you are tall enough(which I barely am) you can turn the shower head to the side to avoid the cold shower and then turn it back to center when you get it, grrrr.
I wouldn't waste your money on the breakfast buffet. Kind of limited, mediocre food and they charge $2.50 for a cup of coffee! Or if you do, make a cup in the room and bring it with you :D. For half the price you can eat at any of a dozen breakfast places in the area.
The location was ok, pretty good for going to visit the plantations in the area but not great for going into downtown Charleston. Next time I'll spend the extra money and stay in town.
The staff was wonderful and helpful so I give kudos to a great customer service mentality at Town and Country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoCRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks for your compliments on the staff and service here at the hotel. It sounds like you may not have a problem paying the $200 to $300 per night premium over what we charge in exchange for a 5-10 minute drive into downtown. I totally understand and hope you decide to give Charleston, SC a return visit.
Erin T. England – Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great hotel, located about a $17 taxi ride from the airport.

My room was so clean and well-maintained that it seemed as though I could have been the first person to ever stay in it!

Check-in was fast, friendly, and efficient.

Entire staff was very friendly and helpful - even at 5:30am, when I walked to the front desk to ask a question.

Breakfast buffet ($8.99) was very good. Each day included something a little different from the previous day.

If you don't like long walks to your room to and from the restaurant, ask for a room not too far away... my room was at the opposite end of the building... a very long walk, through a couple of sets of doors, one of which required using the room key to pass through.

The bathroom has a separate shower and tub, and lots of counter space around the sink.

The room has several acres of counter space below the tv. Well... maybe that's an exaggeration, but there IS plenty of counter space in the room.

There is a Piggly Wiggly next door, and a Ruby Tuesday across the street.

Entire staff was great, and I would definately stay at this location again.

As for the one (obviously very minor) thing I could find to complain about: the display on the alarm clock was so bright that I had to cover it so that I could sleep.

Room Tip: make sure your room isn't at the opposite end of the building if you don't enjoy long walks...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvphotog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We are honored by the kind review and the Five Star rating you gave our family owned and operated hotel. I am so pleased to learn that you would definitely stay with us again. We look forward to your return visit. If there is anything I can do for you in the future please let me know.
Erin T. England – Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Town and Country Inn was perfect! Exactly what we were looking for. Conveniently located about 6 miles from the historic downtown area/Market. The staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful. The rooms were beautiful. Recently remodeled, they felt new and clean. The bed was very comfortable and linens were wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again. we got a great rate thru hotels.com and paid less than expected for this top notch place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasserinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Glad to see that you got an experience that exceeded your expectations and for pointing out that you were pleased with the value that we delivered. We appreciate the compliments on the location, the bedding, and the overall design and décor of the hotel. Glad to hear that you will definitely stay with us again.
Erin T. England – Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed in a double queen with a pull-out sofa. There were five of us, the youngest was 15, and we had more than enough room. FYI, there is one bathroom and unlike other hotels we've stayed in, the sink is in the bathroom with the toilet and shower so truly only one person can get ready at a time. This was not a problem for us, but it could be for others. We arrived late and tired, so we ate at the hotel restaurant. The food was very good, reasonably priced and the portions were quite large. There was a microwave and small fridge in the room which was great for the leftovers from dinner. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and comfortable. The kids enjoyed the pool. Its a short drive to downtown Charleston, and the cost of this hotel compared to staying downtown was about 1/3 the price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedeelongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

I see that you fully understand that what we are providing our guests in the way of guestroom quality, eagerness of staff to please and unusual amenities is much more than they are expecting for the price. Thanks for pointing that out and for bringing your family to our hotel. Please remember us the next time you decide to visit the Charleston, SC area.
Erin T. England –Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,228 reviews
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Suites

Address: 2008 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £84 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Town & Country Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in May 2013 a $12,000,000 total guestroom rebuild!! Located within a 15 minute drive of the historic district and featuring a level of comfort and attention to detail that will surprise you at this price point. Convenient onsite dining featuring locally renowned full service Trotters Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in our smoke-free hotel. Enjoy a lush outdoor pool and courtyard, extensive hot breakfast buffet with servers, free wired and wireless internet access and a modern 6,500 square foot meeting facility. Wide variety of room types and suites available to accommodate every need including Family, Luxury, and Extended Stay Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel Charleston
Town And Country Charleston
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing