We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place. We always stay here when we are in Cheraw, love it!”
Review of Spears Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheraw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Cheraw B&B and Inns
Cheraw, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful place. We always stay here when we are in Cheraw, love it!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Wonderful place. We always stay here when we are in Cheraw, love it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickboxer228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
25
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Kay and Larry Spears are splendid innkeepers. The Spears Guest House has all of the amenities of home. This charming place has a large hotel feel with its comfortable mattresses, pillows and baths, yet the decor is old antiques and charm. he house has all of the details that a larger B&B offers, but more affordable. The location is within easy access to the eateries, shops and churches. My family and I intend to stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all queen sized with full bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkatherinehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The Spears Guest House is my home away from home. When I'm in town I always stay at this charming B&B and am never disappointed. The owners, Larry and Kay, couldn't be more entertaining and welcoming. This is a calm, clean and cozy space with everything you need. My husband and I travel constantly and it's always nice to find a place like this. We are used to hotels that are impersonal and nothing like home. The Spears Guest House is a welcomed change from the ordinary and I highly recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidneyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCDixieChick, Owner at Spears Guest House, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thanks so much for your complimentary review. It is so nice to hear that we're accomplishing what we set out to do ~~~~provide a clean, safe, and FUN place to stay when you're away from home. We really enjoy visiting with our guests, and meet so many interesting people. In fact, this is our 25th year!
Thanks again for sharing your thoughts about Spears Guest House on TripAdvisor! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We basically only slept here because we left very early in the morning and came in fairly late during our stay, but this guest house is a godsend. Cheraw does not have a plethora of nice hotels to choose from, and while I love a luxury hotel as much as the next person, my main requirements are that a hotel is clean, generally comfortable, and has basic amenities. The Spears Guest House certainly has all that. It was a cold and rainy weekend when we stayed here, and the room was warm, but not stuffy, cozy and clean. It felt like we were guests in someone's home, but not in an uncomfortable kind of way. We met one of the owners and she was welcoming and warm. They have a kitchen where you can get hot beverages and snacks, and there is plenty of parking in the back of the house. The room is not large, so I wouldn't recommend it if your plan is to stay in your room all day, but it's fine for relaxing in the evening after a busy day. I have stayed in another hotel in Cheraw which would be considered to be the "best" hotel there, but I would steer anyone here. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Cheraw.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythewood, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We had a fabulous time at Spears House! The rooms are so lovely and all the special little touches mean a lot (the little glass of brandy on the bedside table was brilliant and the fluffy bathroom much appreciated)! Besides being a wonderful B&B, Spears House is perfect for horse people because rather than a scheduled breakfast, the "help-yourself" buffet and autostart coffee pot mean you still get a good breakfast (or late night snack), even if you have to get the barn at 6 am. The rates are also very reasonable and there is free wi-fi. We love coming up to Southern Eighths Farm for horse events and will stay at Spears House everytime!

Room Tip: The Pine room was spacious with a beautiful bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianaTimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have always enjoyed staying at B&Bs but my husband had never stayed at one and didn't seem to share my enthusiasm. His opinion has definitely changed . He had no chance with Larry & Kay's warm hospitality. They captured him, hook, line and sinker! We had never been to Cheraw (we were visiting our niece, her husband and our new gret-nephew). What a lovely small, southern town. Looking forward to staying again but only longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We felt right at home while visiting The Spears Guest House. The location was great because we could walk around the town and leave our car behind. The accommodations were lovely and the innkeepers made us feel very welcome. We would recommend The Spears Guest House highly for a business or pleasure stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoylestownMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheraw
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Cheraw
Quality Inn Cheraw
#1 of 4 in Cheraw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Bennettsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rockingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Laurinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn Laurinburg
Quality Inn Laurinburg
#3 of 5 in Laurinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
17.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Guest House

Property: Spears Guest House
Address: 228 Huger Street, Cheraw, SC 29520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Cheraw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cheraw
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of Cheraw, SGH has 4 rooms, all with en-suite baths, as well as a common parlor, dining room, half-bath for visitors, and fully equipped kitchen. Each bedroom has a queen bed, flat-screen television, hair dryer, iron, robe, CD and DVD players, and brandy. SGH is beautifully furnished with antiques and local artwork. At your convenience, you may choose from a variety of breakfast foods. Complimentary wireless, expanded cable, and an assortment of books and DVDs are provided. A gas grill as well as a washer and dryer are available. Whole house rentals are great for golfing, weddings, and reunions. The owners live across the street and are readily available, while at the same time affording guests maximum privacy. It's a great place to stay to take day trips to Columbia, Mrytle Beach, Charlotte, or Raleigh--all are about 100 miles. Larry and Kay, being a lifelong native, are great ambassadors for the town, and will tell you lots of local stories and Larry may even come over and entertain you with guitar and song on the front porch! It's a great time! Pour a glass of wine, relax on the front porch, and enjoy the "Prettiest Town in Dixie." Come as Guests...Leave as friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing