We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Believe the great reviews about the hotel itself. It is very clean and well-managed. The bedding is like a dream. We'd definitely stay here again.
Just a couple tips, though: ask for a room on the second floor away from the stairwell if you're able to manage it. There was some noise from guests opening and closing the exterior door and climbing the stairs right beside our room and a screaming, stomping child in the room right above us. Certainly not the fault of the hotel, but avoid it if you can when making your reservations.
The $15 daily voucher for Trotter's Restaurant that we received for booking on the hotel's website will cover one guest's breakfast. At $8.99 for the weekday breakfast buffet, the voucher wasn't a huge help for a family of three or more (no discount for a child's buffet, either). We only used our voucher once. The breakfast was just ok, definitely nothing spectacular when compared to the outstanding restaurants available throughout Charleston.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NTBFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for you kind words and for saying that you would definitely stay here again. Also we appreciate you saying that the hotel was very clean and well managed. We look forward to serving you again. I am pleased that we were able to give you one full restaurant style breakfast with servers and silverware for free as this would cost in another establishment.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    336
    46
    6
    3
See reviews for
376
747
54
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hendersonville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

3 Night stay - fairly large room, king bed, flat screen TV, large bath with walk in shower, ample no charge parking. So far so good. Removed the bolster off the bed, and found four HUGE pillows (and I forgot to bring my thin pillow). Found the in-room safe in the closet. Night time - guess I'll try the bed. Next thing I recall was the sunshine through the windows. Wow, did I sleep well. Guess it was time to attempt the buffet breakfast. Huge, plenty of choices, except for the scrambled eggs, which were very good. The second morning I found the juices. Staff was very helpful and kind. Paid for breakfast with the $15.00 voucher given to me at check-in. Voucher doesn't work for tips! Hotel is convenient to everywhere in the area. Will stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hendersonvillemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I am pleased to hear that you plan to stay with us again and that you were pleased with our guestrooms, breakfast buffet, and convenient location. We appreciate your business and please come see us again.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was a great value. I agree with the others that charging $2.50 for a cup of coffee and $3.00 for a soda in the dining room is a bit outrageous. The coffee in the room was not an option for me. As a coffee snob, their $2.50 coffee was extremely weak and I basically wasted $2.50 not drinking it. The room was very clean, offered many amenities and had an extremely comfy bed. You can't beat the price. The breakfast buffet was good but nothing outstanding. Not bad for $10.99.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teacher_0n_Vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I am glad that you felt we offered a great value in our family owned and operated hotel here in Charleston, SC. You mention that you enjoy premium coffee so I wanted to make sure you were aware that we offer green mountain coffee in the guestroom room for free. Thanks for your business and please come see us again.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Checked into our room. Found out that the $15 coupon for the restaurant, if you make the reservation directly with the motel, was just for the whole room and not per person. Breakfast is $9 per person. So, I will end up owing $3 plus tax for breakfast each day. But, it looks like it is a nice buffet meal. Ticks me off that I have to pay $2.50 for a coffee for breakfast. A buffet meal but you have to buy your coffee????? The assorted juices are free so I think I’ll get a lot of juice and maybe drink it. What really ticks me off is that the waitress comes around, after you seat yourself, and asks if you want coffee. She does NOT tell you that this is an additional $2.50 charge. Just asks if you want it. Why the deception here? Do they need the money so bad that they will, in effect, steal it from you? Is it worth $2.50 to piss you off so you will look for another hotel next time you visit? There is a hell of a profit when you charge $2.50 for a cup of coffee. We travel a lot and many hotels have free coffee 24 hours a day. It is very stupid, to me and, out of principal, I will look for a different motel next time we visit. I don't like encouraging motels that set out to screw me out of my money.

Our room is pretty nice. Very modern. Easy to connect to internet. Separate shower and bath. Marble tops on the furniture and the bathroom vanity. They have a nice toilet and I am going to look around for new toilets when we get home. These actually flush and they don’t give you a modified, unintentional bidet treatment with every flush.

Room Tip: There is a free coffee maker in your room and you can switch the decaf for regular coffee at the des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thevisitorcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Regarding the breakfast you may have noticed that you were eating in a large, busy full service, open to the public restaurant with waiters, china, silverware etc... As in all restaurants food is provided for a charge. We do provide Keurig coffee in the guestrooms for free to our guests who prefer that option. If the server made a mistake and forgot to inform you about a separate charge for coffee then that is our fault and we owe you an apology and certainly did not do that on purpose. We have been in the hotel business for four consecutive generations here ion Charleston and place supreme importance of the opinion of our guests so please accept our most sincere apologies for this error.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the hotel on our way to a cruise. The staff was very friendly. The lobby was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was average. The location was convenient. Our only complaint was the cleanliness of the room. The coffee pot was dirty and had not been cleaned from the previous guest's use. The comforter on the bed was reversible. When we pulled it down, there was a white substance on it. The comforter was dirty and had just been reversed to cover up the white substance. The manager was apologetic and offered us a discount on our next stay, but we passed and told her we would not stay there on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mabacata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I am terribly sorry to hear of your experience in our family owned and operated hotel. I can assure you that our comforters are of the highest possibly quality (not typical in this price range)and are laundered after each guest as I personally supervise this activity. Additionally each guestroom is inspected by the executive and the assistant executive housekeeper before being released for occupancy again. Please contact me so I can make this right for you.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This place is a great value when you consider all factors against the cost! Location is a close 15 min from the center of historical Charleston. Everything about the hotel is recently updated. The rooms are bright and elegant with bar, microwave, LED TV, and the beds are truly grand! The toiletries in the room are top quality, no skimping here! Parking is included, convenient and well lighted. The access is well-controlled with occupant security an obvious focus. Rooms are well-insulated and we had no "outside" noise issues. We booked early and received the daily $15 voucher that could be used in the bar or Trotters dining room. Breakfast buffet was very nice, nothing exceptional, but it was nice and you could have a made to order omelet. The service staff all were nice and accommodating and seem to be well-trained. I mean, our experience was VERY nice. I WILL absolutely recommend this to any of my friends and family. If there was any downside for someone, you might consider the 15 min drive to downtown, but with the parking available in December, we did not find this a concern. Also, I do not generally write reviews, but this place deserves the credit I think.

Room Tip: I did not rate they Kids activities, since I did not experience that aspect. As well, did not rate t...
See more room tips
Green Features: They indicate they use environmentally sensitive products and "recycle". I could not validate that, but they do urge you to "reuse" towels for your stay.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and for doing that even you said that you do not normally write reviews but felt that we deserved the recognition. I will pass your sentiment along to the staff who take great pride in their work.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel was very nicely furnished and very clean. It provided great access to old Charleston. Very well priced for this area. Had a dining room for breakfast and additional meals. On site laundry and business area. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor away from the conference rooms if available
See more room tips
Green Features: As most they used environmentally friendly product packaging and tried to minimize water and material waste
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for letting us know that you would definitely stay with us again and were impressed with the value we provided. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
1,140 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Suites

Property: Town & Country Inn and Suites
Address: 2008 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Town & Country Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in May 2013 a $12,000,000 total guestroom rebuild!! Located within a 15 minute drive of the historic district and featuring a level of comfort and attention to detail that will surprise you at this price point. Convenient onsite dining featuring locally renowned full service Trotters Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in our smoke-free hotel. Enjoy a lush outdoor pool and courtyard, extensive hot breakfast buffet with servers, free wired and wireless internet access and a modern 6,500 square foot meeting facility. Wide variety of room types and suites available to accommodate every need including Family, Luxury, and Extended Stay Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel Charleston
Town And Country Charleston
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing